We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Lake Taupo

Show Prices
#7 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Lake Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,708: English reviews
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We got an upgrade to 'room' 441. One of the best which was actually 5 distinct areas; a separate bedroom, a dining area, a sitting room area, a well stocked kitchen including washer and dryer, and a balcony with a table and 6 chairs. And a beautiful view of the lake and the mountain beyond. Check in was great. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank HughDonovan
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Hotel is well positioned for great views of the lake and mountain. The pool area and gym facilities are some of the best I have seen. The staff are very attentive and overall service was Fantastic. I Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Outpostafrica
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were here only for one night, and because the weather was shocking, it tainted our experience of the whole place. Yes the facilities are top notch, but I found the staff a bit chaotic. Probably due to the fact there was a large contingency of McLarens enthusiasts milling around the front foyer and the driveway, I couldn't get my... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhoebeNix
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few nights while exploring Taupo. The hotel is very pricey, but we used Hilton points for the reservation and then were offered an upgrade to a 1 bed apartment for a nominal fee. We gladly accepted and found ourselves in a beautiful and large apartment overlooking the lake and mountains. The hotel is beautiful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColoradoHighlander
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear ColoradoHighlander, Welcome and thank you for staying at Hilton Lake Taupo. It looks like you are having an amazing time both here in the Central Plateau and travelling around Aotearoa. I appreciate your detailed review and your highlights regarding pillows and equipped kitchen areas in our luxurious and spacious apartments. The team and I will be improving on these... More 

La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was perfect for our family. We booked a one bedroom apartment that was very spacious. The master bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was a good size. The view of the lake was outstanding. Pool area was well maintained and was a great place to relax. Only complaint was that the kitchen could have been better equipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank SDiego5
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear SDiego5, We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor following your very recent stay. Our one bedroom apartments continue to be an amazing space for families to enjoy their time with us and we are pleased you had a wonderful time accommodating and relaxing with us. Your feedback regarding the kitchen utensils is duly noted... More 

Upton Bishop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent pool. Comfortable room (we had a "small suite"). Good food in restaurant. Plenty of parking spaces. The hotel is far enough away from a busy but quiet road within ten minutes downhill walk of the lake. The shops and eateries are another fifteen minutes level walk.

Helpful?
Thank John H
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear John H, Welcome to New Zealand and thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Lake Taupo. It is with pleasure I read through and see you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed your stay. Your 5 out of 5 review is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back next time you may be visit... More 

TAUPO, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The level of personal service was not affected,and/or reduced in anyway when the hotel was full by virtue of the visit on Sunday night by the McLaren Supercar Epic Tour of NZ; what a sight the 32 McLarens lined up in the garage offered; this spectacle together with the very best prawn, lamb and steak one could wish for ...... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Database P
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear Database P, As always, a complete pleasure of ours to have you accommodating and dining with us following your stay last month. Each and every time we receive one of your reviews, it is always humbling to know that is with outright honesty and therefore second to none for other Trip Advisor users to base their thoughts on before... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge. The hotel is brilliant and service excellent. My boys loved the pool and our room was incredibly spacious and clean. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sarahwO9385OJ
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear sarahwO9385OJ, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. What a spectacular event to be apart of. The Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge continues to be a huge success and we here at Hilton Lake Taupo are proud to be apart of this amazing annual event. We a pleased you all had a wonderful stay with us and you were... More 

UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in the original part of the building (the ‘Heritage’ wing) and had a lovely view over Lake Taupo towards Tongariro NP. Although there was also a balcony this was immediately above the restaurant. A large bathroom with double shower unit and a very deep rolled top bath – lovely to soak in after a day of hiking but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMarpleInc
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear JMarpleInc, I am pleased to see you were happy with your accommodation and you had a comfortable stay with us. Your review has great details and points for fellow travellers to read through and obtain before visiting us. We do our utmost to ensure all of our guests valued and we are passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences. I... More 

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just stayed the one night as I have before. The room had great views of Lake Taupo and the mountains of the central plateau. Wonderful heated spa pool. Nice friendly bar and restaurant with staff offering a very friendly service.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank PaulD17230
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Dear PaulD17230, The team and I are pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your overnight visit with us. It is a fantastic time of the year to take in the impressive views from the property and I am glad you took the opportunity to enjoy the guest facilities on the property. Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you... More 

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (475)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (209)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
445 reviews
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.4 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
135 reviews
2.1 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#5 of 71 in Taupo
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $198 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Lake Taupo staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Lake Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose between distance lakeside view or over the swimming pool and gym”
 of 5 bubbles 89JohnH, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid heritage wing if you want to get good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Duncan74, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on top and second top floor for lake views”
 of 5 bubbles Quiet-Pair, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs apartments (have elevators/lifts) its worth the extra for under ground secure parking, easy access to/from car to room.”
 of 5 bubbles Ingie272014, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake facing rooms for fantastic sunsets.”
  • Sunset from room 141
 of 5 bubbles 622alexp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay