We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

The hideaway lodge is aptly named. Conveniently located near all attractions and city center. The lodge is well maintained and has a nice little park. My kid enjoyed the play area in the park. We loved the location as it was quiet and relaxing after a long drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hareesh R
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Room was comfortable, clean with all necessary amenities. Had the weather been kinder we would have enjoyed using the little deck for our evening drink or morning coffee. The exercise area for dogs was just wonderful and although it is on the main highway there was minimal traffic noise

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2016

As a big group we took over the quaint hideaway lodge. Reading one of the reviews I'm stunned to hear of such a negative visit-with-children experience? Possibly previous owners. This was certainly not the case with the wonderful couple that looked after us over our short stay. We were guests ranging from babies to the elderly and had zero problems....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PedroNZ_Morales
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend hideaway lodge especially if you have children, we were a big group that ranged in ages from 0 to 90, the kids were gob smacked at the playground. Our rooms were extremely clean and management were exceptional. Thanks heaps we will be back 😉👍🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui F
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The motel was clean and basic and the outlook and grounds pleasant. As they are pet friendly, one could assume they would also be child friendly. But no. Unfortunately the couple who run this motel were extremely rude and unreasonable, and made our stay with children, absolutely excruciating. Their behaviour was bizarre, and made us very uncomfortable. The service overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenbryce2016
Fiona4361963, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad that your school group found some positives during your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our motel. We have had many school groups stay with us in the past who have loved the facilities and service and have received great feedback. However we have changed our policy when hosting school groups...

Toronto, ON Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

It is a very family-run motel, and is generally well maintained. Though a bit far from major attractions in Rotorua, the drive is easy and not that far away, 15 mins' drive at most. There is a small chicken farm at the back of the motel, and the kids love it as the chicken are super friendly. The outside lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowbird888
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We were down from Auckland on a sightseeing trip with a German exchange student. We needed somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay the night. After reading the previous reviews I decided this would be the perfect place for us. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The room had been heated and was warm and cosy on our arrival. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Great place. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Although on a main route into town it was pleasantly quiet. Only took 5 mins by car to get to the city, close to many attractions.The owners are very friendly and wonderful hosts.Was a bonus being able to take our bird with us. Lovely area for children and/or pets to play with a bbq...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HippyPippy
New Plymouth City, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We stayed with 16 girls for the NZSSAA -the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. It was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. Fantastic kitchen facilities so we were able to cook meals. Loved the feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Fiona & Chris have made this hideaway lodge a delightful, eclectic, family-focused, fun retreat. We all loved Rotorua, & the privacy and peacefulness of Hideaway refreshed us. Grandma & Pa stayed in the biggest double-room with fireplace. Plenty of space for family game night and meals. Mom, Dad & grandsons enjoyed their room, as did the newlyweds! Clean, comfy bedding,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamht1

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
5.4 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
7.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
4.0 km away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
530 reviews
6.1 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $101 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rotorua Hideaway Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rotorua Hideaway Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some reviews say road is - we were in room 1 (closest to the office- we couldn't really hear the road)”
 of 5 bubbles Kitticat674, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The units looked the same...”
 of 5 bubbles 40leef, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for the "en suite"......”
 of 5 bubbles V2833GWrobertp, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 3. All rooms would be good”
  • Queen bed
 of 5 bubbles Nihonihoohura, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles Moncatz, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5