We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

The bed and linen were clean and comfy, but cleanliness of the room was appalling. The carpet looked filthy and the shower had mould. The window led to nowhere and bed frame has interesting messages. Our room had a private bathroom and space for three; however the top bunk was covered in dust, so probably no one had used it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Panco4112
Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 20 November 2016

There are many positives here including the location, a welcoming reception, free coffee, Jacuzzi, a compact efficient kitchen and an outdoor patio overlooking the city. The place has many activities planned daily and they will help you do anything in the city. But we were disappointed in our single room to have no shelves, table or even a chair to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMsays
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us your comments, we do welcome all feedback. I really appreciate your feedback on the rooms, this is something that we have discussed and looked in to so it is great to get guests view of this as it really is helpful for us to know where we need...

Singapore
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Stayed in a private room for a 2-week stay. The bed was making lots of noise and uncomfortable - every single move created some sound. Same with the corridors and stairs - anybody walking and even whispering outside the room could be heard. The kitchen always looked untidy and dirty, and was always full of people no matter what time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skjw87
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you for leaving us your comments it is always appreciated to receive feedback of any kind as this helps us improve where need be. It sounds as though the bed you stayed in just needed some tightening up, if you had advised our reception team they would have got maintenance to come and fix this up for...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The hostel is pretty basic and you get what you pay for considering Auckland is expensive. The 'spa' wasn't in service but everything else worked fine. The room was pretty stinky (not their fault but maybe get some freshner out) and there weren't very many plug outlets for 10 people sharing. The beds were comfortable enough, I've had worse, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
LauraFlaunty, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Hayley, Thank you for taking some time to leave us your comments, we do welcome all feedback. I am sorry that you didn't get the opportunity to make use of our spa pool, unfortunately it was damaged by a guest and we are in the process of getting this repaired, which is really disappointing, so I am sorry for...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel experience I've had, patronizing staff, no free WiFi and No spa as advertised. Asked for a refund, got a rude response. I do not recommend staying here. Not enough power sockets for the amount of beds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arran S
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Arran, Thank you for your feedback. I was the person you spoke to with regards to a refund, I am actually really saddened and upset that you think that I was rude to you, I pride myself on customer service so I can only apologise if our conversation came across that way as it was not my intention. You...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

It's easy to get there and it's right in center! Anywhere you wanna go you get really easily. When I arrived the staff in the reception was really welcoming and nice. There is really cool rooftop kitchen and outdoor area where I spent most of my time. (there is even jacuzzi and sauna) The kitchen and everything was kept clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henriikkanorra
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Henrikka, Thank you so much for your lovely review it really is appreciated and I am so glad that you had a great stay with us here. I will pass your lovely feedback on to our staff as they will be so happy to hear that they are doing a great job. I am really pleased that you enjoyed...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Firstly when we arrived the elevator button for our floor did not work, meaning many walks up and down the stairs with our bags. Room was extremely small with 8 people in one room. If we stay in Auckland we will stay elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Timothy, First of all, I am really sorry that the lift button inconvenienced you, sometimes these things do happen and are beyond our control, as soon as we are made aware we call out the lift company to repair, but I am sorry that this affected you. I am disappointed that you would rather stay elsewhere, if you had...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Our group of 25 students wanted to stay here as it was cheap and close to the city. We soon regretted it, as soon as we got to our rooms we were very disappointed. Filthy bedding, unisex toilets that were just a filthy and too many bunk beds in one room caused many dramas. They7 really need to spend some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye T
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Skye, I am really saddened to hear that your stay with us here was less than satisfactory. We are always more than happy to help as we want guests to leave with a great impression so i do hope you came to the reception desk and aired your concerns especially with regards to the linen as this is something...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Not awful, not good. The free wifi is a scam, only available in the travel shop nextdoor between 08:00-19:00. Ear-plugs are neccessary if wanting to sleep earlier than 03:00, due to the night club situated nextdoor. The rooms are nice and clean, beds quite comfy. Bathroom and showers are also clean and over all okey. The staff was not very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IdaBarro
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Ida, Thank you for leaving us your comments it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you think our free wifi is a scam? We offer it daily in our adjacent travel lounge during their open hours, it is completely unlimited so it saddens me to think you see this as a scam. I am shocked to...

Toreboda, Sweden
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and I was very diaspointed when I found out that if I wanted to use their "Free" wifi I had to go to the travelshop next door. If you wanted wifi in the hostel you had to pay 4dollars per hour! The staff werent very friendly or helpful, the toilets and showers were okay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elinfors
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Elin, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am saddened that your review of us as a hostel is based on the fact our free wifi is not in our main building but our adjacent travel lounge. We offer this as a complimentary service and as we have an awesome lounge it is the perfect space to hang...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.2 km away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,584 reviews
0.4 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#50 of 108 in Auckland
141 reviews
1.3 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
265 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#56 of 108 in Auckland
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $27 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mid floors are quieter.”
lizninfante, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The end shower (closest to the window) has a window ceil to put your belongings on so they don't get wet or sit on the floor.”
lisa92x, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor and not faced on the big street”
kazuya2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“private double bed room is worth the price. especially ones that comes with private bathroom.”
11perc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room has a proper window”
LeeT90, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5