We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Canoes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Four Canoes Hotel
 Click to rate
redcar
Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for one night, booked a family room for 4 adults, to keep costs down , and took a continental style breakfast , good value for the price, car parking, and near the city centre, and easy to find

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatwallet007
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Please explain, No TV, No Fridge, No room service, No air con, No towel rails in the bathroom with no lighting. Low shower rose and mould in the shower. Toilet space limited. Woke to screaming children- no sound proofing Limited car parking. Found deal for three nights on-line would have had to pay $111.00 to cancel Seriously NOT a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T M
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T M, Thank you for taking time to review our property. Firstly I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced. we would like to inform you that you stayed in one of our Family room which comes with 1 queen & 3 single beds, So there is no space for a TV, Fridge...

Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I have been to Rotorua at least 5 times. I loved this place. Cheap. Simple. Friendly. And they have a thermal pool. just wonderful... The rooms are basic, as is the hotel but we were surprised at how much we enjoyed ourselves and relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again in future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Would never recommend this place. When I arrived my bed seemed clean but after 30mins of being there it was CRAWLING with bedbugs. Simply unacceptable. I now have to spend time and money making sure I don't bring any home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank awanderingmole
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we understand that you came across bed bugs during your stay. Sorry that you had to face inconvenience. As you mentioned in your feedback that you will have you spend Time and Money to make sure you don’t carry any of those home – similar to that we have 48 rooms and other...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We booked two rooms with the bathtub, but when we checked in, the receptionist lady gave us rooms with shower room. When we complained to the receptionist about the rooms, she asked us to wait for the lady who took our booking and stated that all of the room with the bathtubs were occupied. We refused to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinar_Lubis
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dinar_Lubis, Thank you for appreciating the work from our staff. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with Four Canoes. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Positives - Lovely, friendly reception staff. Clean crisp white sheets on comfortable bed with comfortable pillows. Kids enjoyed the pools. Negatives - No TV in room (didn't even think to check, assumed all rooms had a TV) Run down, incredibly old looking building and bathroom. Toilet didn't flush properly. Door handle into room broken. Door onto patio, lock didn't work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berkiegirl
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double room, it was disgusting. No air con, no tables or chairs on the verandah, dirty marks and cob webs all over the bathroom walls, dust and marks all over the entire room. No soap holder in the shower and the shower itself was an extremely small hostel style shower with pretty much no water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sam, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 26 January 2017

I didn't expect much from this Hotel because it was very cheap to rent a room here. The room was definitely okay, I've been to far worse motels for twice the price during my new zealand trip. The pool was warm and nice, but like most infrstructure in this hotel, it needed a layer of new paint. The bathroom should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in Jan'17. Decent enough for families to stay over. The rooms were neat and tidy. Though our door had a problem, there seemed to be a small gap even after shutting the door. We had noisy neighbours, so yes the walls are quite thin, you can hear everything and that can be disturbing if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flavia V
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flavia, Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This is a pretty good hotel for the price we paid (family room, 3 single beds, 1 queen bed) and the 3 of us friends shared the room! If you open the windows you can smell the distinct sulfuric scent that covers the Rotorua area, so if you don't fancy it, keep your windows well closed. Otherwise the breakfast spread...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clawdeertannie
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback. Four canoes team really appreciate your review on our property. We wish you well & look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
101 reviews
0.4 km away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
117 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
289 reviews
0.9 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
355 reviews
0.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $74 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles 314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
 of 5 bubbles OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
 of 5 bubbles SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
 of 5 bubbles NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i liked having a ground floor room as it was close to my car which was easy for me as a manager, and my team were in rooms next me as well. Real easy for me to look after them.”
 of 5 bubbles JaxG23, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5