We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hamurana Lodge

Show Prices
#15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hamurana Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hamurana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a wonderfully romantic and relaxing venue! Our room was magnificent and the hospitality was above and beyond. We were greeted instantly upon arrival and the staff were always eager to make our stay a memorable one. I wish we would have had more time.... Treat yourself with this one....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora William, Cheers for your review shared with the team. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality and the wonderful cosy facilities we provide and we hope you will visit us again this year..why not? :) See you soon Warmest regards

Taupo
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We arrived in the evening and the weather was terrible but the welcome was lovely. We did struggle to find the entrance in the fog and rain but was not disappointed when we arrived. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and shown to our room. The stairs are steep and narrow but there is a lift. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TaupoSheryll
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and delighted to hear you made use of our facilities for a cosy and enjoyable escape including our lovely gourmet platters. The underfloor heating is indeed a real delight at this time of the year. Visit us again soon, warmest regards

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you want somewhere relaxed, with a warm cosy feel, then stay at Hamurana Lodge. The house is beautiful, the staff go above and beyond making you feel welcome. It really was an absolute perfect get away. Don't miss out!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Cheers Rosie for your feedback but first of all for choosing Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your stay in Rotorua. A pleasure hosting you and hope you will return soon Warmest regards

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A perfect place for a relaxing weekend. Our room was huge and overlooked the lake. The staff were very helpful with restaurant and sight seeing recommendations. There is no food on site, other than a cheese and meat platter, the restaurants in Rotorua are only 6kms away and there is plenty of choice. They do have a bar, a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SweetpeaOlive
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Wonderful to have your feedback and a real pleasure hosting you for a quiet relaxing weekend away. Do visit us again and we promise some really lovely surroundings to discover

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 June 2013

For a change rather than staying in one of the hotels in Rotorua city itself, we tried Hamurana Lodge which is on the opposite side of the lake - about 15 minutes drive from the CBD. It is a more old style hotel but i mean old in a good way - a large converted country mansion with very personable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterCNZ
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, warm thanks for your lovely review and feedback. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the warm and hospitable ''with a twist'' team effort placed in our hosting and services. The Platters are indeed a real treat for a cosy relaxed evening with a bottle of wine and showcase some of NZ great produces. Hope to see you again...

Reviewed 3 June 2013

First of all, the service was excellent during our stay. Young, proactive, eager to help people running the lodge. The hotel itself was very nice, although slightly tired regarding furniture and amenities. Nevertheless, we loved the fact that fresh flowers were around all the time. Breakfast was also very good, with croissants being made in situ (service would ask us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IgnacioNovela
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Hola, Kia Ora Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience with fellow travellers. It was a real pleasure for the team to share with you our beloved Hamurana Lodge and it's serenity for all travellers to the area. Come back again soon to visit the rest of NZ

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent facilities and service! Very friendly staff and very helpful on what to do in Rotorua. My only complains are the location (20 minutes to town, not very good for coming and going to town too often) and the mattress, that wasn't the best (too old maybe?). That said, I wouldn't hesitate on coming back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frangz
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Fran and Thank you for your feedback, delighted to know you will return and our apologies for the mattress which we will definitely investigate as we pride ourselves, as per previous guests comments on providing an excellent sleep quality in a more remote location. Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The lodge looked good in the pictures and the reviews were really good too, so we decided to book and man we can not believe how glad and fortunate we are to have been able to stay at Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua. We were so spoilt with attention to detail and great old fashioned service. The driveway to the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carstenjensen27
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Carsten, a real pleasure hosting you both and delighted you enjoyed and fully relaxed in the heaven we create at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel. It was a pleasure for the team to share some of those inside secret areas around Rotorua and for you to indulge in our city and it's surroundings but always retreating to the eastate in the...

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Fantastic accommodation with friendly staff and beautiful rooms. Personalized service and a great breakfast. The room was comfortable and fully stocked with all the necessary items and more. Thoroughly enjoyed our time. Cant wait to go back! Would recommend this to anyone looking for a classy holiday or a relaxed retreat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshBreetvelt
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon Josh, Thank you immensely for your lovely feedback and glad you enjoyed the retreat away. Hope to see you again very soon with us

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the lodge last weekend, we were met in the driveway and from that moment on, we were treated like we were the only people there! They were so kind, welcoming and would do anything to help you out. The room was spacious, warm and the bed was oh so comfortable! And I loved the chocolate they would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73Sarah
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Sarah, Our warmest thanks for the lovely feedback, it was a real pleasure hosting both of you on your escape from the everyday world and promise the chocolates will stay - so visit us again soon - The Team of Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel Rotorua

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
12.7 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
11.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
19.9 km away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
20.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
132 reviews
10.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $194 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the hot season, ask for a cooler room.”
 of 5 bubbles 173carolg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All Rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles LeonardoS1987, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles andymas0n1, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“have a look for the suites”
 of 5 bubbles haryroelen, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs suite with balcony and views was fantastic... and the Gourmet Platter is seriously amazing. Enough to feed 4-6 people!!”
 of 5 bubbles BLQNDI, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5