We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
City Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I stayed here for three nights, in a tiny room (5m x 2m, or 17ft x 7ft, including the space for the private shower room) with a double bed - no table or chair, just one stool and a shelf by the window, which was wide enough to hold a single small suitcase. The room was clean, the bed comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank majikthise
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on City Lodge, during your check in process all guests are asked to sign a registration folio which includes your email however this is not compulsory and if included you have a section that you tick to say you do not want wish to receive marketing material. We are so...

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I stayed at this property one warm night in Late February. It was muggy and I didn't find the fan in the wardrobe. Rooms do not have AirCon. I left the windows open which led to siren noise thru the night. I didn't mind this. I was on the 8th Floor. Rooms were comfy but basic by my standards. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clare F
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on City Lodge, in regards to the reference about warm rooms we are looking at installing ceiling fans during 2016/17. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We stay here when we are in the city because the rooms and ensuites are always really clean. Location is great, close enough to everything but in a fairly quiet and safe street. Environmental policies are streets ahead of many places in NZ. Staff are friendly and service is great. It was particularly warm and humid this weekend so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1PairTravelling
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line survey and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Some of the nicest staff I've ever come across.. from phoning before I got there and through my entire stay... helpful, accommodating and pleasant mannered.The environmental care aspect was also very impressive. Rooms were quiet (8th floor, mind) also in quiet street. (I had to move rooms for second night from double to queen.. but only as I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola w
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line survey and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is a good option for a solo traveller in Auckland city center, 10 minutes walk to everywhere. coming back from the city center on foot is little bit of a climb, but this is Auckland so be prepared. I enjoyed the stay but the single rooms are the minimum for a single person is very small but this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imanol G
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line survey and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed 3 nights. Room on small side but very clean and quiet. Easy to walk to city locations and eateries. Communal kitchen likewise well set up and clean stainless steel. Downside was parking costs as we hadn't tried to reseve a spot on site - tho' there are limited spaces.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helena23203
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line survey and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed here a few times on my trip around NZ, opted for a private room with an ensuite and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are a decent size, it's clean, it's in a good location and it's reasonably quiet. Bed was okay too. Only criticism is that there is no cooling, so in summer it is very stuffy in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on City Lodge, in regards to the reference about warm rooms we do provided rooms with freestanding desk fans however we are looking at installing ceiling fans during 2016/17. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We had a quad room (two sets of bunk beds) for our family four and stayed for two nights. Pros: -very clean -friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff -large common area with well equipped kitchen space -close to Myers park which had a great playground -consistent water temperature in shower -we found it quiet and we were on floor 2 -nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on City Lodge, in regards to the reference about warm rooms we are looking at installing ceiling fans during 2016/17. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. Well priced for the area. Walkable to lots of restaurants and activities. Nothing fancy but clean and new. I would imagine it is good for long term stay as well (large kitchen for use, nice common area with TV, laundry facility on site). Also the staff is quite helpful. Only downside is no air conditioner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on City Lodge, in regards to the reference about warm rooms we are looking at installing ceiling fans during 2016/17. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We used this as as stop-over before our road trip North-South Island. Twin bedded room was a bit on the small side but was fine for our overnight stay. No AC, which we knew about, so used the provided fan. Location was good, short walk to Queen with loads of shops, restaurants etc and a15 min stroll down Queen St...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line survey and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
641 reviews
0.6 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,367 reviews
0.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,177 reviews
1.1 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby,England

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For the really budget-conscious, there is a full kitchen in the lower level”
 of 5 bubbles Mileswis, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“single room on fifth floor”
  • single bed, desk, freezer and there is a small wardrobe
 of 5 bubbles 316claras, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher floor as the hotel has no Air Con in the bedrooms and you need to get a breeze”
 of 5 bubbles 692shirleyr, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms are small but well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, try to get a room on the corner so you only have one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles brinktastic, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5