We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crash Palace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crash Palace
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Start your review of Crash Palace
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked by phone and the guy who helped me was very friendly and eager to help. Great service to start! I arrived too early for check-in, so they offered a place to store my bags, but since I had only one small bag and my car, I chose to keep the bag in the car and explore the town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianInAuckland
Placerville, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't find any fault with this hostel. The staff were really friendly, beds were comfy, kitchen facilities were adequate, and they do your laundry for you for a cheap price. Alcohol is fairly priced in the bar, and that hot tub was a plus during a cold and rainy night. :) and oh yeah, I can't believe they have FREE...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in one of their single rooms. I have to say, this maybe one of the cleaneat backpackers I've stayed in. I was surprised by how clean the bathrooms were and the common area. Staff is friendly (though everyone in NZ is) and also helpful. Rotorua isn't great for people who don't rent cars. But the staff are able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aparna J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a really good stay. The staff were really nice, I won a free nights accommodation by winning killer pool, and there was a free BBQ the next night. The beds and dorms were nice and the bathrooms clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Cheers for taking part in what goes on in the evening, congrats on the free night we always like to give back to our guests and our community. We live by the fact that our guests make the place we just provide the space. Safe travels to you

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were welcomed very warmly by reception staff who were very friendly and accomodating! The room itself was upstairs and great. Not too noisy and the double room had a lot of character - the bed was very comfortable! Seemed to be a lot of activities available to people staying which would be good for a longer visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Appreciate the kind words safe travels to you!

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is absolutely nothing to complain about this hostel. The location is perfect, for 4 $ they do the laundry for you and eve fold it (this kind of service is not common in Nz), yoy DON'T HAVE to pay for the wi fi who actually works very well. The room are clean and spacious, as well as the toilets....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marta73_11
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, Travellers love us cause we have travelled ourselves, we know what we enjoyed in the places we stayed and we know what we hated. We reduced the amount of people we could sleep to give each person space to breathe we got new mattresses and nice pillows because after all its the bed you pay...

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Comfy living area with DVDs and games, small but decent kitchen (with free pasta at reception!) cool pool table and spa, decent rooms, great outdoor space and good vibe, can't go wrong!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max L
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the review safe travels to you

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Older female staff member was really rude on several occasions. They charge a 3% charge for all transactions on card, can be a real pain especially if you were arriving early and didn't have cash on you. Also charge another 3% on top of that for online bookings. Bathrooms weren't very clean. Definitely doesn't give off the vibe that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for your review its a pretty bold Statement their buddy that we don't bother with our guests or give a crap about your stay. We provide the space you make the place, so if you had a bad time you made it that way with your bad attitude! We don't charge you 3% this is a bank charge called...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Rotorua stinks, The Crash Palace doesn't. Friendly, helpful, informative staff, clean well stocked kitchens and comfy bunks are just some of the good things. I stayed on Thursday and won the pool comp and got free accommodation for the night! Sweet as bro! Chur! Free Pool table, spa and huge BBQ are some more cool things. The joint is licensed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James J
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Cheers for coming to stay Guys hope you have a massive trip through NZ s. We are licensed (cheapest prices in town though) and there is a liquor ban in the city so we have to remain in control of the alcohol this is a good thing for those that don't want to drink, they are not subjected to intoxicated...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night but would of stayed longer if it wasnt sold out. The room was big,clean and lots of windows. Wifi works like a charm! They have a cool bar and spa area. The only place we want to stay when we're in town. Also its super close to everything and free parking in front!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingpenny01
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words we appreciate you coming to stay ! Sorry we couldn't accommodate you the second nights. Safe travels to you.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
4:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.6 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 km away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 55 in Rotorua
339 reviews
0.7 km away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $35 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crash Palace staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crash Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double room 19”
, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want internet, don't take room 18”
Pixxidix, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the top floor to avoid noise”
, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spacious mixed dorms. Would try for one with windows which can open.”
cupchip, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“6 bed dorms were quite good”
, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5