We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Astray Motel

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Astray Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Astray Motel
 Click to rate
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Motel is located in the heart of the city. The employees/owners are trying to be helpful and friendly. The room is small (bathroom looks bigger than bedroom), but absolutely ok for couple of days. Microwave and kettle should be changed more often, but TV worked well. We stayed there two nights and were content with the service/accommodation that we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boba b
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a smallish motel right in the centre of the city near where all the pubs/bars/restaurants are, so you can just walk down and stagger back after your dinner and drinks. The rooms are small but comfortable. You do get a fair amount of noise from neighbouring rooms, unfortunately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristoforoM
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are small, but newish. Eveyrthing you need is there. Kitchen OK, too. Was reasonably quiet, apart from hearing some noise from other rooms, and also at 4am from somwhere in the city centre like after nightclubs closing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happysheepChina
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Came in for one night. The sheet was dirty and so the pillows (hair on it and smells bad).Very small room, with poor hygiene. For less than what I paid, I had at least the sheet/bed clean ! Very disapointed by this short stay, I couldn't even sleep there at the end. The reception guy didn't try to sort out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keeksNewzealand
Xiaofeng G, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, From our previous review you can see that our cleanliness level is good and this apply to our every room. This is actually the first review saying our sheet is dirty. Honestly, we don't think you have reported this to our reception during your stay perhaps you are talking about another hostels? Just let you go and don't...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Room was nice and clean but if you are looking for peace and quiet after a long day don't stay here. Each room has an approved fire safe front door that self closes. This means they are heavy and close with an almighty bang. We were there for only 1 night and got hardly any sleep due to the inconsiderate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
India
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Had booked a single room with shared bathroom, checked in in the evening and was given room 3.5 on the ground floor. The motel is about 10 minutes walking from the Rotorua iSite Mana bus stop. There is a local bus stop about 5 minutes away. My room was literally one small bed, three walls of the room touched the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wingsonwheels
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This place is so spartan it is ridiculous. My room, if you could call it that, was barely large enough to accommodate the bed. The door opened only halfway before it hit the bed. There is no kitchen, no tv room, no heat in the rooms, no fan in the rooms, no hot pot, no microwave, no tv in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe L
Xiaofeng G, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joe, The room you stayed is a basic room backpacker room. In our room description it clearly says this is 3.5sqm private room and standard rate is $45. We never say we have those facilities in the room, we sell what we listed, you knew what the room like before you made booking, are we misleading you? We have...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful host i stayed for 5 nights relaxing stay location is brilliant and comfortable bed im a camper so this was very comfortable for me highly recommended excellent price great value for your money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2yrua
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Rooms really small so if you have a lot of luggage this place won't be for you. Pretty hot and humid in the rooms. But centraly located, close to many places in the city. Recepction staff helpful. Clean. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Mentel
South Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

i highly advise everyone not to stay in this motel! I stayed here 3 years ago and it was so good, i had to come back now with the new owners, i will never come back. First, the rooms are built to have a heatpump! the lady at the reception said that it was not working when i asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelathexplorer

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
674 reviews
0.5 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
744 reviews
1.8 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
116 reviews
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Astray Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can do better sleeping in a car for hire.............”
433josephl, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a motel unit is singles very basic and small. Feel 35 dollars a more realistic price.”
jonasluck1234, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Location”
sols308, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“On the 2nd floor is better as there are a table and chairs outside your room”
447connie, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some distance from supermarket, stock up before going to hotel. Parking is short supply, ground level room easier for access”
JJnzNz, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Priceline
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates