We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Backyard Inn

Hostelworld.comUS$39*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Backyard Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backyard Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The place is ok, however even for a Backpackers the are better places in Rotorua for a similar price. We stayed for 1 night in November 2016, we had a twin room on the bottom floor of the lodge. The room was big enough for two single beds and a chair. There wasn't even room to walk between the beds!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah F
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Me ad my boyfriend decided to stop here for two nights having landed in New Zeland after a 28 hour flight from England. The pictures online looked lovely and we were really excited. First impressions of the place is really nice you are welcomed in a nice Foyer by friendly staff and very helpful at that. You are then given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Room was a neat but sad looking chalet in desperate need of love and renovation. The beds were very comfortable. Ensuite was old, leaky and mouldy. OMG the kitchen was disgusting. The fridge was dirty and not cold enough. Not enough cutlery-we had to tag team with other families and there was not that mny people. Toaster kept shorting out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I have stocked up the kitchen with new cutlery, bowls, fry pans, plates, tea towels and so on. I was actually on regarding your Soy Milk and yes we had run out the day before - I offered you almond milk, which you seemed happy with at the time. We are an accommodation property and so...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

So I will start with the good... Clean sheets? Appears so. Lockable door? Yup. Friendly staff? Sure. That's about where it ends...if you want a good nights sleep this is not the place for you. Cars coming and going all night, thin walls, Loud guests...dirty bathrooms, feels like a bad episode of breaking bad... The photos make it look amazing......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Hello thanks for your feedback we will lock the rope at night so you do not get the cars coming through the property. thank you

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

This is easily the worst hostel I've stayed at in New Zealand so far. The facilities are disgusting and the photos of the place are not accurate to what you see when you arrive whatsoever. The bathrooms look like a public pool changing room facility and are constantly dirty, the kitchen has no utensils, no dishwashing soap and food and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jill R
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The place is big and potentially nice. However, everything (all the facilities, rooms, etc) is in a very poor condition. Rooms are tiny and dirty, walls like papers, toilets are not cleaned enough (they miss toilet paper sometimes). No soap dispenser, just regular soaps (not very hygienic, right?). Everything makes you want to leave soon...horrible old bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siuppolina
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your feedback we now have soap dispensers in the bathrooms since gave us that feedback Kind regards

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

This place was horrible on many levels. I was there with my family. The next door neighbors partied loudly with music blaring until I called the night watchman- twice- at different points of the night. The pool was gross. The rooms were not as represented in the photos- old mattresses, skimpy pillow, and the best touch...previously used soap. A good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adina S
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I am unsure about the soap you are referring to we do put hand soaps in the communal bathrooms by the basins if guest take them into the shower we cant control that I have a new order for pillows coming. I am sorry you feel the pool was gross in my opinion it is very...

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel located outside the city center (just 3 min driving). the team helps with any question. The hostel facilities are very poor. On my stay there was no soup in the kitchen (and probably most of the dishes were "cleaned" just by water) and all the kitchen equipment is old/in bad condition. The bathrooms are also not maintained enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nirf104
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback we did have a problem with the soap as the campers were stealing all our washing detergent but I have now put in very very large containers that they cannot take in their vans with them.

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Booked a room online through booking.com, showed up to the backyard inn about 10 minutes after booking it. The guy at the front desk, didn't even greet me. He said "last name," I proceeded to give him my last name and he says it hasn't gone through yet, there isn't anything I can do to book it. I can't do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph L
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response we do have toilets by the cafe but there must have been a misunderstanding as there are no public toilets around our property I think he would have been sending you to the lodge toilets but I am sorry we were not up to you expectations. thanks

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 November 2016

My class had a 4 day/3 night school camp to Rotorua. The Backyard Inn is very conveniently situated very close to downtown Rotorua, right next door to a sports field, Kuirau Park (ideal if you are studying Geothermal Energy), & the Rotorua Aquatic Centre. Also, a short drive to Rotorua's lake front & Rotorua's Hospital. The staff at Backyard Inn...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markcR9888NP
Treen M, Manager at The Backyard Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mark thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed having your group to stay with us. Treen

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 km away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 55 in Rotorua
341 reviews
0.7 km away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
372 reviews
1.4 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
1.3 km away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 55 in Rotorua
26 reviews
1.0 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE BACKYARD INN: is an eclectic mix of chalet & lodge style accommodation suitable for families, travelers & groups. It's down to earth, clean and comfy, and represents great value. OUR PEOPLE: Your Backyard Inn hosts are the McLeay Family who have been passionate about delivering warm service to Rotorua visitors since the day they put out the welcome mat in 1986. OUR PLACE: Conveniently set in four acres of park-like grounds in Rotorua's wonderous backyard, we're flanked by awesome sporting and recreational amenities - while being just a hop, skip & a jump from downtown Rotorua. OUR PLACE: Bar & Cafe with big-screen TV Thermal Hot Pool Conference & meeting facilities In-room Wi-fi available (costs apply) 29 chalets accommodating 2-6 people 64 lodge rooms sleeping 1-5, they are basic but clean Tent & campervan sites TV room and Pool table area(cost apply) Self-catering kitchen Sales desk for your itinerary plans Four acres of green, open space STAY! Travelers can enjoy their own spaces in great value lodge or chalet options or camping sites. FAMILIES: At The Backyard Inn, families can relax in a kid friendly, safe environment. Chalet accommodation is a popular family option. GROUPS: Our unique design makes us an ideal facility for large groups. Hence we're a popular base for sports, school and tour groups. With Wi-fi, meeting facilities and a travel center, we're a great choice for a conference! Come stay, play, swim, eat, drink & enjoy! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backyard Inn

Address: 60 Tarewa Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Kiwipaka Hostel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Backyard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Backyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backyard Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Backyard Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I haven't seen the lodges, those might be nicer”
nniiss, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The chalet is definitely the way to go ours was quiet, early morn and late night swim”
rachellecresswell, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“-Probably best to stay somewhere else!”
, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick one”
, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
E3ISmeganr, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$41
Expedia.comUS$40
Hotels.comUS$40
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates