We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Princes Gate Hotel

Booking.comUS$57*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Princes Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 711: English reviews
Start your review of Princes Gate Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I are on a month long tour of New Zealand and had planned two night in Rotorua and extended to three, thanks in part, to our enjoyable stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. It's historic and very pleasant. The staff were great! We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and very much enjoyed the food and staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Read the reviews , tempered my expectations and was pleasently surprised. The room were clean, tidy and spacious. Sure the rooms were a little old and fixtures and fittings worn but you get what you pay for. We really enjoyed the place . Had a real charm to it. We stayed in the 2br room next to the old hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefunfive
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thefunfive Thank you so much for your review. Your comments are appreciated and new larger TV's are planned for all rooms, along with new carpet and furniture. Hope you enjoyed some of the many wonderful attractions Rotorua has to offer Kind regards Phil

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Princes Gate was agreed place to stay, easy walk to lake, Eat Streat and Gardens, we loved the open fires places, happy hour and relaxing in the comfy lounge areas, rooms were well heated and as described, friendly and helpful staff, rewlly enjoyed the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely grand old hotel centrally situated right near Government Gardens and opposite the main tourist info centre. As with any old character building there are signs of wear as it is not a modern hotel so dont expect all the bells and whistles. I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in the McGregor room which was located upstairs in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 67TravelBug67
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 67TravelBug67 thank you for your review We have purchased new non-slip mats for the steps you mentioned - again appreciate your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your time in Rotorua Kind regards Phil

Reviewed 1 week ago

Many good points, including old fashioned charm and a central location. However, the room was very cramped even for one guest. As an international traveler I had a large case which had to sit in the entrance of the room blocking the exit and bathroom. Room was very hot and stuffy even in autumn and I had to open the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
Phila987, Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara P Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed Rotorua. We do have a number of smaller rooms more suitable for short stays. These, along with all our main hotel rooms are being upgraded including new beds, carpet, furniture, new TV's, bathroom upgrades and installation of new aircon units to significantly improve guest comfort levels. I...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a bit torn about this hotel. We recently stayed for 3 nights, and while overall we did enjoy ourselves, the hotel itself wasn't quite what I expected. My husband and I are visiting New Zealand on a belated honeymoon, so I wanted to stay somewhere lovely in Rotorua. The hotel has a historic charm to it, however there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristan N
Phila987, Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kristan Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed some of the wonderful activities that Rotorua offers. The new owner and management are committed to upgrading the rooms and hotel facilities including new carpet, beds, TV's, furniture, new aircon units, bathroom upgrades , new curtains and repainting/wallpapering where required. This will improve guest comfort levels and hopefully...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night, fast check in,place is amazing, staff are good, good ambience, close to everything shops, restaurants,attractions,would definitely stay here again. Keep it up! Good for family,solo or couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ejay F
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ejay F Thank you so much for your review and kind words - I will post your review on our notice board for all staff to read! I hope you enjoyed the many attractions that Rotorua offers and the weather was kind. Kind regards Phil

Corsicana, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're expecting a luxurious, old hotel, you will be disappointed. If your expectations and wishes are to stay in an historic, charming place that's a little shabby like your grandmother's house, then you will enjoy your stay here. Not all of the rooms are air conditioned; ours was. It had older furniture and decor and a crystal chandelier; queen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leskobear
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leskobear Thank you for your review and I trust you enjoyed your time in Rotorua. The new owner and management are committed to upgrading many aspects of the Princes Gate Hotel. The lounge and restaurant have new carpet, wallpaper and dining chairs. Crystal chandeliers have been installed in the guest lounge, and the stairwell has been fixed and spruced...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately from the reviews I read I expected a hotel with character but I really didn't find that and I was disappointed. When confirming our booking, I emailed the hotel to ask if we could have a bath. The hotel replied that this was In order. However when we were shown to our suite this was not adhered to as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandiwells13
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandiwells13 Thank you for your review and highlighting some areas that we can and must improve on. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment of the booking mixup. I have discussed your feedback with my Reservations Manager to ensure that all front desk staff are reminded of proper procedures regarding room allocations and guest service levels. I have also...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the original part of the hotel. A lot of noise travel through the walls so we had fairly broken sleep with neighbours up to all manner of things. Earplugs are pretty vital. The rooms themselves were sort-of-clean but very tired. Toilet cistern faulty, soap rack shower changing colour with age, worn out carpet etc etc Rooms on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreeRangeKiwis
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FreeRangeKiwis Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your time in Rotorua. The new owners and management of the hotel are committed to a significant upgrade of all rooms which will include new carpets, beds, TV's, furniture and bathroom upgrades. new aircon units are currently being installed into all rooms. We are also investigating noise reduction...

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
673 reviews
2.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.7 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $97 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility issues ask for a drink we stairs room”
StephanieG716, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“McGregor room for space good for a family but little noisy in the morning”
67TravelBug67, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check size of room especially if travelling alone.”
W2485RDbarbarap, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning.”
leskobear, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have an apartment (called a suite) have an upstairs one.”
AndrewMarks31, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$57* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$92
Expedia.comUS$64
Hotels.comUS$65
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates