We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Karaka Tree Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Karaka Tree Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Karaka Tree Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Concordia, Argentina
Reviewed 7 January 2015

booked the double room with jacuzzi. it was less than nzd 140 and its exellent for comming back from Tongariro Crossing. You dont wanna go outside, just cook yourself something in the great kitchen it has, plus little fridge and all you need, and then nothing but relaxing in the great jacuzzy music, and cold drinks! highly recommended, free parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brunito21
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I would not go back here it smelt of old cigarettes, the bathroom floor was rotting and lifting away from the dated shower, no bath mat provided, the spa window area was rotting surprised windows still in place, everything was dated, for the price it was not worth it at all, dirty and chipped dishes. This place needs a total...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TraceyHanna24
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Soo disappointed. Pictures made it look really nice. Picked this motel because of the spa but was really let down. The Nets were ripped, mirror wall was filthy, and the worst part was the walls and roof were covered in mould, the paint peeling off and the window sill rotten in places. The toilet wouldn't flush, you had to hold...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ariana S
New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

Friendly owners welcomed us and gave us DVD player and kids DVD, supplied portacot, nothing was a problem. We all enjoyed the mineral pool morning and night. Spacious with separate room for kids. Good basic affordable older accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OscarTheTraveller
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Huge disappointment, worst stay ever in Taupo. Dirty toilet. Dirty kitchen cupboard. Nothing done about extremely rowdy guests in the complex. Wonky ironing board. Manager was unresponsive to my complaint about the unit, not even an apology or enquiry about details, just disinterest.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CTOIT
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

Afternoon, we have just received your review and would just like to say that my husband did apologise to you in regards to your comments the next morning when you made a complaint. If we get told about things when you check in we are more than happy to rectify problems straight away but if we do not know untill...

Reviewed 9 December 2014

I had the worst experience.the spa was not cleaned and had all the yucky stuff around the filter. Sliding door was disgusting and seems like it has not been cleaned on months. Pantry door in the kitchen was missing.paid $185 for this room and it was waste of money.would never go back nor would i recommend anyone to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaziyabegum
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this review

So Sorry about your stay, we are in the process of improvements and renovations here. With the Sliding doors you were referring to they do get cleaned, the marks on them are actually Mineral from your spa which are impossible to take off and when kids are in the pools like like to splash around and the mineral is constantly...

South Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2014

I stayed here over night on the way to Hastings and thought having a hot pool in the room would be great, so decided to stay here rather than another Taupo hotel I had previously stayed at and enjoyed. The pool was disappointing as you couldn't empty it between 9 and 9 so really didn't get the enjoyment out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariaj3
Moraira
Reviewed 19 November 2014

We were assigned a large unit worth 2 beds and bathrooms with disabled facilities. It was comfortable but all very old and tired looking. It could have been cleaner. There were squashed Mosquitos on the walls and the windows were dirty. We didn't use the spa because of the grittiness factor. On the upside the staff were nice and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julietyjuan
northumberland
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Lovely clean comfortable studio containing all the basic needs for 1-2 people, loved the spa bath. Good friendly service would stay again. Excellent value for money. Only negative point no lake views and thought it was going to be nearer the town centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debblos
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Spent a night there we had two rooms between two families. Unfortunately room number 1 didn't have a working door and we only found this out when we got back to find our room unlocked. THank goodness nothing was taken. THe rooms are dated and the dishes look dirty. We found an old receipt in the draw from July laying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank banana8789

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#30 of 71 in Taupo
194 reviews
0.9 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 71 in Taupo
262 reviews
0.9 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Phoenix Resort
Phoenix Resort
#42 of 71 in Taupo
21 reviews
0.4 km away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#33 of 71 in Taupo
241 reviews
2.2 km away
Great Lake Motel
Great Lake Motel
#31 of 71 in Taupo
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $97 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karaka Tree Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One upstairs as downstairs units can hear people walking around.”
 of 5 bubbles larry1811, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room closer to the concierge for a better wifi signal.”
 of 5 bubbles Aji2206, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs room was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles shaz3264, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I think the rooms at the front could get some road noise and if you don't like stairs you may wish to ask for a downstairs unit.”
 of 5 bubbles OzFr0g, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If mobility a problem ask for a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 1811027Scott, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay