We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Start your review of Great Ponsonby Arthotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Staff very helpful (french speaker as well) with all subject. They made our stay in Auckland very easy. This is a peaceful hotel. Our room was great. And about the breakfast just delicious, with a lot of choice! We discovered the feijoas there, very good fruit! Thanks the great Ponsonby arthotel you made our stay! We definitely recommend the hotel!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronjnits
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We found the place, including our room, to be shabby and dingy. Unimpressed with the quality of towels. Some staff were friendly but for the most part we were ignored which was a shame as our experiences prior to our stay here had been wonderful. The B&B was in a reasonable area with a short walk to the bus stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
los angeles
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a really strange hotel. The beds were comfortable, sure, but we had such an odd experience with the staff - it was like they were starring in their own tv show and the guests were the extras. We kept feeling like they were going to yell at us for doing something wrong. This started from the time I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweethawk
Clemson
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The title of this review says it all. We booked, and paid the price, for a B&B not only for the "bed" but for the BREAKFAST also. The breakfast preparation was like a comedy spoof, except to us the delay was not funny. Sorry, it overshadows the fact that it was a nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seek-and-Learn
Queensland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in two different rooms during our stay - both upstairs and both were great! We really enjoyed our welcome drink in the guest sitting room and the information and recommendations given to us for the area. Great location to stay in Auckland. Thankyou for a wonderful start to our 3 week holiday in NZ!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brisfamilyholiday
Baltimore
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I only stayed one night, but thought it was lovely. I stayed in Room 1, right next to the front door, and wondered if I'd hear a lot of foot traffic in and out, or street traffic, but no, not at all. It was quiet and I felt very safe. I needed to open the windows and air it out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dingo40
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff is very friendly, gracious, and helpful. Accommodations are lovely. Neighborhood is quiet and attractive. Very near Ponsonby St. which has many restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping amenities. Very easy access to downtown and other parts of Auckland on the InnerCity ("green") bus. Breakfast was excellent. Overall, this is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
A TripAdvisor Member
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely stay here . Very clean. Quiet , great breakfast with Good choice. Easy access to Auckland. Highly recommended. Lived up to the reviews.stayed here at the end of our 1 week trip around Northland and was restful after a fast roadtrip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here - a treat for our last night. Unfortunately we did not have a good stay at this well reviewed 'hotel'. Our courtyard room was cluttered and dirty, with dust , cobwebs and a rug that needed a good hoover. The window over the bed had no curtain or blind and an outside light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Procleap
GreatPonsTeam, Front Office Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had this experience with us - what a shame you didn't speak to us at the time. As you have said, on this particular morning we were having some problems – we were down 2 staff and doing the best we could with just one person on duty. And again as you say,...

Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our friends booked us into Arthotel, telling us it was fabulous in every way, and the breakfasts are especially fabulous. We agree. Absolutely. From the welcome cold or hot drink, very clean and fresh large room with ensuite & everything provided including a mini-bar, the friendly helpful staff, the delicious buffet and cooked breakfast (mostly local and home-made), and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holdteus

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
4:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
280 reviews
2.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,376 reviews
3.0 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $260 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was worried Room 1 by the front door would be noisy, but had no problem at all.”
  • Room 1 - bed was comfortable
  • Room 1 - clean bathroom
  • Room 1 - not huge, but quite comfortable
 of 5 bubbles Dingo40, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was a little small for the price, but the balcony was great!”
 of 5 bubbles P4499CNamyb, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quiet as on very quiet street with no through traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles MPC69a, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"Uncle" who can pick you up at the airport is Always a good idea - just makes everything go easier.”
 of 5 bubbles jhalbe01, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Parking is a challenge. Auckland is a good starting point, though does not begin to represent the wonders of NZ.”
 of 5 bubbles Respitesearch, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5