We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed three nights in Brown Kiwi and overall enjoyed my time there. It's a busy place in peak season so the common areas (kitchen and garden) can't get pretty busy...I didn't find this too problematic but you have to be a bit flexible when using the kitchen or trying to find somewhere to Skype (headphones!). That bring said the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucifer6
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a basic backpackers but well organised and under control. The guys running this hostel know exactly what they are doing. They are friendly, very supportive and offer a lot of help. The kitchen is well organised and clean. Mainly a young clientele but everyone is welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in January. It's in a great location right by the ponsonby road which is a fab place to visit if you like nice cafes and restaurants. Its on a little side road so there is no noise from traffic or the nightlife. I stayed in the separate building to the main hostel which was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie_Ally34
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise that you did not get the support from our staff that you would have liked. Being holiday time, there may have been relief staff helping out which is not ideal. We wish you the very best for the rest of your time in New Zealand and thank...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent a week at Brown Kiwi when starting a new job in Auckland and really enjoyed my stay. Mainly chose it for the location and because I prefer small backpackers to big anonymous ones and wasn't disappointed. It's perfectly located a few minutes walk to Ponsonby's shops and cafes and a half hour walk down College Hill to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina W
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

thanks Karina so much. It is great to know our efforts are noticed and appreciated. We wish you the very best. Damaris

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Really lovely hostel in a great part of Auckland just an easy 10 min bus ride from the centre. Lovely rare outside space for a city bpk surrounded by lovely bars and resteraunts. Kind of shabby chic vibe. Bathrooms were pretty small but hey you can't have it all. So much nicer than being in the centre! Friendly helpful people....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review! Yes it is an old 'typical' house of Auckland which we keep as clean and nice as possible. I'm so pleased it worked well for you! Damaris

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

When I arrived in Auckland I stayed one night at an inner city hostel before hastily trying to find somewhere else to stay. Brown kiwi was recommended by my lonely planet guide and is a little out of town so I was hopeful that it would be better and I was not disappointed! I loved this hostel! I have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hexxx
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi ,thanks so much for your feedback. We really value your opinion and that you appreciate the hard work of the Brown Kiwi team. That's awesome. All the best for the rest of your trip. Damaris

Edinburgh
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed at Brown Kiwi Backpackers on two occasions at the start and end of our time in the North Island and really enjoyed both stays. The first time we were in a double room in the house, the second time we were in a lovely double cabin in the garden, which we much preferred as it felt a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieOEdinburgh
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. It means a lot to us and will be helpful for other travellers. All the best to you. Damaris

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Brown kiwi is a great place to start or finish your holiday in New Zealand. The staff is absolutely amazing, friendly and helpful. It is a clean and well organized hostel, close to the city center of Auckland. I stayed here multiple times and will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaltDS
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. Your advice will be great for other like minded travellers. All the best Damaris

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for three days, including Christmas, and I could not be happier with my experience. Everyone here was very welcoming and friendly, including the staff. It's close to bus lines and the city centre is only a 30 minute walk away. Whether traveling solo like me or in a group, I would recommend this place to anyone. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aidan S
Damaris9, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for making the effort to review. Your comments will be very helpful for like-minded travellers. Damaris

Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Thumbs up for this relaxed, homey, friendly hostel. If this is your first time in Auckland, it's a good place to start from. The rooms are nice and clean, the kitchen feels like mom's, and the garden is lush and beautiful. Staff is friendly and welcoming, and the area (Ponsonby) has a lot to offer - small shops and cafes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lottawelsch

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.0 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
625 reviews
0.2 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
268 reviews
1.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,321 reviews
1.7 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 100 in Auckland
278 reviews
1.5 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and welcome to Brown Kiwi, a funky little hostel in the heart of the best central Auckland suburb. We have a lovely sunny garden, a farmhouse kitchen where you can share cooking with new friends and a cosy TV room to watch DVDs. We welcome travellers and provide advice on your trip, buying and selling a car, finding a job and how to make the most of your NZ experience. Brown Kiwi is 2 minutes walk from shops, banks, cafes, bus stop, 5 minutes from supermarket and 20 minutes from the centre of Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Address: 7 Prosford Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $29 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a double room we preferred the cabin in the garden to the room in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieOEdinburgh, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private rooms are available.”
 of 5 bubbles damiand10, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“WiFi was free for 100M, I remembered.”
 of 5 bubbles neilzhang, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book early during peak season as even in march this place is booked out each night.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisInTheWorld, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The garden room was better than the one in the house. But both were clean!”
  • Three kiwi :-)
 of 5 bubbles TerezieP, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5