We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel The Ambassador

CancelonUS$74*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$158*
US$74*
Great Deal
US$79*
US$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Hotel The Ambassador
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I expected the location to be a little closer to the restaurants and bars on Victoria Street from other reviews. Maybe it depends on where you go but my friend and I were planning to walk to the main area of the city but ended up taking taxi. However it was easy to find the hotel when we drove from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina K
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectation. I have informed the relevant department with regards to the comments you made in your review. Once again, thank you for the feedback Regards,

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We made an unplanned stay here to avoid driving during Cyclone Cook. The hotel itself whilst a little old is still perfectly fine for a short stay. Room was comfortable and clean, and reasonably priced. We didn't get to spend much time at all in Hamilton but would plan to do so if we were to revisit New Zealand.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurC31
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback - hope you enjoyed your visit this part of the world. Once again, thank you for the comments Regards,

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and tidy room, friendly and helpful ladies at the reception but the male at the reception when we checked in was a bit rude. Also a bit dodgy security coz some guests (not sure if they are) just sneaked in when the door opens. Hallway also smells a bit damp and cigarette smoke.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MurrayGie
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have spent one week on my business trip in The Ambassador and my overall feel is good. As you can see, the room was nicely furnished with nice view on a pool and Pack N Save. Bathroom had no AC which means the ceiling was scrapping off due to constant high humidity - did not look nice but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josef J
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Firstly I would like to take the time to thank you for taking part in our feedback process, all comments are welcomed and help to create a better experience for guests in the future. Also I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we sincerely apologise for any negative issues you faced...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay was OK, but found the bed extremely hard, like sleeping on concrete and the pillows awful. Too hard also. Other than that the stay was OK, rooms clean and spacious and the shower was lovely and hot. In a handy location. Has a restaurant on site although we had to eat across the road at a The Helm because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndyloo15
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are currently working hard to resolve the issues that guests are experiencing in regards to bedding and apologise for the inconvenience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights during a business visit to Hamilton. Room, while jaded around the edges, was very clean and spacious. Bathroom was pretty tight on space, though. Bed linen and styling excellent. I was in the tall block overlooking the pool; didn't hear any traffic noise at all. Room service was free for delivery. Meals good, though I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueblue45
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Not the newest flashiest place in town but clean and lots of parking good tv and bathroom. Some traffic noise from intersection but would stay again - staff very nice. Pool looked good. Breakfast also looked good but we didn't eat there. Don't go to Hamilton expecting much though it's not exactly a tourist destination - good for business and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seatheworldover
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We booked quite in advance so got a good rate. We thought is was good value for money however if we have paid more we probably would have been disappointed. What we found quite bizarre is we booked 2 rooms in one reservation and yet a)the rooms were different and b) the rooms were not only not very near each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mav_nz
Ambassador O, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, our team really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are currently working hard to resolve the issues that guests are experiencing in regards to consistency and road noise and apologise for the inconvenience. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I'm in two minds about this hotel. I have a ground floor room with ensuite suitable for disabled access. The room has three beds and is set up for three guests. It has a fridge and free wifi. Good points - staff are friendly, check in was quick, there is plenty of off-street parking and the room was clean. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamaican-Luck
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 3 March 2017

had to stay here as the Quest down the road ( which is okay) was full but really... nice staff but worn paint on the walls, classic warehouse bedside cabinets and had to chase a cockroach around the room, the only saving grace was the balcony looking over the pool. this is a classic example of the photos that belie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamish w
Ambassador O, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.0 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.1 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
934 reviews
0.4 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
1,125 reviews
0.5 km away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
165 reviews
1.7 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $112 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel The Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take your own pillow !!!!”
lyndyloo15, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Book directly with the establishment, get a better room. .Request a room facing away from the roading intersection”
Sutton58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms overpriced for basic room.”
ToniB165, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“easy access to CBD”
fairyLondon_Uk, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning during the summer.”
  • View from our room. No AC and that fan didn't help too much.
katiesP6263QW, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$74* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$79
TripAdvisorUS$79
AMOMAUS$158
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates