We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Save
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (1)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good20%
  • Average30%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible21%
3 weeks ago
“Great central location ”
3 weeks ago
“Fine for short stays”
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Rooftop Bar
Fitness centre
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
98
150
230
165
193
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
98
150
230
165
193
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Been here many times before. I think this will be the last. Run down and dirty bathrooms. Very very noisy on 5th floor. No staff available for check out at 5:15am.... they were sleeping in the back. Had to yell for help several times (literally...More

Thank rachy270
Response from Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central BackpackersResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that, I will be investigating that as that is not common practice here. I would really appreciate it if you could email me with the date that this happened on aucklandgm@stayatbase.com. Thanks again & Safe travels,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled up to Auckland for a concert and apon arrival we were greeted by the lovely staff at check in...but that was all. We got to our room and it wasn’t what I thought I’d paid for. The bathroom was dirty and toilet didn’t even...More

Thank hayleym122
Response from Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey and thanks for taking the time to review us! We're super happy that you loved our location and our amazing staff. We hire from all over the world so we have a really diverse hostel. I'm sorry to hear that you have some issues...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Dirty, lack of ventilation, poor showers ect. Could not open the window. Key card kept deactivating. No plug sockets near bunk. Authogh the staff were nice. Avoid !!!

Thank Charlotte A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled to Auckland for the Ed Sheeran concert with friends for 2 nights stay.. safe to say we were all very disappointed with this accommodation. Dorms appeared clean upon walking into the room but sheets were stained, towels not much better and previous guests toiletries...More

Thank em-peedem
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You do of course get what you pay for, but staying at a backpackers, you don’t expect 5star. Excellent location, and getting a great discount at the nearby car park is a huge plus if you have a car. Staff were good but bathrooms were...More

Thank Plant_Girl_11
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Base Auckland Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Double room, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, Adequate for couples inside a backpackers lodge."
Read review
"Dont go in the tower. you want the back section in the mall"
Read review
"Correct prices"
Read review
"Ask for a WINDOW VIEW they have it ,but for some reason they keep it for them selves.(if you dont ask for..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing