We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

City Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Positives- the well supplied kitchen and communal area. The eco friendly drive they've got going on, the low price, the table tennis table! The staff were nice. Negatives- noise at night meant we had to close windows, and it was very hot as a result. I could feel the springs in the mattress digging into me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leander A
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to complete your on line review and your comments will be reviewed and shared with staff. If possible could you please email me with the name the booking was made under so I can investigate the mattress further. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I feel somewhat uneasy giving City Lodge only 3 stars because it scores 10 on staff (who are extremely friendly, helpful and pleasant), on cleanliness and on location. However, what drags the score down is the lack of air-con (the fan helps but not enough) and the traffic noise that filters through the (opened) windows. The rooms are tiny but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. We have flagged a new HVAC system for future development. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Switzerland
Reviewed 10 December 2015

It was so nice to stay here while going to school in Auckland. The only thing you have to know is that there are a lot of european people. The room was really nice an clean and also the kitchen was pretty cool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Astrid A
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Sweden
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This place is a real gem, and it's so worth to pay a little extra not having to stay at the backpackers hostel. The room was of good size, very clean, had a fridge and kettle. It also has a TV. The only thing I missed in the room was another stool. Since it's a room for two, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egus
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Good point about the extra stool I have ordered additional stock and we will look to rolling out the extra stool over the coming months. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 December 2015

City Lodge perfectly fills the void between hostel and hotel. It has what no-frills travelers need: friendly staff, clean room, private bathroom, luggage storage, plus a kettle and fridge in every room to save on eating out. The wifi rates are more reasonable than most of those in fancier hotels. There is no pool, no spa, no phone, but if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J L
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. We have flagged additional soundproofing for future consideration/development. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

Had a great experience here. I am in the basement right now waiting for my husband to return with a rental car. There is a big kitchen down here and laundry machines for not too much money. Also ping pong tables, couches, vending machine and books as well as games. Our room was very clean, quiet and had a fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Primu55ucks
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We stayed here for one night after a cruise. The staff was very friendly and gladly stored our luggage until our room was ready. The room was small, but adequate for our needs and was clean. The location is quite near Queen Street with restaurants and transportation to the waterfront. The lodge offers wifi for a fee. One really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCTraveler
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2015

I would definitely stay there again. The staff were friendly, the rooms are small but clean. Coffee and tea making facilities and a coffee shop about 50 metres away. A convenience store across he road and a short walk to Queen street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Whenever I am in Auckland I always stay at the City Lodge for it's suitable prices, cleanliness, friendliness and location. The amenities in the rooms are always appreciated...e.g ensuite bathroom, tea/coffee facilities, tv, comfortable beds and fridge. Very recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeZee69
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Nice Lodge with tea, coffee, milo etc. Handy location less than 5 minutes stroll down to Sky City. Queen Street is close as is K Road. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean tidy and as new.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne0111
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your on-line review. Your comments will be reviewed and shared amongst the staff. Kind regards Glenn Gairdner

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,784 reviews
0.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,097 reviews
0.6 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Price Range: $108 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Derby,England

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms are small but well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, try to get a room on the corner so you only have one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles brinktastic, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The larger, the better.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tenth to twelveth room on each floors are well-lit and relatively quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles chongh844, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 603 was nice but there was a bit of loud traffic throughout the night”
 of 5 bubbles simonesM5970OU, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay