We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amora Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 810: English reviews
Start your review of Amora Hotel Auckland
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed twice now, both times washing machine or the drier did not work. last visit spa worked for about 2 minutes and never really worked well after adjustment. needs some updating, but good location staff are OK quick attentive to issues overall, although my clothes were taken to be dried they were not. Overall location and price was good compared...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Bethania, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bed was very comfortable. Room was well equipped. Whole place was clean and inviting. Late checkin wasnt a problem. Desk staff very accomodating. A bit of a walk to the city centre but once we found the shortcuts wasnt too bad. Overall good place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location, close to amenities. Friendly staff good sized bedrooms with excellent facilities. Staying there a total of 3 times during a 5 week tour of New Zealand. Would recommend for similar stay to other travellers

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin D
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Kevin D Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable well equipped rooms and our convenient central. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Homyar Desai General Manager...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The management and overall attitude is VERY POOR. We literally cancelled this hotel before even checking in due to the incredibly rude hotel manage when we contacted them before hand. If, like me, you are expecting politeness and professionalism then book elsewhere. The chances are, you will be disappointed if anything goes wrong,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy R
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Billy R I refer to your review posted on 17 February 2017 and feel that it is best that we outline what transpired from the hotel’s perspective as well. I do understand that sometimes the pressures of life can lead to frustration. But generally, you will find that when you speak to people in a civilised manner, it avoids...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes, sounds great I know but unfortunately it sounds better than it was. The sad thing is the Penthouse room are split level and the bedroom is at the top. The air conditioning simply did not cope and it was impossible to get it cool enough to sleep comfortably. This problem overshadowed the otherwise well appointed, if aging, suite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Albywon
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Albywon Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed one of our spacious penthouse suites. However I note your comment regarding the Penthouse suite air-conditioning and our service provider is currently looking into an upgraded solution for these suites. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely...

Edmonton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff very supportive and accommodating. Very good location, 5 - 10 minute walk to downtown. Kitchenette is handy to have. Walking distance to water taxis and port, Queen Street 5 minutes away. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Anthony K, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable well equipped rooms and our convenient central location. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Homyar Desai General...

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the spacious deluxe studio with disabled access - only because no other room at this great price was available. Very useful kitchenette so we could get our own breakfast. Clean and quiet - recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jan B Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable well equipped rooms and our quiet central location. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Homyar Desai General...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here twice in January and February '17. Conveniently located for Queen Street, and on the edge of the CBD and overlooking Myers Park, it escapes some of the bustle of central Auckland. With 10 floors and balconies to the large rooms it is a comfortable stay, though the bathrooms are a little tired and the equipment sometimes not up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerTomlinson
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear RogerTomlinson Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable well equipped rooms and convenient central location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Homyar Desai General Manager Amora Hotel...

Philly
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, clean and amazing service... would highly recommend and we will be back again... Overlooks a garden, slightly away from the hustle bustle so in a very quiet area but everything is within walking distance

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jainfamily
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jainfamily Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious comfortable well equipped rooms, convenient central location and lovely views over tree lined Myers Park. Positive feedback from our guests truly serves as an inspiration to my team. Thank you again for your 5 star rating and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fine, if a bit dated, and the location is fairly central. But it's not a very welcoming place, the pool is small and mostly shaded, the bar and restaurant lack atmosphere. Prices are at the high end considering what'she on offer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carefree061
AmoraHotelAuckland, General Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear carefree061 Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Amora Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious comfortable rooms and convenient central location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the future. Yours Sincerely, Homyar Desai...

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Deluxe King (30)
Viewed
Deluxe King Spa (38)
Viewed
One Bedroom Executive (45)
Viewed
Penthouse (60)
Viewed
Pool and Spa (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
875 reviews
0.2 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,135 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $177 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amora Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Amora Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a washing machine that works if you wish to do washing...”
 of 5 bubbles P7403LZchriss, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wear comfortable shoes as it's a downhill walk to go to stores and restaurants but all uphill coming back! If you're coming from North America, remember your adapter for electric outlets!”
 of 5 bubbles 85pame, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lower levels have spas!”
 of 5 bubbles DMoutia, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views”
 of 5 bubbles johnkM1307YV, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the side facing out to Greys Ave have balconies with a nice view of the trees that line the street rather than just buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles Becz-Awa, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5