We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Motor Inn

Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (9)
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
Cnr Cameron Rd and Harington Street, Tauranga 3001 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Golf Course
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Price range
US$110 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 nearby hotels
Quest on Durham
151 reviews
.11 km away
City Suites
340 reviews
.18 km away
Harbour City Motor Inn
200 reviews
.25 km away
Strand Motel
42 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 448 nearby restaurants
Coffix
70 reviews
.31 km away
Momo Teppan-Yaki
163 reviews
.33 km away
Macau Bar Kitchen and Lounge
441 reviews
.32 km away
Rye
218 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 183 nearby attractions
Hairy Maclary & Friends Tauranga Waterfront Sculpture
205 reviews
.39 km away
The Elms
91 reviews
.55 km away
Tauranga Art Gallery
99 reviews
.21 km away
Tauranga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
67 reviews
.27 km away
Reviews & more
108Reviews
22Photos
0Q+A
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 32
  • 17
  • 17
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This has got to be one of the biggest rip offs I have had in the past few years. This place is a dump and had the gaul to charge us $180 per night, even though we were a group of 6 women and had 3 units for 2 nights. Everything about the place was in poor condition. Granted the p
Read more
Response from nemich001, General Manager at Durham Motor Inn
Responded Jul. 20, 2018
Thanks for your review, A little truth would have been good though, your room were all charged at a discounted rate of $160.00 per room per night and not $ 180.00 as mentioned. The quest next door for the same room is $215.00. We are rated 3.5 star as the motel is in its current state and our rooms are absolutely spotlessly clean. There are certain circumstances as to why the revamp which was scheduled for last year did not go ahead but with our awesome new owner its happening in Aug. We are a city center motel and that is what determines our rates, we are pretty much very well priced compared to our oppositions around us and our prices must be good to obtain a year round occupancy of 95% with heaps of awesome reviews. We would love to host you guys again after our revamp has happened
Read more
Worst place I have ever stayed, disgustingly rude owners who insisted to lecture me on having no parties and that a group of classic car enthusiast were staying the night so if they complained about the noise they would have to ring the cops and kick me out ..... all while I was
Read more
Response from nemich001, General Manager at Durham Motor Inn
Responded Jul. 20, 2018
Thanks for your review, when you guys arrived you came screaming in with your cars and music blaring, when you came to reception you were greeted in a professional manner but when I tried to tell you about our terms and conditions you absolutely went ballistic screaming and shouting and all in front of your kids, we could see your kids were very scared, I again tried to tell you about our terms and conditions and you became even more violent and then started using abusive language and i kindle informed you to watch your language as you were on CCTV.. The other group of people who were also checking in could not believe what the saw and heard and all said why the hell did we accept your booking, we should have sent you away, and they were very nervous about staying here as the feared for there safety and under the circumstances we regret ever allowing you guys to stay we should have sent you away. We are extremely professional managers and treat everyone the same and we have a job to do and that exactly what we were doing trying to tell you about our term and conditions to no avail and also all our spa baths were working just fine.
Read more
I stayed at this place while attending a wedding with my extended family. The moteliers were rude racists and discriminated against us assuming we were going to party all night. He made threats and assumptions. I’ve never been treated this poorly in my entire life. I wouldn’t rec
Read more
Response from nemich001, General Manager at Durham Motor Inn
Responded Jul. 20, 2018
Thanks for your review, It would have been nice if you could have told the truth, lies lies lies and more lies. You guys came screaming into the motel with music blaring and yelling and yeoying from your car. When you came into reception you were welcomed and in a nice and orderly manner, we asked you the purpose of your visit and told you we just wanted to go through our rules and regulations with you and you immediately became very defensive and on no less than four occasions did I tell you that I needed to tell about our rules and regulations. We are not the racist ones, you guys were, after all we are only doing our jobs and nobody else has a problem with our term and conditions, only you guys. I never came to apologize as I never had anything to apologize for. we get judges and lawyers staying with us all the time for court across the road and they never ever act in the disgusting manner in which you did. Our CCTV cameras are here for our and our guests protection and you were told to watch your language as your kids were right here witnessing everything and our CCTV cameras could also pick up everything Our biggest regret was actually accepting your booking, you were obviously tired from driving and were extremely grumpy. All our spa baths were working just fine if you had to come and ask we could have told you how to operate them. The other group of people could not believe what they witnessed, they actually apologized on you behalf and were so sorry that we had to endure this type a racial hatred. Because of your racist behavior we had no choice but to black list you throughout NZ
Read more
I booked a room for one night for a friend who was going to One Love. Nice single room. My friend ended up finding other friends who were staying at another hotel and wanted to stay with them. The couple on reception were so kind and helpful and allowed us to cancel the booking a
Read more
needed a motel for an overnight stay for a funeral, was only 135 for room, was not expecting much,
the room was plenty big enough but was very tired, but overall value for money.
the location was perfect as it was walking distance to restaurants etc,
very noisy at night try for
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
The spider web!
Bathroom
Interior looking out
Interior living area
nice spa
Previous
12
"Don't go here!"
"our room was on harrington street , lots of road noise"
"Do not stay here"
"Great Location, Central"
"Loved the spa in the room,not sure all units have them"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing