We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Rotorua

ibisUS$78*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 976: English reviews
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We always choose to stay at the Ibis Rotorua. Affordable accommodation with excellent staff to help you with anything you need. Easy access in and out of Rotorua and situated within walking distance of restaurants and café. Rooms are clean and comfortable beds. Restaurant within the hotel is lovely as well serving great food. Always a pleasure.. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always fantastic to see positive comments as a whole and I always ensure these are passed onto the team.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I had booked on line and had difficulties with the website. It crashed a couple of times so I had to make more than one attempt, with the result that when we arrived at the Ibis, we found we had 2 double rooms reserved and deducted from our credit card. Staff were a bit bemused, but the following day the...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alastairbjs
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, although there sounds like a few glitches with the computer when originally making the booking I am glad our reservations team was able to rectify this in a speedy fashion for you. The damage the sulphur does to our lime scale build up is an unfortunate issue beyond our control...

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We found the room an average size and the bathroom a little small but it was adaquate with everthing we required. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the TV was large - be carefull you do not click onto the movie channels. Breakfast was well laid out with a great range and convenient BUT expensive - go for...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger-gwen
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback so thank you. Can I suggest you look into our Accor Advantage Plus loyalty program which offers extensive dining discounts as well as a complimentary room in a NZ hotel annually. This is a fantastic loyalty program and certainly holds great discounts in our restaurants.

Paeroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had a superior room - hate to have had a standard room . Could have had a great motel for the cost. Staff friendly & helpful but hotel a bit shabby & room not worth the money. Room small - air condtitioning so noisy had to turn it off as couldn't sleep - no opening window so very stuffy. Could...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank June R
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

I am sorry that parts of your experience let down your stay; we do strive to ensure all guests have a pleasant stay and a good night’s sleep. As a positive I can only respond that when you look at the majority of other reviews they comment on the value for money, location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.

Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Reasonable priced . Comfy rooms. The only complaint (if any) is that it took them a week to release hold on our credit card. Receptionist promised us 2 days. Other than that , will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happyrichcouple_lol
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comments. Unfortunately the length of time it takes for the credit card authorisation to release is entirely dependent on your bank. The deposit is not held by the hotel but in a holding account with your bank. Although we can assist in trying to speed this process up, we can only do this upon guest request...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were reccommended the Ibis by the information centre staff as they were offering last minute rooms at a very low rate. Upon arrival we had to go to 3 separate rooms prior to finding one that didn't smell of cigarette smoke. Being non smokers the rooms were small and extremely stuffy when you entered and the hase of smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reviews_by_Nadia
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Unfortunately although we are a non smoking hotel not all of our guests adhere to this and we do take all measures to irradicate this odour. We are in fact in the process of upgrading to wifi throughout the hotel and have just upgraded all of our televisions to LCD wall mounted units. The wifi will have a free connection...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I walked in and booked in for one night. The hotel reception staff were very kind and helpful and the room was quite a decent size. The bed was clean and comfortable, the bathroom clean and big enough for one person to use at a time. We think Ibis hotels are good value for money as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The2Hoopers
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that we deliver to the expected standards of the Ibis brand at that the hotel was clean and servicable.

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location with lake shore a stones throw away and again ideal for the shops and attractions nearby, the room was clean and well equipped for this style of hotel - again l found all the staff l came in contact with most helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments in regards to the hotel, cleanliness, location and staff. I will certainly ensure this gets distributed to the team.

Morrinsville
Reviewed 4 May 2013

It was a fairly basic room, but quite good value for money. There were no hand towels in the bathroom which would have made it better. I like to have body wash and body moisturiser in the bathroom in a hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valeriejean935
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do have a smaller selection of amenities than the Novotel Rotorua and this is reflected in the cheaper room rate. We pride ourselves on offering clean and tidy facilities, fully operational and a friendly team to assist all of our guests.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Knowing Ibis Hotels are at the lower or less expensive end of the market, then any one who goes to the Rotorua Ibis will be pleasantly surprised. Its rooms are certainly more than adequate for the business traveler or for someone who will be out and about. They have good beds, nice pillows and spacious shower and toilet areas. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ararua
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, and yes the new TV's and duvets on the beds have really made a big difference. We have full wifi access being installed through all guest rooms currently which is another positive feature.

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
674 reviews
2.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $112 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
London, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of busy main road or of carpark not pleasant. Other guests were complaining of WIfi being unavailable”
Christmas5, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check trip advisor”
Omaio, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were very quiet”
KateFife_Scotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had air conditioning and 2 queen sized beds in our room which were comfortable.”
cmurray1959, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Lakeview was worth extra cost”
CrystalRose54, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
ibis
US$78* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$108
Booking.comUS$89
Expedia.comUS$89
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates