We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Great internet access at this hostel to upload all your sky dives and Bungy jumps! The bar next door is really fun and the club across the road is packed all the time! The rooms are small but the bathrooms are amazing for a hostel the showers were so powerful and really new! Would come back defiantly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_212013
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for leaving a great review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels across New Zealand :) Base Crew :)

Trier, Germany
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Pretty clean all the time with incredibly friendly staff, especially Vicki. Really comfortable beds and mattresses. Great location means everything is nearby the hostel and a pretty chilled bar is provided too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Base Taupo. You rated your stay as 10/10 which is fantastic and exactly what we would hope for. We agree, Vicki is a fantastic asset to our amazing team here in Taupo and we are thrilled you had a great experience with us. We hope to welcome you...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed at Base Taupo for a week and had the most amazing time. All the staff were super friendly and would go above and beyond to make sure i had the most enjoyable stay. My room got serviced on a daily basis and the cleanliness of the hostel was amazing. The bar downstairs offered affordable and delicious food to fill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us, which is exactly what we would hope for. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels across NZ and hope to welcome you back to beautiful Taupo again soon! Happy...

thai
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

I check in overnight, they welcome me but they give ear plug to me too. Seem surprise for me. But it need. My room is above pub, music so noisy. If you need deep sleep, I'm not recommend. Room is quite small for 4 person in dome. Bathroom doesn't have hair dryer. Good point is near bus station and restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puntarik a
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey, we value your comments submitted. I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to...

Krabi Town, Thailand
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Recently booked myself in for 2 nights here, and after one night I was hooked and booked myself another 2. Would highly recommend this hostel to people on a budget but that still want something nice. Found all the staff to be really friendly and helpful, made me feel right at home. Particularly the bar manager Sarah, who went above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susannah D
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I was particularly pleased to read that you rated your overall experience as 10 out of 10!! So, It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would...

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I decided to book into this hostel as it worked into my budget and is central to everything. On arrival I was greeted by Vicki who was really friendly and really helpful, nothing was to much trouble and she really went the extra mile in any queries we had. I was told there was happy hour on Friday night -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenTravels87
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I was particularly pleased to read that you rated your overall experience as 10 out of 10!! So, It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We stayed at Base Taupo during our Kiwi experience tour. Base in general can be very hit and miss but Taupo's staff tipped it over the edge. When we arrived and checked in we were greeted by a bored looking guy who looked at us as if we were bothering him. We booked through hostel world and as standard they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlyBrisc
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. Here at Base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service our staff provide. Regarding the hostel cleanliness, we have a professional company clean all of...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Base all over New Zealand and This was by far the worst. The room was located above a night club which was so loud and therefore I struggled to sleep at night. The room was so dingy and small with the bed in front of the window and walls painted black. The staff had real attitude problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pip C
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I noticed in your response that you noted that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room and overall and with the friendliness of the staff which was not good to hear. Here at base we strive...

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Good hostel in a central location in Taupo. Lots of bars and restaurants around. The staff will give the options that go best with your wishes. Also they have a lot of deals going every night for the bar next door. Very easy to book extra nights and especially Pete from reception was very helpfull. Would definitly recommand this hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. I am thrilled that Pete was able to help you and be sure to pass your...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I've gotten stuck in many Base hostels because of limited availability. Usually they are my last option, and that is mostly how I ended up here. Base is always overpriced for what is offered and this location was no exception. Wifi costs extra, check in is very late into the day (in this case 2pm) and you can never bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherinenb
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I noticed from your survey response that you were not particularly happy with the cleanliness of the hostel, which is bad news for us. Here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get onto 3rd floor is possible. Get your own room.”
pamm391, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for wifi”
Tropical0792, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake!”
Justina1989, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views,clean,large,”
Verbara, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Positive good vibes makes the world go round here. ^_-”
Alec002, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5