We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

Booking.comUS$86*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$125*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Lakeland Resort Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lakeland Resort Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Stayed for one night in a standard triple single room. Clean room, nice shower, very comfy beds and pillows. Staff were friendly & helpful, pool was nice & restaurant was good. Only one gripe, and that was the people in the room next door with the screaming child at 3am that kept us awake for an hour, if that hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments about the property and staff. Sorry you were disturbed by other guests, unfortunately this was out of our control. We look forward to hosting you again for another one nighter, or more.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the taupo summer concert with friends. While this place was a little too far from the centre of all the action it was lovely, clean, comfortable and affordable. Reception staff were friendly allowing us to check in early. The pool and tennis court looked inviting but we didn't have time to take advantage of these. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine l
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We aim to please and whenever we can allow an early check-in we do. The staff enjoy looking after our guests, I am so pleased you were able to use some of our facilities, next time come back and use some of the ones you didn't get a chance to...

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

The Interior of the queen room was a little dated, but it was tidy and large. It was a Good price and there was a nice girl at the reception. I Would go there again as for the price it was good. They also had a spa pool and sky in the rooms. So overall happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blair R
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Nice location, friendly staff, nice affordable breakfast buffet, quiet at night, comfortable beds, clean rooms. However, very hot in the summer - only a small low powered wall fan to cool the entire room - needs proper A.C./heat pump. And WiFi reception was spotty, and speed was very slow during peak times (6pm-10pm).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kieran776
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great you came to stay with us and experience our Hotel. The Wifi is getting an upgrade, because it's unlimited and Free, it gets a lot of use and doesn't cope with the volume. So pleased you ate at our Buffet Breakfast and enjoyed it, do come back and try again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Old lady at reception was rude and condescending (although the young girl was helpful). They gave us a triple single room after we booked for two adults and a child. When we asked to change, she said we shouldn't have booked the cheapest room and charged us an extra $10. Although the website gave no indication that it was three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nckbrdfld
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property, its just a shame you chose the wrong sort of property for your needs. We clearly advertise in all different forms of our advertising that we are a Hotel, which means that we do not have any kitchen facilities in our rooms - therefore there are no plates etc. Sorry...

Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

The staff was very nice. The room was quite roomy. Toilet was super clean and new. Not too far drive to get food. The night we stated was raining, couldn't try the swimming pool. Have a huge tennis court too. Couldn't connect to free WiFi cos too many ppl were using it at the same time. We had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amykyle
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, we love hearing how great the staff and property are!! (I will pass this on). Now that our busiest time here in Taupo has passed our WIFI is able to keep up, come and try it again as it is Free and Unlimited and Fast.

Havelock North
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The reception are is far more impressive than the rooms to be fair, but the rooms are a good size and very comfortable. Restaurant was great, amazing views and had a very nice dinner here and a buffet breakfast the next morning also very nice. Staff were very good, went the extra mile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmb535
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, it's great you used all our facilities and that the staff looked after you well. I will pass on these lovely comments to them as they try hard to please our guests.

Punaauia, French Polynesia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We came to that place on a one night only stay in Taupo on our way to Wellington and I must admit the place even if needing some renovation is great staff was nice and realy helpful, room was tidy and bed comfortbale and we had a superb weather on Lake Taupo that morning. Will come back again when in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

It's great that you took the time to review the property and lovely that you had a great time in Taupo, our staff love giving hints on where to go etc. We hope you come again to stay, and enjoy more things that Taupo can offer.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Good place for families. Clean, all good facilities. Pool, spa, laundry facilities. Food good for the price. No complaints and happy to stay again, staff very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Good all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55skippy95
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time and expressing your satisfaction while staying at the Lakeland, I will pass this on to all the Team members and congratulate them for their attention to our guests. We look forward to you staying again with us.

Waitomo
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I like lakelands so much i stay there everytime i visit taupo. The rooms have everything you need, including giant tvs! The bathrooms are light and airy. It is always clean and the staff are very friendly. Its situated on the lake so you can easily walk around the lake and into town, and even has a pool and tennis...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobelly
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for telling everyone how great the place is, we like to think we try our best.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.9 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 69 in Taupo
161 reviews
2.0 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
2.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
257 reviews
0.2 km away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
378 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $97 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wellington, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Was fully booked and noisy...”
HaljoHal, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor away from stairs.”
Manni154, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from any tour group rooms, and an upstais is the preferred”
SteveG988, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good to be honest from what I could see. Maybe you want to get a downstairs room if you prefer not to use stairs.”
168tyrellg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper level units would have a better view but I think you need to walk up stairs to get there.”
RayandSue68, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$96
Hotels.com
HotelQuicklyUS$125
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates