We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,242: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
 Click to rate
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Super friendly and helpful staff, delicious hot breakfast, clean rooms and free parking.Great location near the lake and right across the road from Eat Street. The pool complex is excellent including five hot pools and a sauna. We had a great stay here and would not hesitate to return. Thoroughly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights on our way around NZ and loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and modern and the bar / restaurant was great. We loved the hot pools also. The location of the hotel was another bonus with Eat Streat being right next door. We loved Rotorua...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrazyPenguin2013
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Novotel in Rotorula was an ok stay I would give them a 3 maybe 4 star hotel. It is a very tiered and old style hotel and not to the Novotel usual standards. Lobby is nice but when you get to the room floors carpet is all warn out walls are dull rooms are very dated beds are old. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
Helotes, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Rotorua and were only able to book this hotel for a few days as it was booked solid the rest of the week. When we arrived, the check-in line was busy. We waited about 10 minutes and when it was our turn a child walked up to the counter and the host motioned to us to wait and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 97rened
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Most of people would agree that a great pillow equals a good nights sleep and a bad pillow ruins a holiday! Novotel have a great selection of pillows - I am sure even the most discerning guest would be impressed. Aside from the great pillow selection the breakfasts offer a wide selection of choices- the pastries are particularly delicious. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. It was great to see all your positive comments, especially the ones about the pillows! Thank you also for the feedback in relation to the bed and the staff, we will most certainly review this. We look forward to hosting...

Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked and stayed for one night with family as we were passing through Rotorua. The room was all good although starting to get slightly dated. In the Lifts they advertise $89 dinner at atlas restaurant for 2 adults and 2 children high we thought was good. When we got to restaurant however the asked our children's age which was 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliffoAuckland
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. However, I do apologies for the problem with the $89 dinner and how it was promoted. Please get in touch with me on 07 346 3888 as I would really like to discuss this further. I look forward to hear from you.

Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I must preface this review with the fact that we stayed here on Easter weekend and it was very busy with lots of families with kids. Therefore, my experience is colored by the apparently overwhelming demand. The hotel was getting shabby and fell short of the basic comforts I expected. The wall mount for the blow dryer was dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reachingdreams
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear reachingdreams, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to learn you appreciate the convenient hotel location and also your complimentary breakfasts. However, I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room with a view across the lake and Eat Street was across the road as well a big park and playground so the kids could run around. The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day with lots to choose from.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsKellB
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear MrsKellB, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially our location and also the breakfast! We hope to see you again very soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second stay at Novotel Lakeside Rotorua and once again, it was a good one. Even though prices have gone up, we still felt that it was somewhat value for money, owing to its location and spa pools.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddcotta
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear ddcotta, Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location and the hot pools. We hope to see you again soon.

504 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
675 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
797 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
1,101 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#8 of 93 in Rotorua
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $167 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
6 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor lake view rooms”
fionam706, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view if can”
carolgI7727FK, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view rather than a city view if that is important to you.”
evandbob, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lake view rooms”
gzbike, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lakeview room”
madiennec, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5