We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,299: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Room was reasonable though dated (stuck in the 60's). Food choice was poor as was availability. Resturant Staff disappeared between courses and had to wait half an hour to sort the bill. Not recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterpiper2016
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thanks for sharing this review, I would like to apologize for the bad experience you had in our Restaurant as there is no excuses for the issues you experienced, I have addressed this situation with our F&B Manager as its not our standard. Kind regards

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The location is great close to the lake but you have the feeling when you enter in the hotel that you are in an hospital. The room is ok, spacious but doesn't look very clean (black mould in the toilet). I had dinner and breakfast in the hotel: the quality and diversity is not good at all. I also see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sissiburger
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write this review, I feel disappointed that our facilities and service wasn't up to your expectations or standards, Thanks again for sharing your feedback Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Beautifully located on the shores of Lake Rotorua, the hotel offers a comfortable old fashioned charm. The room was conveniently situated to easy parking, reception and the dining facilities. Though always busy, I found the staff and facilities always available. The room was well appointed and all needs were met. The staff maintained a friendly attitude throughout our trip. Plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PetCow101
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for such a nice review, its always rewarding to read that our clients had a nice experience staying with us and that our facilities and location met your expectations Kind regards

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Standard Room had no air conditioning, terrible bathroom facilities and a semi functioning tv (cuts in and out every few seconds). Wifi was borderline un-usable. Fan was brought to the room to substitute for a lack of air conditioning which needless to say, was not effective.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pavby
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write this review, I have addressed the issues with the WIFI and TV with our maintenance team, thanks for bringing this up to our attention as we haven't received any comments before in regards to this, I am sorry if the lack of A/C in our standard rooms was an inconvenience though...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2016

a mixup in our choice of room, thought i had booked room with 2 double beds, got a room with 1 double bed, should have been 2 adults and 1 child, they found us a room with extra beds by the pool, but a lower standard, but was fine, bathroom door was off its hinge,which made door jamb a bit,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danieljO4374NG
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thanks for such a nice review, and I'm happy to read that we were able to provide you with a room that suited your needs, I will have the door checked by our maintenance team, thanks for bringing this up. Hope to welcome you back at some stage in the near future Kind regards

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early, but we're told our room wouldn't be ready for 30 minutes - no big deal, just a minor inconvenience with baby. Pluses were the friendly and obliging staff and breakfast included, so good on the pocket. Minuses were that the rooms were showing signs of wear (taps that were loose so didn't turn off properly),...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melinda M
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Melinda Thanks for sharing this review with us and other travellers, I apologise for the time you had to wait, we try our best to have our rooms ready by check in time unfortunately due to events out of our control its not always possible, we are constantly working on upgrading our facilities but thanks for your feedback, I...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Hotel is not too bad. The bar area is a bit tired iwth dirty and threadbare furniture. The room was pretty good and the beds comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient. However...on the second night of our stay a Chinese school group of around 20 12 year old kids filled every room around us with constantly banging doors...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DamoBikes
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so disappointed to read the bad experience you had during your stay with us and that you weren't able to relax and have a good night sleep because of other guests, we don't get complaints of this kind very often and usually they are taken care off promptly, please accept my apologies and I hope you...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The hotel was a bit out dated but we enjoyed our stay. One of the managers took our concern with the air con seriously an d called us back when a room with air con became available. Lovely staff. We enjoyed the evening performance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G4592ZGpatriciam
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback , I am happy to read that our staff were helpful and that we were able to allocate you to a room which was up to your expectations. Kind regards

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Clean, well appointed room, polite and helpful staff and very well located for town centre, spas and geysers. It is great to have both easy car parking and the ability to walk to dinner and not have to worry about transport. Double glazing would help keep the room cool as it was an oven when we first arrived and took...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PRGKS
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thanks for such a wonderful review, Its a pleasure to read feedback like yours which highlights the benefit of our location and great service that our staff provide Thanks Again Sincerely

Altona, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2016

The room was clean and had large windows for lots of natural lighting. Appreciated the a/c to eliminate sulphur smell off the lake. The price was great for a standard room. Appreciated the in-house Hakka and hangi.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolbU4133XV
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Carol Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and that our team made such a nice impression, we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,068 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $109 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
5 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If needed, mention need of elevator access when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles pcanders, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Visit Tutanekai St. for dinner and visit the redwoods in the evening with the lights shining upon them”
 of 5 bubbles 630bass, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 300 room block which had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles Pupstar05, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book near the entrance if you value quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles alatoa, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“would be nice to have a room facing the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5