We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We attended a wedding here. First impressions when we walked into the room the couple were being married in were good. The room was set up nicely. The celebrant, I understand, works in the hotel. The wedding service was performed in a stumbling, stilted manner - I wondered if she'd ever done this before. I would have been extremely disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HinemoaHoney
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I would like to address all your concerns. Our redwood centre has just been fully refurbished and we have hosted 7 weddings in that room in 2014. We did have all heating on in the room with the addition of several portable heaters as it was a very cold night and unfortunately the smokers...

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent a night at the Copthorne which was interesting. Check in was great, very efficient and quick. Our room was road-front corner, very quiet, and very clean and tidy although does need up-dating. We had a function to go to in the evening and on returning early morning found a lot of people around the entrance, even more in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billJE72
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I do apologize we had to evacuate the hotel which left you feeling disgruntled however a fire alarm is a situation we have no control over. We do understand it does inconvenience our guests however the safety of our guests is top priority. It was a pleasure to read our facilities and food were...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Haven't stayed but a number of visits for evening meal. Recent visit was same high standard and great for the kids who could help themselves. Reasonably priced. Very good service. Clean and good quality food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viv M
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. Your feedback has been well recieved by the team here at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua. It is always pleasing to hear our repeat business is receiving the standard of service and facilities we are reknown for. Thank you again and please enquire about our new loyalty card we now have in place as it...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I got a deal on wotif and was going mainly for the hot pool, spa and sauna. Outdoor pool was a bit cool- it is winter but could have been a fraction warmer. Spa was being upgraded and was still clean and excellent. the room was clean and good value. when we checked in found out we had been upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mindy1971
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your positive review. Your comments have been well recieved by the team her at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua. We do hope to host you again in the near future.

auckland
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We thought we would dine in restaurant having a buffet meal - big mistake. Cost expensive $35 - started to have seafood, I had two mussels that we Absolutely horrid, really tiny and tasteless, found out later on that they were frozen mussels. I also had a bread roll that was stale!. Partners food just the same horrible. Partner complained...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank pauline g
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I do appreciate your comments and I have addressed your concerns with our Executive chef. We host buffets here twice a week and we get highly praised for our quality of food. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for your feedback.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a rather typical, rather old, rabbit warren that caters economically for conferences and tourist bus tours. Not the place for a wedding anniversary or a special trip to Rotorua. The level of maintenance is adequate, but one can still find patches of carpet that are torn. Yet for what it is, the Copthorne does the job. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MykieHamiltonL
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with all departments. Your response is appreciated.

Auckland
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Terrible hotel embarrassing that tourists experience this. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary ,the room was very dated there was screaming in the hallway for at least an hour in the middle of the night there was no lift but what really upset us was the buffet breakfast the sausages,bacon,beans weren't even slightly warm told the staff they didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Richard W
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the level of service you recieved and the quality of the breakfast food. I have alerted your concerns with the department heads and have been assured the standards you described are not our normal service practice. I do appreciate your feedback as this is a way for our team to be...

melboutne
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting rotorua. The hotel is on main road 2 Kms from city centre. The bed was comfortable. There was shampoo shower gel tea coffee facilities, mini fridge, I did find long hairs on the furniture. Buffet breakfast was plentiful. The hotel has 20 minute free wifi in hotel lobby, otherwise it is $12.50 for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was pleased to read we made your stay comfortable. I do hope we are able to host you again with any future stays you may have in Rotorua. Rotorua certainly does have many attractions and unfortunately not enough time to take in all that it has to offer. Please do not hesittae...

Woy Woy, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very quick check in. Hotel is so distance from town. $10 cab fare town to hotel. Two double beds, spacious room. Bathroom very good with fittings all in good condition. Recommend this hotel. Gluten free food available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 464Pents
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased to see you were happy with our facilities. I do hope we have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The sheets in our room had not been changed from the prior guest. There was some type of Vaseline or other grease on them and the pillow case was dirty. It was disgusting. We called Reception and someone came up at 10:00 p.m., agreed that the sheets had not been changed, and brought clean sheets. Both sets of sheets were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XenophonAnabasis
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. I was disappointed to hear of your experience as your concerns are not what we thrive to deliver to our guests. I would like to discuss this further if you would be so kind as to contact me directly. Thank you Theresa Mutlow

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
749 reviews
1.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
3.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
1,158 reviews
2.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Palo Alto, California
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bottom floors have nice seating area right outside the room.”
 of 5 bubbles tomaszh697, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Gregory'sGirl, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthahN717WN, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A.Duckson, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room got the afternoon sun had a awesome view with a balcony A/C”
 of 5 bubbles tsmith843, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5