We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Show Prices
#9 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 687: English reviews
Northern Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a night while visiting Napier.Great hotel and lovely staff. The hotel was well positioned,and had great parking with only a short walk into Napier with good restaurants and activities nearby. The beds are really comfortable and a good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPRedman
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Te Pania and your visit to Napier.Thak you so much for your kind review. We would love to see you again warm regards Kerryann

Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights. The room was on the 6th floor with a view of the sea (better if you didn't look down & see the construction) and was spacious. Unfortunately, sleeping here is almost impossible. All the rooms run off a hallway so they face the sea but the doors slam and the noise reverberates throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

What can I say? I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. warm regards Kerryann

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night. This is an ideally situated hotel right in the centre of town. We were on the second floor so didn't get much of a view, but rooms higher up would give a superb view over the sea. Rooms are spacious and light, well equipped and each have a table nd 2 nice chairs to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iaatkinson
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review warm regards Kerryann

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This curved sea front hotel echoes the curve of Hawkes Bay. Six floors, the higher up your room is, the better view of the sea. On 217 second floor, we just glimpsed the sea through the trees. A modern hotel, eco friendly with energy saving bulbs and chemical free cleaning. Good sized rooms with two double beds and lovely soft...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiftytripper
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing the little things like the chemical free cleaning. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay warm regards Kerryann

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We only stayed the one night on our tour around New Zealand. We were on the third floor which meant no real view of the sea as there is construction taking place opposite. The room was large - great for us living out of our suitcases - and all amenities were provided. It would have been nice to be able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Pauline
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review warm regards Kerryann

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved this hotel! Staff couldn't do enough for you. View from rooms amazing! Clean, tidy beds and pillows so comfy! LOVED the restaurant food! Def recommend! (Interconnecting rooms great for families).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coulams
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Wow what a great start to my day..reading your fantastic review. Thank you so much, I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return. warmest regards Kerryann

Oakland, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms good but showing their 15 odd year vintage - silly things like a room safe too small to fit any laptop in, but really the hotel was fine, the beds to die for and the access to the wonderful gym over the road (with the best view in the world) was worth it. F and B offering sterile and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des W
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry about the safe not fitting your laptop, they were purchased to fit the standard size, however standard doesn't seem to mean much today and the sizes vary considerably. We are happy to store any valuables that can't fit into the in room safe in the Hotels main safe, so please ask reception and they...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The best place to stay as right in the heart of town Higher floors provide greater privacy and a quieter nights sleep Breakfast os OK - though not really anything flash I understand Management has changed over the past 12 months

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Than you for your review. the restaurant manager has changed, but not the Hotel Manager, I have been here since opening. Glad you enjoyed your stay. warm regards Kerryann

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great location and one of the best views in Napier. We stayed at level 5. Wake up and open the curtains to a view to die for. Top notch service, very clean, friendly and very helpful staff. Definitely recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yuvesh
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

We loved your review, thank you so much. warmest regards Kerryann

Avon, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Right on heart of Napier's Art Deco district. Rooms faced ocean and were well appointed. On the main street however not much noise as pretty tame area. Nice breakfast provided with our stay. Reasonable choice of restaurants close by. Parking a little limited. Rooms can get quite toasty thru midday on sunny days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juggler31
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, the rooms have been toasty as we have had 35 degree weather, fortunately the full block out curtains and in room air-conditioner keep things cool. warm regards Kerryann

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
763 reviews
1.9 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.2 km away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
543 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $182 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Te Pania staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Christchurch, New Zealand
29 days ago
Vero Beach, Florida
3 months ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Te Pania staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No view on ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles DesW108, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors - better view and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 781terrys, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor for the view”
 of 5 bubbles muzzerfa, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They are all the same”
 of 5 bubbles gillfill, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Probably better not to be on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5