We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bluewater Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bluewater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bluewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Spent 5 nights here. Nothing flash but value for money, warm and tidy. Nice little balcony for sampling all the wine we bought. Is in a really good location. 5 minutes from airport plus close to main roads to rest of bay. Was very good as a base to explore bay. For evenings is In walking distance of a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antnChris
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Bluewater. It is pleasing to read that your stay, on majority was a comfortable and pleasing one. Great you managed to see some of the sights in beautiful Hawkes Bay and also manged to sample some of the fine wines that are on offer here. We apologise if...

Hawera New Zealand
Reviewed 13 May 2016

First time for us staying at the Blue water Hotel in Napier for a 3 day holiday I can honestly say the service here was great, no problems to get any extra towels, milk etc. Our rooms were lovely and clean and love the White covers on bed, TV in the room was great.Location was great as we walked around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ducky1784
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Bluewater Hotel. It is always a great feeling to read such positive feedback from one of our guests and we really appreciate them. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour around in the Hummer - it is a pretty impressive vehicle for sure., and the bars and cafes...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times for work never as a tourist so I am afraid I cant comment about it location to things. Rooms have always been clean and of reasonable size with 2 Queens beds in room. Ranch sliders opens onto a small deck which faces towards the water but cant quite see it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 67TravelBug67
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on your stay here at Bluewater. It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback from one of our regulkar guests. Perhaps next time you stay you would like to request a upper floor room which gives you a better view of the marina and water. We look forward to seeing you again.

Wairarapa
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Have returned to stay on several occasions because of the location. Always stayed on the upper level. On our last visit we got the last room which was on the ground floor. Room was tidy and had everything we required. Pet hate...long life milk, much prefer a carton of real milk, is this so hard to manage? Noise from mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C K M
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Bluewater Hotel. We apologise if you felt some of the aspects of your accommodation fell below your expectations, rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Obtaining the last room would have indicated to you how busy the Hotel was that particular...

Reviewed 6 April 2016

The location isn't the best, although it is walking distance the to bars and restaurants. I asked the receptionist if I could have some ice and she said "she had to get it from the bar" - I said I would go but she said "the bar was no place for a lady." So with that in mind you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccarthykris
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Bluewater. We apologise that you felt the rooms were not to the standard you required, however we have several guests stay here on regular basis for over a week and have never had any negative responses. As for the comment relating to the bar, yes our receptionist did say that...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Good hotel for mid range price. Bar food is great and nearby walking to a good range of bars and restaurants in Ahuriri. I stay here regularly for work and enjoy it. Small complaint, please put real milk in the fridge ?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottJeff
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback from one of our regular guests. We enjoy having you stay and hope to see you again soon.

Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 February 2016

I was a member of a party of 12, whom had booked and paid a deposit on our room well in advance. 3 members of our group arrived earlier only to be told that they could not enter the room unless the room was paid for in full by each 12 members of our group, we offered a credit card...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlee26
Bluewater19, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Charlee26, In regards to your comments relating to your stay here on the 27th February, 2016 , it is Hotel Policy that no person is given a key or keys to a room unless it is the person whose name is on the booking and also that we have a credit card that can be charged on check in, so...

Ilkley
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Well appointed room with balcony overlooking the harbour Good value for money but breakfast area felt run down Hotel atmosphere a little tired but ownership apparently changed while we were there - watch for the outcome. It could be interesting

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard B
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write this review. We do have new owners. Only been here for 2 weeks, but have already gave the place a spring clean inside and out, new chef, in the process of new menu too They do have a lot of experience in the hospitality industry. Feel very confident they will do well Next...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

My boss and I both came up for work. Asked for a double room with queen beds. Apparently that was fine. Turned up and they had put 2 single beds together and called it a queen. Good views but that's about all. 2 Cockroaches crawled out from the sugar cubby on the coffee station, in which when we complained about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoshAllen1992
Bluewater19, Guest Relations Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bluewater Hotel, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. in December 2015 every single bed in the complex was replaced with brand new Sealy Posturepedic beds. Without knowing what type of room you were in (Studio or Apartment) it is hard to explain the bedding configuration...

Wgtn
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This was the fifth or sixth time stayed here and overall really enjoy it. Great location, views and service. The only slight on this place is about the pub next door. If you stay on a Friday or Saturday night then the mouse from the bar band and music is loud, especially if staying on that side of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G-DoggyRulz
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Good to hear you enjoy your stay at the Bluewater Hotel, and keep coming back We have had a lot of problems with the bar in the past. But the new owners are very keen to work closely with us regarding the noise factor The new owner has another bar and restaurant further up the road. The idea is to...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
743 reviews
2.7 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.2 km away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 48 in Napier
106 reviews
0.6 km away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 48 in Napier
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $133 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bluewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bluewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a second level room if having a conference. The view from the conference room is fabulous”
 of 5 bubbles 109malcolmm, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Furthest away from the bar for a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles izzipop, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose whatever your budget, caters for all! And also has a restaurant open late”
 of 5 bubbles daisy431, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room as far away from the bar as you can”
 of 5 bubbles annamarie20172017, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use loads of soap in the spa bath, my husband put in waaay to much. It froffs very nicely.”
 of 5 bubbles Robyn_256, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5