We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Te Moenga Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Te Moenga Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Te Moenga Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 17: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Pete was operating as a one man band over easter weekend and he was an excellent host. True personal service from the moment we arrived. The lodge is offers incredible views and well kept gardens. There are all the facilities you could need such as a BBQ and pool, sun loungers etc. Highly recommend you book this place before word...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy X
Piripi_NZ, Owner at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

It was great having you here to stay and experience this great region. Hope to see you again sometime. All the best. Phil

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2016

To say our stay at Te Moenga Lodge was perfect would be an understatement. From the second we arrived Phil & Cheryl were gracious hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the Chalets, which were well equipped, generously sized and extremely comfortable. Waking up to the breathtaking views each morning made it difficult to leave to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelmodeEngaged
cherola64, Manager at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you with us. Best wishes Cheryl and Phil

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2016

5 star luxury with such thoughtful hosts who have out their heart into turning around this B and B. Our only complaint is that we were so nurtured, we didn't want to leave. We extended our stay to continue to relax and savour the stunning views from our chalet and the pool. Our hosts even picked us up when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian1612
cherola64, Manager at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we're glad you enjoyed your time here so much. We look forward to seeing you back here one day soon. Best wishes Cheryl and Phil

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We had an amazing stay at Te Moenga Lodge! We were lucky enough to be some of the first through after the renovations. We stayed in two of the Chalets which had all the facilities you could ask for. The views were spectacular, the surroundings peaceful and the pool was great. The hosts really made our stay a memorable one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichiePez2016
cherola64, Manager at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We really enjoyed having you here to stay and we're happy that your stay on such a special occasion was memorable. Best wishes, Cheryl and Phil

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We made full use of the Chalets and found them a wonderful, secluded spot to enjoy a relaxed few days. Views are stunning. Pool was great on a hot day. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable about the what to do in the area. We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richie5150
cherola64, Manager at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It's good to know you found Te Moenga Lodge peaceful and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We were lucky to find this gem on its opening with new owners. This is our first holiday to NZ and we've travelled from the top of North island through the South Island and this was by far the best lodge we have stayed in. the views are incredible and it must the best view of lake Taupo their is......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keithmcw
cherola64, Manager at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here at Te Moenga Lodge. We're glad your stay was relaxing and that you found our place here as peaceful and as special as we think it is. All the best for the rest of your travels

Vientiane, Laos
Reviewed 27 March 2015

At the time of our visit, the lodge was advertised as for sale. Clearly the owners have lost interest. While the location is magnificent, the rooms are rather dated, and not really clean for that matter. What really hurt was to see the very nice gardens totally neglected. What a shame! The "hosts" did not bother to great us or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frielink
Piripi_NZ, Owner at Te Moenga Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Frielink. Just to let you know someone did buy and after 7 months of renovation work we have reopened. Take a look at our website photos www.temoenga.co.nz and if the opportunity arises we would love to host you again and provide you with a more positive experience. All the best. Phil & Cheryl London

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.2 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.7 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
448 reviews
5.3 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,775 reviews
11.9 km away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 39 in Taupo
238 reviews
5.0 km away
Amori Lodge
Amori Lodge
#5 of 39 in Taupo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Moenga Lodge is a special place to stay located in Acacia Bay, Lake Taupo. Following extensive renovations, the lodge opened to guests in January 2016 with new owners and hosts, Phil and Cheryl London. The lodge accommodation provides the comfort and relaxation you'll need after a day of action and activity around the great lake area. We have suitable accommodation for weekend travellers, couples on a getaway, tri-athletes, cyclists, skiers, right through to families who want somewhere to base themselves and explore. We aim to provide our guests with a feeling like this is your home away from home. Plus, the views really are something to behold. So whether you're looking to unwind for the weekend or seeking adventure with the family, Te Moenga Lodge is a fine choice. We welcome you to our home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Moenga Lodge

Address: 60 Te Moenga Park | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $144 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Moenga Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Te Moenga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Moenga Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a chalet which was very spacious and could have accommodated 3 people.”
 of 5 bubbles Concordant, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A view over the lake would be good, but all rooms are very acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles Flossybarker, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best views, amazing hospitality, outstanding breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Hilrossiter, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The far chalet is the most private but all rooms look good.”
 of 5 bubbles Marian1612, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Grab a chalet for a bit of extra privacy and ask about the fishing tours with Fred!”
 of 5 bubbles Richie5150, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay