We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Show Prices
#37 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tui Oaks Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2014

We stayed at Tui Oaks on the busy weekend of the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge. On the way up to Taupo from Wellington our car broke down and we had to be towed to Taupo. We called Tui Oaks and were kindly told it was no issue if we had to check in late. When we arrived the tow truck... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julz F
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner as we are visiting from Australia. The views from our room were great, the rooms were simple but clean and comfortable for a nights stay. Sadly the staff or whoever was in charge couldn't even greet us when we checked in/out & upon check out and I quote "you can go now" after taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra l
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I went with my family and it was amazing to booked that apartment. No doubt, was clean and tidy. The only thing is that they have got portable heaters, instead of heat pump which keeps little bit warm to the room. Apart from this, all was good.

Helpful?
Thank jhotika_narayan
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

What a lovely stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor, what breathtaking views of the lake and the snow capped mountains, just awesome. The rooms where very clean and heaps of space. The bed was very comfy - very impressed. The owners were very lovely and welcoming and did well to accommodate our needs. I would recommend others... More 

Helpful?
Thank shonstir
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I rarely have occasion to stay in motels but I needed somewhere to stay on the Saturday of Anzac weekend and not having pre booked anywhere I tried the Tui Oaks because it is virtually next door to the Jolly Good Fellows Pub and Restaurant which is a favourite of mine when in Taupo. The lady at reception was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank lonekaurilodge
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
329 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Tui oaks is nothing special, other than good view of the lake. The rooms are quite small. We got changed to a 1 bedroom room due to a plumbing problem in the studio room we had booked. The bedroom was very narrow, making passing by end of bed tight. The female proprietor was pleasant enough, but can't say same for... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwiCzech
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Yes I was a bit grumpy, but then I had good reason. You don't mention that you were booked in for one night and went out at 8.30 the next morning and didn't return until 3 pm then proceeded to check out. You were well aware that the normal checkout time was 10am. We attempted to contact you by email... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed one night after long drive from Auckland, owners couldn't have been more welcoming and lovely, nothing too much trouble, we had a two bedroomed apartment with good facilities, fine for one night. Our room was on ground floor behind stairs and looked onto pool.

Helpful?
Thank snow47
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. More 

Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The motel is well situated with views from the front units over Lake Taupo. We had an upstairs one bedroom unit with a view and a workable kitchen, and a ground floor studio unit at the back, which had access from the room to the outdoor pool area and bbq. The pool looked like it needed a major clean, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We were disgusted to find dozens of tiny dead insects resting on the tissue box which was mounted onto the toilet wall. When we informed the receptionist, she gave a cold response saying that it won't bite us! However, she did come to the room to clean out the insects. The hair dryer was also blowing out a few tiny... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sing1112
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

We get very few negative comments so we were surprised to receive this one which is a bit unfair. I agree with your comments about the insects on the roller blind. I check all the rooms personally and the fault is all mine, I put my hand up for that. But as to poor cleanliness, perhaps you should read some... More 

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and never again. Our first night was in a ground floor room which was very noisy, due to heavy trucks on the road during the night, we woke many times. I complained to the owner the following morning, so she gave us another room at the back of the hotel which was very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
tuioaks14, Manager at Tui Oaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

There are often two sides to a story. We apologised at the time and apologise again for this fiasco, but we think you didn’t help your situation by your own actions. A) Credit card numbers declined B) Didn’t communicate with us with regard to later check-out or that you were returning later. C) Room empty of guests’ possessions D) Empty... More 

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.4 km away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 km away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#34 of 71 in Taupo
52 reviews
0.6 km away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#51 of 71 in Taupo
16 reviews
0.7 km away
Great Lake Motel
Great Lake Motel
#33 of 71 in Taupo
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tui Oaks motel is an eighteen unit motel, set 700 metres away from downtown Taupo along the lake front. From the four storey front block there are superb views across the lake to the mountains at the other end of the lake. There is free off street parking and restaurants and shops within easy walking distances. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tui Oaks Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tui Oaks Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher rooms have excellent views”
 of 5 bubbles 228Traveller, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in 400 series upstairs have fantastic views of Lake Taupo.”
  • View from upstairs room. You can't get any better!
  • View from upstairs room. You can't get any better!
  • Room 401 bathroom
  • Room 401 bedroom
  • Room 401
 of 5 bubbles darrenmasters2016, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a top floor room for the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles dik928, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake front room. The view is awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles 790stuartp, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best views are from the lake facing front units”
 of 5 bubbles 365raewynb, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay