We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cleveland Thermal Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cleveland Thermal Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was clean and fresh. The grounds are tidy and family friendly. The pool is fantastic. The warm water was just what we needed . I had trouble getting in and out without anything to hold on to. Thanks for a lovely stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyhQ3523SA
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were 2 families 10 people we all said we would love to come back and stay. The pool is very deep so life jackets for the young ones but also the challenge of the deep pool has helped my children's swimming improve. Great outdoor area for BBQ and play.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wardnat
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great spot for our family of six. Plenty of room, the pool is fantastic and warm. Mineral pools were also a hit. Friendly and very helpful host too. Would definitely come back here, and recommend to families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sezlinc
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice room with comfortable beds. Great for kids with heated pool and trampolines. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Received discount voucher for Thermal park. Good location, close to town. Parking out front.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimm45
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I must say we were only looking to stay here for one night and loved it so much we stayed three. Best recommendations, close to everything and great facilities for children. The pool was great and good BBQs. A great area with trampolines etc for children to play in and also you get to experience thermal pools. Because of Shelly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My hubby, myself and our youngest son love coming to stay here a couple nights every 3-4 months just so we can get away from everyday life in Hamiltion, we especially love the heated controlled pool where you can swim in it all year round, night or early morning, which we enjoy best, summer or winter we always enjoy our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaj90
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The unit we had is due to be upgraded this year, but we had no complaints. The living/sleeping area was very comfortable, lovely beds and bedding. The kitchen and bathroom were large but showing signs of age. However everything was very clean. Great service from Tim.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed the new beds. They certainly are very comfortable, and we look forward to showing you the new upgrades on your return back to the Cleveland. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Orewa, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again we had the most amazing stay at the resort. 4 1/2 years on from having our wedding weekend there, we were there once again as a family and the hosts outdid themselves again. There is no better place to stay in Rotorua than here. We will return. Barry & Rhonda Thomas, Orewa

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 447barry
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure having you back here at the Cleveland! It was great seeing the kids enjoying themselves and having such a great time and we look forward to seeing you guys back in the future to expand on the family memories and adventures!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always like to stay here when we come through Rotorua, great for the kids, pool is always heated & so nice & warm. The owners are friendly! We like the convenience of the service station & bottle store across the road. We tried a different motel on our recent visit to Rotorua & were very disappointed..my kids kept asking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci H
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Hi Nikki, It was great to have your family back with us. Sorry that your previous accommodation did not meet your expectations. Good to see that the kids are having fun, the pools are being enjoyed and that our location fits your requirements. We look forward to showing you all new upgrades as they progress on your trips back to...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one lovely property with excellent/warm and friendly hosts! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This place has lots of space for the kids to run around. I highly recommended this place. We definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajentrivedi
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Cleveland. We love watching and hearing the kids running around being kids and giving the parents the peace of mind knowing they are having fun whilst they relax. It was certainly a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
620 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.0 km away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
1,152 reviews
2.1 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Econo Lodge Cleveland. Econo Lodge Cleveland is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. Econo Lodge Cleveland is an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make Econo Lodge Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cleveland Thermal Resort

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Econo Lodge Cleveland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $116 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cleveland Thermal Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cleveland Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cleveland Thermal Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cleveland Thermal Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ear plugs just in case you're a light sleeper (thermal pump makes a humming sound at night) Apart from that it's great!”
 of 5 bubbles 70jjk, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles kerynash24, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Clean and modern.... VERY comfy!”
 of 5 bubbles daniellesI684XD, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“None, we were in the last house on the left side opposite to the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Pennypincher22, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very clean and neat room. Very comfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles fadzm, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay