We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Breakwater Motel

Show Prices
#1 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Breakwater Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Start your review of Breakwater Motel
 Click to rate
Marin County
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are looking for Kiwi friendliness and hospitality do not stay here. We arrived at 7.55pm having been traveling all day to an exceptionally rude South African woman. She gave us 5 minutes to pay as she wanted to close her office because she said she had been there all day! There was a booking discrepancy that we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zaiki
Edinburg, Texas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Breakwater Motel is in walking distance to restaurants, grocery, places to book activities. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We arrived a little early but still allowed to check in. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. It was lovely to listen to the waves break when traffic quieted down. Very relaxing. We would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorib91
Reno, NV
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Modern, super clean, big, comfortable. I could live here. It's very close walking (a very short block) to the tiny town. My lazy 6 year old and I walked to town 3 times in one day. Garden rooms have no view but we were out and about during the day so it didn't bother us. If your looking, book this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xtrmegee
Camden NSW
Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakwater is in an excellent location just a moments walk to everything . The room was ideal, clean and had excellent views right along the foreshore and across the Bay.The allocated parking space was small and a pain to get out of even with a small car.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbugged10
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent place to stay with a great view over the Bay from our second floor apartment. The apartment was large and clean and a very pleasant place to sit and look and drink (morning coffee and evening cocktails). Situated at the north end of the beach, close to shops, restaurants and the wharf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BjS008
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service from hotel managers on duty was fantastic, the room was very clean, spacious, well organised, bathroom & shower was amazing, fridge was super cold, the ocean views outside room was amazing, i rate this hotel a 5 star rating. Waking up each morning & viewing the scenery at night was what i'd liked best about hotel, air conditioner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gstingr
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment. The view from our upper level waterfront room was amazing. The motel was clean, well equipped; the owners were friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of Northland it was also situated in the perfect location. I really would like to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlynGolfer
Fort Collins, CO
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed 5 pleasant days using a comfortable, clean & well-equipped room at the Breakwater Motel. Our upper level waterfront room had a nice view of the bay, but also a bit of road noise during the day and early evening. AC kept the room comfortable. The property is well located for walking to dinner and the harbor dock. Designated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGrahamK
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi JGraham K Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our motel. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely little motel in a great location, with friendly owners who clearly take pride in their business. Clean, modern and a decent size compared to other places I've stayed in NZ. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightyslither
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi mightyslither Sincere thanks for your wonderful review and recommendation. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Almost perfect. Great location & fabulous view from room 5. Lovely big suite, with excellent bathroom and other facilities e.g. TV. Free tea and coffee. Only marked down one star due to poor wifi reception in room. Nothing a few signal boosters strategically placed around the property couldn't fix. Ironically it stopped me from checking in and raving about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robert L We certainly appreciate your lovely review and your feedback. Pity you didn't mention you had a problem with the wifi whilst you were here. We have a multitude of boosters around the property and had this been brought to our attention we could have had it rectified very quickly. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
421 reviews
0.1 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
1.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $138 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Breakwater Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury Region, New Zealand

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Breakwater Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles gstingr, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs waterfront room for a lovely view of the bay”
  • The setting of the sun
 of 5 bubbles GlynGolfer, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't fault room 25 for view & postion”
  • View from Sofa in Lounge
  • Beautiful Sunrise from Room 25
 of 5 bubbles CrystalRose54, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 20 was so quiet. Room 19 was up the top and was also really nice and private”
 of 5 bubbles groomfamily, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Gotta face the water!!”
 of 5 bubbles NoelW726, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5