We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Hotels.comUS$56*
View Deal
#23 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Start your review of VR Rotorua Lake Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for a two-night mini break, knowing how wonderful it is to work literally a stone’s-throw from the shore of Lake Rotoiti and a 15-minute drive from downtown Rotorua. The cleaning staff especially are very friendly and helpful. Did not use the restaurant on this occasion. The buildings here are wonderful and every room is angled for a view of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisF443
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping management. We do hope you give us another chance as we will...

Camden, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Old fashion decor but clean and comfy beds good lake view and lovely food at the restaurant, value for money does need some maintenance with little things such as light globes, shower leaks other than that would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie M
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our room maintenance didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. Regards, Vivek

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We bought a deal voucher on grabone with no prior knowledge of this hotel or the area. We were upgraded on arrival and shown to a lovely suite overlooking Lake Rotoiti. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to take our drinks from the bar down to the lakeside seating area to enjoy the view. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonimnz
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Resort. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our Resort. Regards, Vivek

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Super friendly and helpful staff made our (too) short of our 3 night stay here. The wait staff, front desk, and the housekeeping were so personable and we felt like we were returnees rather than first time guests!! The rooms were clean and fresh sheets and towels were changed daily. We had a wonderful dinner, drinks and our first taste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genie R
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Nilesh that he made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort soon! Regards, Vivek

Te Puke, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely dinner here last night.. food was excellent.. service was good.. a lovely restaurant over looking the lake.. a really nice spot.. we will definitely be back for another meal sometime soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJO193
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our Resort. I am glad to hear that enjoyed your dinner with us and we will be your top choice when you visit Rotorua. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards, Vivek

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We actually stayed in the timeshare part of the hotel which are two bedroom apartments so I cannot comment on the hotel accommodation. However we did use the hotel. The staff are very helpful and charming. There were a few queries we had. Firstly we wanted to get the hotel boat across to the hot springs but the boat was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrienne N
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Rotorua Lake Resort for your recent stay. I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience from the time you checked in and have taken with you the wonderful memories of your stay. The associates are my pride as they deliver the best and leave no stone unturned to make...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Check in was quick and easy. There's plenty of parking, several pools and a spa. I liked that the wall could be opened so you can take a bath while watching TV. There's not a lot of channels on the TV, but in this area there's plenty else to do. The bed was comfortable and the AC was relatively easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chad C
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with. Regards, Vivek

Swan Hill, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Had trouble finding it, as our agent had only given us a basic address of Mourea, Rotorua. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, great surrounds, lovely unit and more supplies than we had ever seen before at any other time share resorts we have been to. Second day, no hot water, so reported it to management, second morning no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turoar
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Rotorua. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards, Vivek

East Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 28 March 2017

As soon as we arrived at this hotel, we were offered a free room upgrade as the hotel was not really busy. The room was big with two queen sized beds and very clean. We ate in the hotel both nights as Rotorua was a good drive away. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. We found the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JackieM24
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our Resort on Trip Advisor. It was a privilege to have you stay with us at VR Rotorua Lake Resort. We are glad to learn that you were happy with the overall services of our Resort. Your words of appreciation are a generous source of motivation and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2017

we had 4 single people jammed in the one room - which the staff knew about as we organised a rollaway. The room was not set up for this properly as the bathroom has a timber shutter situation to block off the main room from the bathroom which you could see through between the cracks - if you're there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney M
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our department heads. We do hope you give us another chance as we will...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
13.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
11.9 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
235 reviews
9.7 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
812 reviews
8.1 km away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
8.3 km away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $96 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Rotorua Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from VR Rotorua Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King suite 113. Spacious and private with beautiful views”
Tonimnz, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our family had two rooms: one upstairs and one downstairs, both Lake View!”
72genier, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get something on the second floor with a lake view”
809chadc, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A ground floor room as you can open the French doors.”
JackieM24, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one looking over the lake”
courtneym513, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$101
TravelocityUS$56
Booking.comUS$59
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates