We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Hotel The Ambassador
 Click to rate
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm in two minds about this hotel. I have a ground floor room with ensuite suitable for disabled access. The room has three beds and is set up for three guests. It has a fridge and free wifi. Good points - staff are friendly, check in was quick, there is plenty of off-street parking and the room was clean. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamaican-Luck
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had to stay here as the Quest down the road ( which is okay) was full but really... nice staff but worn paint on the walls, classic warehouse bedside cabinets and had to chase a cockroach around the room, the only saving grace was the balcony looking over the pool. this is a classic example of the photos that belie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish w
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as a big family and took out three two bed rooms unit. The rooms were of really good size and is perfect if you are a family who wants to stay together with a living room. The kitchen was a little basic and you wouldn't really be able to cook a meal even if you wanted to. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackhon800
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for a lovely room at your motel. Was greeted by a lovely man who showed us where to park. best stay ever, im just sorry we ran out of time to laze by the fab pool. The bathroom towel were amazing, large white fluffy towels, and the towel rack was already on. The place was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SHERYL407
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Reviewed 16 February 2017

The staff at the front desk on arrival lacked any kind of warmth. I (heavily pregnant) asked about our room layout (insert: sell me an upgrade!!!) and was ignored and asked how I was paying. Our room didn't look anything as per photos and the toilet dripped all night. I left hair straighteners behind, which housekeeping "couldn't find". This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoë M
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again.

Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I wouldn't stay here just based on how dirty the bathroom was. Pictures make this hotel look super nice, but the bathrooms were like old dorm rooms. The overall condition of the property was just kind of cheap and dirty. For $160 a night, I'd hope for a better quality room. Wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyle k
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

The Ambassador hotel is a very comfortable and nice place to stay for a couple of nights. The rooms are on the small size but good enough for people who plan to spend little time in them. It is a bit of a walk from Hamilton CBD but still close to a supermarket and a few eateries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron D
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Had to stop in Hamilton last minute. Wanted a pool and saw this. Good rate $149 for myself and 3 children. We had room 302. Parking right outside. Opp the pool area. Clean and tidy. Bathroom very dated but still clean. Pool facilities excellent with a hottub and bbq area. Shade cloth over baby pool (separate from big pool) Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enjoylifeNZstyle
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

On the way into our room we found dirty plates being left on the floor. Immediately entering into our room we saw lots of flies, some landed on the bed sheets and pillows. We had no choice but went to the reception to request a replacement room. The man didn't seem happy to do it, he said " it's time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarissacheung
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 December 2016

In Hamilton on a work trip and wanted accommodation reasonably close to CBD Hamiltion. To this end the Quality Hotel Ambassador suited 100% However the room was pretty basic and well overdue for an upgrade. However could put up with it for a couple of nights. Limited.cooking facilities, tea / coffee making only. Bathroom had paint peeling off walls. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter_fussell
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.0 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.1 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
915 reviews
0.4 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
1,094 reviews
0.5 km away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
162 reviews
0.8 km away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#21 of 64 in Hamilton
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $91 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel The Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book directly with the establishment, get a better room. .Request a room facing away from the roading intersection”
 of 5 bubbles Sutton58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms overpriced for basic room.”
 of 5 bubbles ToniB165, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“easy access to CBD”
 of 5 bubbles fairyLondon_Uk, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning during the summer.”
  • View from our room. No AC and that fan didn't help too much.
 of 5 bubbles katiesP6263QW, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free internet was the only bonus”
 of 5 bubbles Jackie771, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5