We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing worked : Sky TV, Internet , Refrigerator , microwave ... sad old worn ...window locks broken , one window cracked ... we checked in late about 9 PM and office closed so we were left with no recourse but to accept place " as is " Skip the place and stay at a well maintained place instead so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard1901
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

I understand that you were "aggravated" with the state of some things in your room, At the time of your stay with us we had owned the hotel for 4 weeks and lived on site - there for the office was and is always open ..... , we have spent the time since making numerous improvements. I'm sorry you've not...

Studley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Four of us stayed here and we're very disappointed. The list of problems are to many to list, but our main gripes were ventilation fan in toilet/shower didn't work and the window opened into the bedroom! Very shabby throughout kettle had to be filled from sink in toilet and cups washed in basin. Holes in bedroom wall etc.etc. give this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mutly999
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is now under new management and we have made substantial improvements in the last 12 months. we would like the opportunity to change your mind.

Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After staying in this hotel we were disgusted at the service, cleanliness and also paying for a room we did not get. We payed for a King and got what they said was a queen but we believe it was a double. My wife had to sleep in the single bed as there was not enough room. They were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

While that guy on reception was nice enough the rooms were pretty appalling We had a holethe wall above the bed. The form of heating in the room was a very old very loud fan type heater. The decor was very dated, although appeared clean. The bathroom was not so clean and the bath was rather hard to get in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionna O
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Got to agree with most of the reviews. If New Zealand is CLEAN as is promoted by government then this type of accom should not exist, but it does and its not the only one on the golden mile strip that should be taken to the cleaners. My room although good size has had very little done to it since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lady on reception was pleasant and friendly. However, my unit was dark, dirty and with a bad smell. Interiors shabby and outdated. Did not want to use the shower because of the grime. Couldn't wait until morning so I could get out of the place - terrible!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Didnt enjoy - exterior door lock broken. upgraded - security card didnt work, tv had 1 channel, bath tap fell off, steamed out (no extraction fan), jug couldnt fit under tap. Dropped key off to be greeted a woman who didnt even smile. Wont be back .... so dated:-(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally A
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Auckland
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Terrible place to stay, not clean, dated, nothing works, I almost froze to death with no heater, no extra blanket. I didn't want to use the top cover as was so dirty and I found lots of hair that was not mine. The room smelled like smoke (marijoana), the kettle didn't fit under the tap, the TV made me laugh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room smelt of smoke, bed was very uncomfortable as was the pillows, sheets were not clean as my girlfriend got a reaction for them. The bathroom was very dangerous, as water went everywhere when I had a shower. Overall not a very enjoyable impression as we just wanted to get out of there ASAP.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim W
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I've stayed in this motel 3 times in the past year and it was always great! Managers behind the desk are always friendly and very helpful. Plenty of off-street parking. I am a solo female traveler, so really appreciate double security: hallway has a security door accessible only with a valid room key, so no one who doesn't belong can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyona H

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 km away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#27 of 65 in Hamilton
47 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
2.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#45 of 65 in Hamilton
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
193 reviews
1.7 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 65 in Hamilton
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Fountain City Motor Inn
Fountain City Motor Inn
#19 of 65 in Hamilton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Address: 290 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $85 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can have wi-fi in some room, insist with reception and check first thing in the room”
 of 5 bubbles Flipper095, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Budget $99.00 rooms or rooms with deep spa baths or by pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 834karinaf, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Our tip, don't go there until the place is smartened-up”
 of 5 bubbles olddog460, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you are travelling as a couple, grab a bottle of your favourite wine and try out the spa bath.”
 of 5 bubbles GlenS361, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Avoid it. There are more nicer placers then this one.”
 of 5 bubbles TimW851, 18 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay