We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Taupo

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

714 reviews
Save
Traveller (173)
Room & Suite (57)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hot pools”(156 reviews)
“private pools”(26 reviews)
“family pass”(11 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Special Deal: Save on Activity tickets
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (714)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
315
247
69
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
315
247
69
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsprivate poolsfamily passbedroom motel unitfree entrycamper vancamping groundthe kitchenhot springspowered sitefacilities were excellenttoilets and showershilton hotelholiday parkunderfloor heatingmain bedroomsingle bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
191 - 195 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Of the holiday parks we stayed in on our 7 nights in NZ, this was the worst. Facilities are extremely old, dirty and run down. We actually preferred to shower in our camper than in their facilities. Overpriced for what you get. Think the draw...More

Thank age_83
Response from DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa ResortResponded 29 May 2016

Hi age_83, I’m glad you enjoyed the mineral baths and slides. We are constantly improving and updating our facilities to make our guests more comfortable. We have a total renovation planned for our ablutions block in the next few months as we do recognize this...More

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We were very impressed with the villa - very spacious for 4 people and a wonderful view. The only negative was the noise from the room behind which went on until midnight. If noise wasn't an issue the place would definitely be worth 5 stars....More

Thank Bev P
Response from DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa ResortResponded 10 May 2016

Hi Bev, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you were impressed with our Villas, they really are great rooms :) We are very sorry about the noise from the nearby room. We were informed about the issue and we took action to mitigate the...More

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Family weekend away. Perfect room for us. Stayed in the cabins with a bunk and king bed. Room had a tv with about 4 movie channels which was great for a family stay. Had a small kitchen which was good for self catering so we...More

Thank Jennifer E
Response from DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa ResortResponded 8 May 2016

Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for your feedback. It makes my day that you had such a great time here. I hope we can accommodate you again very soon. Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 4 May 2016

It was a real treat to have the kids frolic in the pools and the slides on the last day of the holidays - in the middle of an Indian summer 10 degrees above normal. No complaints at all re swimming facilities but after 3+...More

Thank thethreeofus41
Response from DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa ResortResponded 5 May 2016

Hi thethreeofus41, Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear the kids had so much fun in our pools and on the slides. Our Savour Café upstairs has a great selection of delicious cooked meals available from 7:30am to 1pm every day. After that...More

Reviewed 3 May 2016

We booked 3 Villa's for ourselves, our children and our grandchildren - cost around $900. Pros: The rooms were lovely and the beds really comfortable. Lovely views, underfloor heating in bathroom and good heating with a heat pump. Cons: We arrived around 6pm in the...More

Thank TwinkD
Response from DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa ResortResponded 5 May 2016

Hi TwinkD, Thanks for your kind words about our rooms, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the confusion with the pools cost. We do offer room deals with pools included in our range of packages, however we don’t pass on...More

PreviousNext
13738394041137
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (173)
Room & Suite (57)
Pool & Beach (34)
Dining (15)
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Family and Play Areas (10)
Bathroom (5)
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-Serve Laundry
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite