We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crash Palace

Hostelworld.comUS$22*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Crash Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 322: English reviews
Start your review of Crash Palace
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights. 10 bed dorm is quite spacious, that's a big advantage. Free lockers, even 2 desks in the room. Free pasta night on friday and pancake on sunday morning. Free tea and coffee as well. Definitely recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agni2013
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago

Free wi-fi all over the hostel! The beds were very comfy...the bedrooms and common areas are clean enough and well-maintained. Great amenities. Loved the free coffee! ^_^ The daily treats (a free meal, beer, fun games) were always something to look forward to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JemYanzon
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for a month working for accommodation. The place has a good atmosphere. They have organised events most nights. They have a bar which means that you can't bring your own alcohol into the hostel. It's mostly quiet by 11:30 which is always nice. Wi-Fi is the best that I've experienced in hostels. It works everywhere without fail....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NatalieLouise2112
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is located in the centre of the town, about 3 min walk to a supermarket and 5 min to the bus stop for the domestic busses. The hostel is clean, tidy and provides coffee, tea, sugar, spices and oil for free! They also have a pool and free, unlimited wifi :) The only thing I think can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I booked by phone and the guy who helped me was very friendly and eager to help. Great service to start! I arrived too early for check-in, so they offered a place to store my bags, but since I had only one small bag and my car, I chose to keep the bag in the car and explore the town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianInAuckland
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Hey thanks for the thorough review i appreciate what you have said here and will oil the doors tidy up a few things around the place now i am back on my feet. we have almost come to the end of the famous pallet of horrible poo paper thank goodness so we are looking at alternatives as we speak !...

Placerville, California
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Can't find any fault with this hostel. The staff were really friendly, beds were comfy, kitchen facilities were adequate, and they do your laundry for you for a cheap price. Alcohol is fairly priced in the bar, and that hot tub was a plus during a cold and rainy night. :) and oh yeah, I can't believe they have FREE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate what you have said here re surcharges however please let me explain a little, booking sites lock you into match the same price and they can take up to 22% of the booking total. yes there is 3 % surcharge for booking on line using booking apps this is...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed in one of their single rooms. I have to say, this maybe one of the cleaneat backpackers I've stayed in. I was surprised by how clean the bathrooms were and the common area. Staff is friendly (though everyone in NZ is) and also helpful. Rotorua isn't great for people who don't rent cars. But the staff are able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aparna J
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

thanks for the kind words hope you have a great trip safe travels.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

It was a really good stay. The staff were really nice, I won a free nights accommodation by winning killer pool, and there was a free BBQ the next night. The beds and dorms were nice and the bathrooms clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Cheers for taking part in what goes on in the evening, congrats on the free night we always like to give back to our guests and our community. We live by the fact that our guests make the place we just provide the space. Safe travels to you

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We were welcomed very warmly by reception staff who were very friendly and accomodating! The room itself was upstairs and great. Not too noisy and the double room had a lot of character - the bed was very comfortable! Seemed to be a lot of activities available to people staying which would be good for a longer visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Appreciate the kind words safe travels to you!

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 21 March 2017

There is absolutely nothing to complain about this hostel. The location is perfect, for 4 $ they do the laundry for you and eve fold it (this kind of service is not common in Nz), yoy DON'T HAVE to pay for the wi fi who actually works very well. The room are clean and spacious, as well as the toilets....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marta73_11
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, Travellers love us cause we have travelled ourselves, we know what we enjoyed in the places we stayed and we know what we hated. We reduced the amount of people we could sleep to give each person space to breathe we got new mattresses and nice pillows because after all its the bed you pay...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
4:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
684 reviews
1.6 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
758 reviews
0.3 km away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#23 of 57 in Rotorua
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $37 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crash Palace staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crash Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“10 bed room is still good to stay, lot's of space!!”
agni2013, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that's near the kitchen....for convenience :)”
  • View from the outside
  • View from the outside
JemYanzon, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“double room 19”
, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want internet, don't take room 18”
Pixxidix, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the top floor to avoid noise”
, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$22* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$48
Agoda.comUS$42
Booking.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates