We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Armitage

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Armitage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Armitage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel has real character - wood panelling throughout hints at a luxurious past - but badly needs a lick of paint, modernisation and a good clean. There were empty beer bottles on our balcony, plug sockets in the room were a bit grimy, and our shower blew hot and cold. On the plus side, we appreciated free tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights on a work trip. I'm usually booked into a higher star of accomodation. Overall dated, but clean accomodation. There was a rain storm on the last night of my stay and I could hear a drain pipe gurgling which kept me awake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the noisy drainpipe disturbing your sleep, we will try our best to look into this matter.

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding. Food was nothing to rave about. The pork on the spit ended up being stringy pulled pork as the person carving it had not idea how to carve he just ripped the poor thing apart with the tongs think he even used a blunt knife to hack at it at one stage. Roast potatoes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul f
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Wow. They say it's three stars. I haven't stayed in such a dive for years, possibly since I was a university student. I have stayed in DOC huts that have been nicer. I don't write negative reviews as a rule - however, this one deserves it. This place is so outdated - it really needs complete refurb. The rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mmmmmm345
Hotel_Armitage, General Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review

Thank you for your very graphic review, we are very sorry that you did not experience a pleasant stay with us. Please rest assured that we underwent an extensive seismic upgrade last year and we are now an A grade earthquake strength building.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Our company paid $384.00 for a SINGLE occupancy at this Hotel for one of our Drivers. He has stayed here several times before (when we cannot find accommodation elsewhere!). He was told by the Receptionist "not to touch the Beer Fridge". Excuse me??? Having paid nearly $400 for a room, how do you know this gentleman has not been given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobnPuff
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would love to know some more information regarding your drivers stay so I am able to look into this issue further. Could you please email me at info@hotelarmitage.co.nz with the date he stayed with us? It sounds like he may have been staying in one of our three bedroom apartments at that rate as our standard rooms...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I just love staying at the Armitage Hotel. For some people it may be a little old and too much wood panelling but it just feels so welcoming when you walk through those doors. The Armitage has been my hotel of choice in Tauranga for nearly 15 years and it has never let me down. The rooms are always clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePaperMan
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so glad to call you one of our regular guests and we hope you continue to visit us in the future.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel its near the mt monganui ,the town is not far just walking distance some nice shops The room was basic and price ok ,there was a kettle and a small amount of coffee and tea no milk ,the fridge has drinks but they are exspensive ,buy your own in it's cheaper.we had a car and went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loretta f
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My business booked us in to this Hotel for a couple of nights.I found the rooms very spacious for a hotel as most are usually quite small.Very friendly staff especially Guru, and Margaret. As for the owner David he was exceptional, Thank you David for a fantastic stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl606
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

The building is a bit dated, some things aren't perfect and it doesn't have the latest and greatest gadgets. BUT it is well priced, central, friendly staff and our room was CLEAN with a heat pump to boot - fab for hot Tauranga nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Free car parking & free in room wifi. Quiet spacious rooms. All just a bit outdated & "Nana-esque" but clean & tidy. Easy walk to waterfront restaurants & cafes. Friendly staff on the desk. Free coffee & tea in the foyer for guests. Would have packed swiimwear if I had taken notice that there was a pool!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess8888_12
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this review

Hello Jess, Thank you for your pleasant review. We appreciate your positive comments on our facilities and service and hope to see you again in the future.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
296 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
502 reviews
0.4 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
120 reviews
3.1 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
279 reviews
0.5 km away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled conveniently in the heart of Tauranga's CBD, your ideal inner city accommodation. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is located only a 3-minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main center in Tauranga. You'll find Tauranga's vibrant nightlife and great shopping at your doorstep and of course Mount Maunganui with its renown white sandy beaches is only a short leisurely drive away. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a charming 3.5 star Qualmark rated, 24 hour service hotel offering the discerning traveller comfortable and spacious hotel accommodation. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking* to make your stay feel like a home away from home. The Poolside Restaurant situated on the ground floor offers an international fare of tastes and flavours using the Bay of Plenty's abundant 'fruit bowl" as some of its core ingredients. Other facilities in the hotel include the Clipper Lounge Bar with a grand piano and a pool table for socialising. The swimming pool and outdoor area is a fantastic place for relaxation. Swim a few laps in the large pool, soak in the spa pool and find a nice lounger to recline on with a cool drink. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a great venue for your next Tauranga conference or event with five function rooms to choose from each with different points of difference. Our professional and friendly conference team are happy to assist you with making your event a success. Send us an enquiry about our competitive rates ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: $108 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Armitage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room on the 3rd floor was good”
 of 5 bubbles ltanton, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It doesn't look much from the outside but well worth a stay.”
 of 5 bubbles robynwaynet, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1st floor, because walking down that grand staircase to the lobby is just delightful!”
 of 5 bubbles ZafNZ, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles 750graemec, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the Conference Centre. Lots of smoker activity outside in the car park, could affect rooms nearby”
 of 5 bubbles AlecW_11, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5