We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Treetops Lodge & Estate

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Treetops Lodge & Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of Treetops Lodge & Estate
 Click to rate
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived in late afternoon and were greeted by Harry. He was terrific and helped us with all our questions and was totally available to us the entire three nights we stayed. We were fortunate to have the the Owner, John Sax and his wife to dine with for 2 of those nights such a wonderful and delightful couple. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMo1
JohnSax_Owner, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Fantastic to meet you. Great review, and have passed onto the team - John Sax

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Treetops is an ideal location for couples or adult groups. The accommodations were beautiful as were the grounds. The service at dinner the first night was very poor. Slow. Slow. Slow. Almost to the point that they need to hire more help. The second and third night were significantly better. Housekeeping was inconsistent. We never had our coffee refilled or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust9876
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed one night , took an hour to find someone to admit us to a room no one in sight or in the building to admit us. they wanted $ 175 each for dinner, and I ended up with bed bug bites all over my legs !! Definately not worth the price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chayne34
New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Treetops can only be accurately described as one of the world's great resorts. Those fortunate enough to experience their superb hospitality will feel as if you are a guest in a great estate. The chefs are worthy of a three plus star restaurant except that they are also expert in game, which can be a bit tricky to get right....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantCriticNYC
Birdlip, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Our two nights at Treetops was a real highlight of our three month adventure. It's off the beaten track and along a bumpy track, but has real 'wow' value on arrival. We stayed in a villa, which was really luxurious. Big double bath and shower, lovely living area and very comfortable bed. Okay there was no wifi in the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aliss65
JohnSax_Owner, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for such an enthusiastic review, we have shared it with the team at Treetops - much appreciated. - John Sax, Owner

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We just loved our stay at this lodge. Our suite - Sunset- was an oasis of calm and elegance.The main lodge has such interesting furnishings and decor. We were warmly welcomed by our very gracious host, Harry. Our dinners were delicious and I very much appreciated how flexible the chef was in preparing an alternative to the main dish that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montrealtravellors
Chris C, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, We would like to thank you for writing a comment about your recent stay at the TreeTops Lodge Rotorua. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay in our "oasis of calm and elegance". Thank you for highlighting some members of our Team and the flexibility of our Chef. It was our pleasure...

Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewed 20 February 2017

To me this place is more or less a waste. The location to Rotorua is ok, but that is just as easy to reach from other Lodges. To me stay at Huka lodge and skip this place. The staff seemed rather clueless and unexcited about helping guests. Food was ok, but there really are not great views, and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mdbasile
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Treetops. We take guest satisfaction seriously, so it has taken a few days to research staff in attendance over your stay, but also to contact your travel agent directly to understand feedback they may have received in regards to the points you have made in your review of Treetops. Additionally, your offsite...

Woody Creek, Colorado
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel lodge that is booked at the high end. It is located on a beautiful 2500 acre estate that is teaming with wildlife. We were taken on wildlife tours, were able to mountain bike and even went fly fishing on their own private river. The food was good and the kitchen staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fidel D
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and pleased to hear your actual experience of Treetops Lodge was most enjoyable. Yes we do offer hunting at the lodge, however we would NEVER have hunters and lodge guests out on the estate at the same time. In New Zealand, as with many countries in the world that have an abundance of introduced (not...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this retreat as a romantic getaway. Food and wine great. Room average. Surrounds fantastic. Internet beyond poor. Service friendly. L Booked horse riding: No safety assessment. No questions on previous experience. No information about nature of the ride. Girth/Saddle were not fixed properly. Saddle just gave way and slipped on a bend and fell on my shoulder and broke...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Reza N
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

First and foremost we are very sorry that the accident occurred. We appreciate how painful the injury to your shoulder must have been for you and that the recovery has been difficult to manage. We take any accident at our lodge seriously. We have delayed replying to your review while we interviewed our Treetops team and Melissa who was leading...

westport, con
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Treetops for 2 nights on a big north/south journey up and down New Zealand. This lodge is a bit off the beaten track about 20 minutes from Rotorua, but the drive (much over gravel roads) is worth it. The lodge is clean and luxurious. And, the staff is forthcoming, eager and totally dedicated to making the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westportsailors
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, so appreciate your kind words and will share it with the team. Just on the note of internet service - we are currently amidst the undertaking of improving this. Unfortunately it has been out of our control, but with recent advances we are able to now offer a much more extensive...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
22.2 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
14.5 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
19.8 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
12.1 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
684 reviews
12.4 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 2,500 acres of 800 year old native forest, this award-winning luxury lodge is a life-long dream realised by owner and passionate naturalist John Sax. This uniquely New Zealand experience is a sanctuary and retreat of breath-taking terrain, offering the ultimate in world-class accommodation and adventure. Located outside Rotorua, the Maori heartland and trout fishing capital of the world, the Lodge’s elegant, ecology-inspired and architectural style was derived from the country’s pioneering past, with timber and stone finished echoing the natural beauty and simplicity of the great outdoors. Treetops offer seven streams, on-site trout fishing, four lakes and over 35 miles of adventure trails. Family adventures include helicopter adventures to live volcanoes, geocaching hunts and for the smaller guests a 5 Star Kids Club. Of particular note is Treetops Estate to Plate philosophy, with most of the dishes created by the dedicated team of chefs featuring ingredients reared or grown on this vast estate and near 100% pesticide free. These include world-class game and trout and also highlight estate-grown fruit and vegetables plus unique native herbs from the forest. Also offered is a superb wine cellar of New Zealand and world wines, with expert advice on making the best possible matches New are the complimentary Treetops Signature Experiences; ‘Estate to Plate’ Safari, Wild Food Cooking School, and the Indigenous Food and Heritage Trail - all offering unequalled personal interaction with the natural heritage and native wilderness. Our dedicated spa offers unique health-giving Maori rituals and traditional treatments, or for golfers, Treetops extends a personal invitation to their sister lodge, The Kinloch Club which boasts the 18 hole Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge & Estate

Address: 351 Kearoa Road | Horohoro, Rotorua 3077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $740 - $1,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Treetops Lodge & Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treetops Lodge & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Treetops Lodge & Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Palm Harbor, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Treetops Lodge & Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no bad rooms”
RestaurantCriticNYC, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the valley view villas are amazing. For families, rooms in the main building wing are ideal”
DenisG680, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main lodge.”
Combatfisher, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Daydream. Spacious suite with fireplace, separate sitting area, large bathroom, and well stocked minibar.”
cgreg2016, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All villas are lovely; some have an immediate bush view, others a panoramic bush view.”
kiwiana7902014, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$542* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$669
Expedia.comUS$669
TravelocityUS$669
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates