We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freemans Lodge & Apartments

65 Wellington Street Ponsonby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011 New Zealand
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (2)


#13 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Auckland Central, Freemans Lodge & Apartments is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Freemans Lodge & Apartments makes it easy to enjoy the best of Auckland Central.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Freemans Lodge & Apartments offer a refrigerator and a kitchenette.

For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

While staying at Freemans Lodge & Apartments, visitors can check out Viaduct Harbour (0.9 km) and St. Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 km), some of Auckland Central's top attractions.

Auckland Central has plenty of Italian restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Amano, Baduzzi, and Elliott Stables, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for something to do, Sky Tower (0.9 km), Queen Street (1.0 km), and Ponsonby (1.1 km) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Freemans Lodge & Apartments.

Freemans Lodge & Apartments is sure to make your visit to Auckland Central one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Residential Neighbourhood
178Reviews3Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 44
  • 18
  • 20
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary wrote a review Jul. 2020
3 contributions
I booked online via Expedia. Every room said it had a shared bathroom, except for the twin room. I booked the twin room, as it said it had a private bathroom on the Expedia app. Upon check in I discovered it was a shared bathroom- which was horrid, the tap in the toilet didn't work. I called Expedia, they were happy to assist. But the hostel refused to give me a refund. I even showed them the mistake they had made online with labelling the twin room as having its own bathroom. I had booked for 3 nights, and said I would be happy to pay for the first night if they could please refund me for the other 2. They refused. The person at reception was really rude and started talking very loudly about not giving me a refund. I repeatedly said that if I knew it had a shared bathroom. I wouldn't of booked. Additionally there are no blankets and no on-site parking. I had to park around the corner and walk up the hill. Really bad service, really unreasonable and does not have the facilities it clearly says it does online. Disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Maria N wrote a review Nov. 2019
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica2 contributions
Their website says they offer airport pickup, but after you've booked their rooms, they tell you they don't, and they don't offer any help getting there. We were very disappointed as airport pickup was the only reason why we chose them.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Fraer wrote a review Sep. 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
We stayed here for four nights and it was really nice, if you just want a break from a party hostel then it’s the best. The staff are really friendly, the garden is lovely and it’s really clean. Overall I’d give it a 10 out of 10
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Chrizinho44 wrote a review Mar. 2019
Nelson, New Zealand1 contribution
Good and friendlier Service, the location is top so you can walk to the City or to the Harbour Bridge. The kitchen, bathroom and sleepingrooms are very clean. In the sleepingroom you enough space for all your stufe
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from FreemansBBH, Manager at Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Responded Apr. 21, 2019
Thank you for your feedback Chrizinho! we would love to welcome you back again.
Read more
corinnaah wrote a review Feb. 2019
1 contribution
This room was perfect for me! It's small but not cramped, the shared kitchen and bathroom were nice (similar to something you'd get at a nicer campground), and the man running the place was super nice and helpful. The only thing I could possibly complain about was the guy staying in the room next to me (he and his wife definitely need couples counseling). The location is great - it's very close to the CBD, but sits in a lovely residential area right next to Western Park. If I go back to Auckland again, I'm definitely staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from FreemansBBH, Manager at Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Responded Apr. 21, 2019
Thank you for your feedback Corinnaah you are welcome back anytime!
Read more
US$18 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Sweet Axe Throwing Co. (0.4 km), Nelson Street Cycleway (0.3 km), and Victoria Park Market (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include I Village at Victoria, The Birdcage Tavern, and Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen.
Is Freemans Lodge & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Freemans Lodge & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.7 km), Eden Garden (2.9 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.8 km).