We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Really lovely hostel in a great part of Auckland just an easy 10 min bus ride from the centre. Lovely rare outside space for a city bpk surrounded by lovely bars and resteraunts. Kind of shabby chic vibe. Bathrooms were pretty small but hey you can't have it all. So much nicer than being in the centre! Friendly helpful people....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! Yes it is an old 'typical' house of Auckland which we keep as clean and nice as possible. I'm so pleased it worked well for you! Damaris

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When I arrived in Auckland I stayed one night at an inner city hostel before hastily trying to find somewhere else to stay. Brown kiwi was recommended by my lonely planet guide and is a little out of town so I was hopeful that it would be better and I was not disappointed! I loved this hostel! I have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hexxx
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi ,thanks so much for your feedback. We really value your opinion and that you appreciate the hard work of the Brown Kiwi team. That's awesome. All the best for the rest of your trip. Damaris

Edinburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Brown Kiwi Backpackers on two occasions at the start and end of our time in the North Island and really enjoyed both stays. The first time we were in a double room in the house, the second time we were in a lovely double cabin in the garden, which we much preferred as it felt a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieOEdinburgh
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It means a lot to us and will be helpful for other travellers. All the best to you. Damaris

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brown kiwi is a great place to start or finish your holiday in New Zealand. The staff is absolutely amazing, friendly and helpful. It is a clean and well organized hostel, close to the city center of Auckland. I stayed here multiple times and will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaltDS
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. Your advice will be great for other like minded travellers. All the best Damaris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for three days, including Christmas, and I could not be happier with my experience. Everyone here was very welcoming and friendly, including the staff. It's close to bus lines and the city centre is only a 30 minute walk away. Whether traveling solo like me or in a group, I would recommend this place to anyone. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan S
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for making the effort to review. Your comments will be very helpful for like-minded travellers. Damaris

Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Thumbs up for this relaxed, homey, friendly hostel. If this is your first time in Auckland, it's a good place to start from. The rooms are nice and clean, the kitchen feels like mom's, and the garden is lush and beautiful. Staff is friendly and welcoming, and the area (Ponsonby) has a lot to offer - small shops and cafes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lottawelsch
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Stayed at Brown Kiwi at the beginning of my working holiday a few weeks ago. Staff were friendly and helpful, areas within the hostel were clean and cosy, bed was comfortable and there was free wifi (plus an adorable hostel cat!). The team also assisted in my applications for a bank account and IRD number which I appreciate. Good location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dian M
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

The garden is just amazing, free wifi, a kitchen like at home, a very cosy living room with Stéphanie who sleeps all dAy long.... It's not a backpacker hostel factory, it's just what i expected from a backpacker hostel, a second home. A very funny trip ans lots of meetings. I'll back before my return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chouchoune85
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I stayed here while I was backpacking from New Zealand. It is a great place in a great neighbourhood of Ponsonby. Affordable, friendly, and good place to get organized for other legs of the journey. Clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damiand10
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the time to review. all the best and we hope to see you again. brown kiwi team.

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Really comfortable & friendly... Tucked in a quiet backstreet just off of Ponsonby, one of the best places to be in Auckland!! I travel regularly thru NZ and this will be my regular stop, See you next year Hannes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IguanaSailing
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

hi thanks very much for writing a review and all the best until next time!

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.0 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
612 reviews
0.2 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
255 reviews
1.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.7 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 98 in Auckland
269 reviews
2.2 km away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and welcome to Brown Kiwi, a funky little hostel in the heart of the best central Auckland suburb. We have a lovely sunny garden, a farmhouse kitchen where you can share cooking with new friends and a cosy TV room to watch DVDs. We welcome travellers and provide advice on your trip, buying and selling a car, finding a job and how to make the most of your NZ experience. Brown Kiwi is 2 minutes walk from shops, banks, cafes, bus stop, 5 minutes from supermarket and 20 minutes from the centre of Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Address: 7 Prosford Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $28 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a double room we preferred the cabin in the garden to the room in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieOEdinburgh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles damiand10, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“WiFi was free for 100M, I remembered.”
 of 5 bubbles neilzhang, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book early during peak season as even in march this place is booked out each night.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisInTheWorld, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The garden room was better than the one in the house. But both were clean!”
  • Three kiwi :-)
 of 5 bubbles TerezieP, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay