We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 October 2014

A very dated motel... but room was clean & tidy & no sign of anything nasty. Bathroom was clean also. TV has one channel which is not ideal. View is stunning. Stayed for business for one night & it ticked the boxes. You get what you pay for - Room cost me $70 so wasnt expecting the Hilton - was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsykiwi
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Great to hear that we will see you again, and our goal is that we excced your expectations next time Kind Regards Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I agree with all the other 'DON'T EVER STAY HERE' comments..... I got eaten alive with bed bugs, power sockets hanging out of the wall, only one TV channel, a gym with no weights or anything in it, half the lights weren't working, where is the Spa pool?, it is easily the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SmokeyNo1
Reviewed 13 September 2014

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the awesome view of the geyser/mud pool. Other than that, the place is VERY dated (in desperate need of a makeover), there is only 1 TV channel, the jets in the bath tub didn't work, the customer service wasn't great and the walls are very thin. I wouldn't recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilovetravelling277
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do thank you for your comments The Hotel does offer the free2view channels to the rooms, the Hotel is of concrete brick construction so the dividing walls are actually concrete We do understand that you enjoyed the view from the room, and we would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future Kind Regards Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My sister and her baby were surpose to stay here for 3 nights, but only stayed for 1. The room was small, old, cold and you could here the conversations from the people next door. There was also ONLY 1 chanel available which was disappointing. Waste the time having a TV in the room. It gets wrose the CUSTOMER SERVICE...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stacey983
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The rooms do have radiators to all rooms, and whilst they do take 5 minutes to warm up, they are extremely effectice in keeping the rooms warm I am concerned that you did not find the staff helpful, most guests do find our staff friendly and helpful. Kind Regards

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here while in Rotorua, mainly for the view from the guest room. The hotel was easy to find- just along the main street into town- and close to the city center where there are lots of restaurants and grocery/convenience stores. The rates are inexpensive, but you get what you pay for when it comes to the room itself-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lotusandthebee
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it is a great place to stay We agree you do get the best seat in the house, and a nice cup of coffee looks at the view from your balcony is a great way to start the stay Kind Regards

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Advertised as having restaurant bar, Spout pools, TV, views of geyser. And the room was dirty, had a 3 legged chair, and a wall heater half hanging on the wall. It wasn't until after we paid (cash) that they said "oh you can only get chanel 2 on TV and Spout pools dont work, and restaurant bar is closed for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank landgholt
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Cheap price for an overnight stay. The place certainly had its faults, but as far as money goes, we got what we paid for. If we wanted excellent accommodation we would have had to pay more. The Hotel is in definate need of a good makeover, but I've stayed in worse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nzredranger
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We look forward to seeing you on your next stay, and we are certain you will see the improvments we have made Kind Regards Management

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Thought that when i checked into the room , that at last new owners had taken over the Hotel , as some cleaning changes have been instituted and linen appeared new Sorry TV didnt go but wasnt an issue Alas when i checked out, no new owners and Mr wilson back in control, hope he dosnt make this manager again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntoddl
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear that you appreaciate the improvements we are making to the Hotel The brand new pressed linen looks great in the rooms, and the rooms are extremely clean We look forward to your next stay

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's very difficult to give the Geyserland an overall rating. The condition of the hotel is so bad it's a joke! The building is very old and poorly maintained, and it looks like it has not been touched for years. The whole place is in dire need of a complete refurbishment and given the state it is currently in it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BackinBracknell
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate your comments It is fantastic to hear that you will continue to keep returning to the Hotel, it is in a prime location and offers an increible view of the Pohutu Geyser, and we agree the rooms are very clean. We will keep you updated as we move to refurbish the Hotel Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for one night while travelling to Wellington and again on our return to Auckland. the room and bedding were clean and comfortable enough for the time we stayed there. The hotel itself is a bit dated and needs some upliftment but on the whole the staff were pleasant to deal with and very helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley Q
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We agree the rooms are very clean and the view is amazing, we hope that on your next stay you make it a long break Kind Regards Management

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
103 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.2 km away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 93 in Rotorua
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.4 km away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#52 of 93 in Rotorua
151 reviews
1.1 km away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#77 of 93 in Rotorua
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $69 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay at the rooms in front of the pool as all very rundown. Chose the rooms upstairs the reception area.”
hazelineng, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose higher level than ground for better view of geysers.”
juliarN9487IH, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one on the geyser side”
512JeanF, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have to stay there make sure you get a view over the geyser.”
karenapring, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you MUST stay here, ask for a room that overlooks the geysers and mudpools.”
paulamcarr, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5