We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,268: English reviews
Fremont, CA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location, great service and newly renovated rooms. Great pricing and close to downtown, shopping and waterfront. 5 -10 mins to many fine dining locations for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hotel also has nice dining room and bar with fantastic water or city view. Stay here and save enough for dinner over Sofitel or Hilton.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hsoof
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night on arrival in Auckland. Staff were friendly. We had booked room only but decided to add breakfast and were glad we did. Great views and a very good selection of hot and cold food. We paid $24 per adult (2) and the kids ate free so was great value. Otherwise the hotel was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt k
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us at Mercure Auckland. Vue Restaurant has to be one of the best locations to enjoy breakfast and I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for recognising the efforts of our friendly team. Kind regards, Nigel Harford Front Office Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5060MFvanessab
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location and rooms have been renovated, however every time someone opens and shuts their room door on your floor, its extremely loud and bangs the glass window in your bathroom. We unfortunately must have shared the whole of 5th floor with a non speaking english family who constantly went from room to room and held loud conversations in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna b
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry that the experience did not meet your expectations. We had a temporary issue with the water supply due to refurbishment work being done on the upper floors this was not a planned disruption and I apologise for the inconvenience it caused...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel sits right on Queen St in a very central location in downtown Auckland. It's a modern high-rise with clean, modern and very well-appointed rooms. Depending on what you book, you get a nice view of the city or the harbor. Check-in was painless and friendly. The room was very clean, reasonably spacious and an impressively modern, business-style accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhmacher
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear dhmacher, Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at Mercure Auckland. As you have noted our refurbished rooms have everything a modern traveller needs and there is more to come as we will be added some extra touches to lift the rooms to a higher level yet. We are working with the local council on measures...

Taumarunui, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent 5 days at Mecure Auckland, I booked a junior suite as we were staying for 5 days and was absolutely wrapped when we arrived and saw our room. I stayed here 2 years ago and my goodness it has had a complete transformation. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Had buffet breakfast every morning and everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afergusson
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear afergusson, Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at Mercure Auckland. I am happy you enjoyed you Junior Suite and am sure you will agree that they are worth the small extra charge. The room you stayed in is slightly different to the other Junior Suites in that it has the kitchenette and access to the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great location. The building is going through some renovations on the top floor so a lower floor is recommended- but it's not as if you're going to be in your room during the day when you have so much to do outside in Auckland. We had a double Queen with Harbour views on level 8. Great views and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyhiuse1
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Happyhuise1, Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay with us at Mercure Auckland. I am pleased you were able to make the most of you time in Auckland, something which our excellent location makes all the more simple. I am pleased you found the staff and indeed other Aucklanders to be very friendly. It gives us...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wanting something a little different we booked into the Mercure for dinner on 24th December. The restaurant is on the top of the hotel and offers wonderful views of the waterfront. If you settle in the lounge seats you get an amazing view of the sky tower! Meals were beautifully presented and tasted great. Staff were quick to replace an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell V
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Russell, It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed you experience at Vue Restaurant so much. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I have passed your comments on to the Food and Beverage team. I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Nigel Harford Front Office Manager

Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small but nice room. Woke up once at 7:30 by power saw and once at 8 by someone knocking on my door, so sleeping in was a problem. The hot food was not very good with the breakfast buffet. Also had problem accessing my hotel vouchers due to web site being down, causing me to having to pay for two...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffreycK9921UC
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey, Tank you for your review of your recent stay at Mercure Auckland. As you may be aware we are reaching the end of a full refurbishment of our hotel rooms. I apologise for the disturbance this caused you and have already spoken to the site foreman to ensure that his team adhere to the agreed work schedule. Kind...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was recently renovated and hence smelled really fresh. Very nice and cozy bed. Excellent breakfast and lot of varieties for Vegetarian's like me which was the best part of my stay. I would strongly recommend this place for business or vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hssancheti
MercureAKL, Front Office Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Hssancheti, Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Mercure Auckland. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection so much. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Nigel Harford Front Office Manager

434 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.5 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#12 of 68 in Auckland
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,095 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,815 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vue Restaurant
Vue Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $162 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Auckland staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Taumarunui, New Zealand
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only on the resonated floor”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller_EPMEL, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Water facing”
 of 5 bubbles hsoof, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors and facing north (harbor) may keep the noise down somewhat.”
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Has a good view of the harbor, but you can enjoy that from the top floor where the breakfast/restaurant is.”
 of 5 bubbles SMUProf, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For ocean view rooms, book as high of a floor as possible”
 of 5 bubbles StorytellerGal, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay