We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 430: English reviews
south yorkshire
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Staying hear two nights ,, at first after a long bus journey thought we got a cold welcome but then realised I had miss judged and it was good straight forward organisation ,,, was given a bottom floor room but after explaining this was not very good for me there was no problem changing to an higher floor perfect ,,,2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynbit56
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - glad our cold welcome was misjudged and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Too much money for the accommodation provided. Better options nearby. Nice to have inclusive access to a good privately run gym in the basement though. Good location with sea views from bigger suites. Ample parking. Very stingy Wi-fi policy (a paltry 30 mins a day!) sent us looking for somewhere better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve w
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Spent four days with a large group of friends earlier this month. Well located, close to restaurants and cafes. Paihia is just a little piece of heaven. So much to do or just grab a book and sit by the beach. Disappointed we could only have 30 minutes free wifi. Hotel was extremely good value. Rooms a little bland but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grania R
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Brighton UK
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Having originally booked at Waitangi I was pleased to get a room for 2 nights at the Kingsgate, the main draw being the aircon offered that Copthorne did not... The room was clean, grounds and pool area well kept but other areas need improvement. The spa area and games room are a little worse for wear and breakfast whilst not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Caped_Avenger
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - Just to note for future readers the hotel offers 22 rooms that can take a rollaway as well as 12x1 bedroom apartments & 1x2 bedroom apartment that are well suited for family's. All of these rooms need to be booked in advance due to the popularity.

Bournemouth
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Bay of Islands . Room large two beds looked a bit dated and dull. We didn't h ave a room with a view and were not able to park outside our room as Parkinson's was taken. The pool area was lovely we sat out there in the evening .as There was a laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val041
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We have stayed many years at the hotel. I would have rated this for the best breakfast and dinner in Paihia. Due to my illness we were unable to get accommodation but decided to have dinner there. We were offered chips and chicken, chips and fish and Hamburgers or the roast of the day for $35.00. we looked at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bids17
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback but it has left us slightly confused as our menu styles have not changed from previous years. From December to end of March we always offer a carvery or our full buffet and during these months we have also restricted the A La Carte menu to avoid over-prepping and wastage as most of our diners...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel which is situated on the waterfront at Paihia. I was one of a group of 30 and despite this number, all our suitcases were brought to our room promptly. The rooms appeared quite tired looking on first impression however they have everything you need. There is a huge bathroom with separate shower, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccw2017
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of our country while on tour.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by a friend, so we wouldn't have discovered it on our own. We had to book, so again our usual approach of just finding somewhere on the spur of the moment would not have worked. The buffet style seafood dinner, although not cheap was very good value. The choice of seafood including some of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

So glad to hear you were recommended by a friend to come and dine with and happy to read we didn't disappoint.

Hanslope, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We got an excellent deal on our hotel for a last minute booking (when we were still driving south from Cape Reinga at gone 5pm) We had a ground floor room which was a typical motel where we could park the car right outside the room, v handy for all our sandy luggage! The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishm79
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am glad we made your night a nice stay especially after a long drive from Cape Reinga.

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

You will need to book. Great selection of food, hot and cold, Seafood to stews, pasta, nice deserts.Pick what you like and go up as many times as you like.The restaurant can be a little busy with coach parties staying in the hotel, but worthwhile putting up with for a great buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrGozeldog
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Yes definitely need to book our buffet as we can get quite busy, I am happy to read you enjoyed your meal with us. All are welcome to visit our restaurant.

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
440 reviews
0.1 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $82 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast was in $9 for Toast and Coffee $15 for Continental and $22 or 23 for full cooked breakfast.”
Gonz2020, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a Junior suit if you can”
Nakigirl62, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view”
errolin100, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one near the bar and check your email quickly !”
DesW108, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Walking distance to everything”
ATT2444, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5