We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Family Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Family Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Family Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My partner and I stayed at this Budget Motel after a long drive from the North, we were very tired and just wanted a clean comfortable place to sleep on a tight budget. On arrival the owner greeted us very friendly even after we arrived much later then confirmed. The room was a good size and we got everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoysOnly
Hamilton
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Arrived by myself, owner seemed ok at first, before become rude and impatient. Room had gaps in the doors and was cold. Still old food under the beds, obviously not vacuumed, and it wouldnt suprise me if the sheets had not been changed due to the state of them. Bathroom was grimy and needed to wear socks in the shower......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emwilson1
Zipper1952, Owner at Family Motel, responded to this review

The customer has a whole raft of complains. We are sorry that she was not happy with the motel. Our price are the amongts the lowest in town. Taupo is an expensive town, a bit like Queenstown. Motels in e.g. Rotorua are a lot cheaper. We feel that the the customer compared us with upmarket motels, and we have no...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I arrived at the Camellia Court Motel in the evening after having found its advertisement in a travel guide, although from memory the address was wrong and the name was different in the advertisement, but it was still the only motel I found on Tonga Street, and the prices/rooms matched what had been advertised... Nevertheless as I was on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robol
Zipper1952, Owner at Family Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that we had a run in with her. I am sorry that I didn't see the humor in her imaginary friend. We remember what happened after that. We felt hurt because we were made fun of, and should have swallowed our pride, and should have allowed the customer to walk all over us. The customer seemed very...

NZ
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Also known as Camelia Court Motel. The room was booked months in advance only to get a call the night before we were due to arrive to be told that we would have to shift rooms during our stay. This was disappointing given that the room was booked so far in advance. To add insult to injury, we were accused...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bennyandchelle
Zipper1952, Owner at Family Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry we had a misunderstanding. We didn't mean to to be rude. I know I have a very broad accent, and that at times comes across as being rude. We started on the wrong footing and it is all my fault, I know. Sometimes we have a disagreement with a customer, or the person asks for something...

Auckland
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Our family have stayed at this Motel a few times now, the rooms are lovely and clean. The children always enjoy the beautiful playground with an added bbq area. The thing that impress us the most would be the friendly and helpful owners of Camellia Court, nothing is ever a problem and they would do anything to make your stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoysOnly
Auckland
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We would like to express our thanks to the staff and owner/s of Camelia Court for a most pleasant 3 day holiday last month. This is the 3rd time my family has visited Camelia Court and we were pleasantly suprised by the recent upgrades that has been instituted. One of these is the marvelous play ground that has been built...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anneliedjie
Wellington
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This place is also known as the Camellia Court Motel. Stayed there on route to another town during recent family holiday. A classic case of being oversold by the internet site. At $170 for a 2 room motel you would expect more than flith, grime everywhere and rubbish down the back of the beds. My family doesn't mind "cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hmuffin

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
285 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.8 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#57 of 69 in Taupo
139 reviews
0.8 km away
Barcelona Motel
Barcelona Motel
#62 of 69 in Taupo
77 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Family Motel

Address: 50 Tonga Street | PO Box 795, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Number of rooms: 34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Family Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good value for money”
evagnz, 2 Mar 2014 | Read review
“motel rooms are clean and comfortable, recommended”
RichardM446, 9 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Pick the back ones, away from the street!”
RichardO252, 4 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3