We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Show Prices
#13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 624: English reviews
Start your review of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
 Click to rate
Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Rotovegas motel is towards the outskirts of the 'commercial' areas of town, making it both relatively quiet and handy for the shops and restaurants. The staff are very friendly, and had kindly upgraded our booking to one of their two room apartments. The beds were very comfortable, and the included wifi gratefully received. If only the weather had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blythspirit68
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights through the recent Cyclone and found it very comfortable and spacious. Our room also had a private and completely sheltered outdoor patio that we found excellent for drying our things - v useful with the Niagara Falls outside that we experienced (we understand this is to have a spa-bath in the future). It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin&Chris
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice spacious rooms.... all amenities provided, well equipped. Location of motel is superb, everything is close by. There are several restaurants close to it and supermarket (countdown). It is on the main street but no noise in rooms, rooms are well maintained and have hot jacuzzi inside every studio. Space in studio is too good Parking is right in front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prashant t
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked this motel, it was clean, simple and the staff were very friendly. The retro decor was cute and I enjoyed the hot tub too! The showers could do with updating but other than that I would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed in a two bedroom apartment. It was well appointed with plenty of homely touches & most importantly clean. (good Wifi too) A great base, close to the supermarket and quick drive to the cafes & restaurants in town. Small private deck with a spa pool was a great place to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay for our one night in Rotorua. Staff were very helpful with recommending what to do on a rainy day. Room was smaller than we thought but no issues! Loved the retro vibe and the giant spa in the room. Very reasonably priced. Would stAy again 🙂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mackjk6
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, 900m or 10 minutes walk to the i-SITE, and just a couple of minutes to the central mall; countdown is just across the road as well. Staff were helpful and assisted with luggage storage after check out. Room was spacious, however, the shower is rusty, and the shower curtains emit a strange odour (avoid the room just behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jellybellymelly
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Jellybellymelly Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed our central location and customer service. Sorry you didn't like the new curtains and what appears to be rust is in fact sulphur residue which your right our cleaners should keep on top off and ill be sure to talk with them. Hopefully you enjoyed our ultra fast...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This was our last hotel of our holiday...and was ok. Our unit had an old leather sofa in it which wasn't comfortable (others had new fabric ones - we could see in when rooms being cleaned). Rooms getting tired with marks on walls but they are quite sound proof in the bedrooms. Location is a walk into town but really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen32B
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Jen32B Thanks for taking time to do a review sorry we didn't meet your expectations those couches you saw are actually beds so not applicable to the studios. Glad you had a chance to do some cooking but hopefully were able to enjoy some of the other positive things which Rotovegas has to offer like the hot pool, wifi,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The room 22C was very dirty, the toilet door lock was faulty. A big problem when there was 5 people staying.All kitchen pots, pans etc were dirty, quite disgusting. The taps leaked to the spa pool. Not a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Dave E Thanks for the review sorry you found the room less then awesome. We did pop over and found no problem with the lock in the bathroom and turned the tap off properly and no more leaky tap. We understand that things which your not used to can be hard to work out I would of suggested calling...

Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a great experiences at RotoVegas, our bus arrived very early in the morning and Phil went above and beyond to make sure we didn't have to wait all day to get into our unit so we could have a sleep! We also left a charger behind which he managed to get back to us the next day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mvarns
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Mvarns Thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your stay and our customer service we always want our guest to have the best experience. SAfe travels and see you next time your in Rotorua. Regards Phil @ RotoVegas Motel

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $113 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a downstairs room with a hot tub!”
832melissae, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away if you can.Only got some wifi after 2 days. The reception staff have all the excuses why there is no wifi.”
davee15, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main road”
839sallyb, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Think some larger units had a better outlook, we had nowhere to sit right outside our room.”
lizhewlett, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main road to minimise traffic noise.”
JennyM361, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5