We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Trek Global

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Trek Global
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Start your review of Trek Global
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you need to stay in the city with all the services and close to the mayor attractions, this is the hotel, it is very economic and the staff is always helping to the guest. The bedrooms are decent with the necessary furnitures... :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arq. Gloria Ama... H
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been in some backpackers in Wellington and this is one of the best. The common areas are very clean, the kitchens and bathrooms are very well and clean too. It's very organised by colors each floor. I really enjoyed staying there. Peopla and Staff are very friendly, the beds are comfortable and it's in wellington central. Wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge R
Bogota
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is a good place, is near to the library and the street principal.The staff is friendly, the hostel is clean and there is very good information about activities, the chicken is small but there many stuff for to use.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YoliB912
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was a comfortable, clean and cheap place. It's in the city and you can find close all like clubs, bar, restaurants, waterfront, beach, shopping, bus, etc. The people who works there is friendly and the have free wi fi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina R
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was average. Room was average. Bed was uncomfortable unless you like sleeping on springs. We used our own bedding instead of what was supplied due to its unclean appearance. Great price for location though - definitely advise booking their parking as there is no free parking on the nearby streets. This was the worst accommodation we stayed at in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara-and-Dylan
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst place we had stayed on our travels in NZ. The location is great and the staff are friendly, but that's about it. Good location, close to buses, shopping, bars, supermarket and Cuba Street. The building is divided into a number of different sections with their own kitchens and washroom facilities. However, It is noisy and hot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therichpeasant
TrekGlobal, Assistant Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review

I’m so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay. Did you bring any of these concerns to the attention of the receptionist? We do enforce an 11pm curfew to keep the noise down, our kitchen facilities are cleaned three times a day and we do what we can to provide enough kitchen supplies for our guests. Your...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Your average hostel of a decent quality. The staff is friendly, and the hostel is designed with good intentions. I did feel that the guests staying there during my stay were grouped up, inconsiderate, and not tidy at all. The location is great, and the 11 PM curfew is quite well enforced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barsegh
TrekGlobal, Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trek. We do have alot of long term stayers here at Trek Global and this might be what you were exposed to but we apologise if this made your stay uncomfortable. We try as much as we can to accommodate for everyone's needs. We are glad to hear about the 11pm curfew being...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Overall it is not too bad, but the room was really small for 4 people and the building is certainly not very cozy (multiple floors, many small rooms, almost no windows anywhere, fairly minimal facilities). On the brighter side all spaces were kept very clean all the time, the staff is nice and the meeting room is also pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter3286
TrekGlobal, Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

We apologise that your stay was not comfortable. As Wellington is quite compact, unfortunately the structure of the building was designed before it became a hostel. We are glad to hear though that the facilities were clean all the time, we pride ourselves on cleanliness and good to hear our housekeepers are doing a great job! Thank you for your...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring Wellington. We were put in a wing which seemed as though everyone there was long term workers and we were the only backpackers. This meant that there was no fridge space at all at any point, we never had anywhere to sit to eat our meals because there was just one table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
TrekGlobal, Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Andy, We apologise that your stay was not what you expected. We strive to give all our guests a pleasant experience. We enforce our 11pm curfew as much as we can and move our guests that have been drinking, out of the hostel as fast as we can so everyone can get a restful sleep. Again we apologise if...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, central location, but although I had an en suite,it was right next to the communal kitchen area, there was a fan that kept coming on, all,in all it was rather noisy. I wouldn't recommend to anyone over the age of 30! To be fair it was a proper back packers hostel, and did exactly what it says on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueWad
TrekGlobal, Guest Services at Trek Global, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you for your review of Trek Global. We apologise for the noise of the extraction fan. We will have this looked into have hope it can make for a more enjoyable stay for future guests. That's great to hear about the staff, we always strive to give our guests the best experience.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
798 reviews
0.5 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,177 reviews
1.0 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trek Global

Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $23 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trek Global staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Trek Global staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“retreat area (quiet area)”
L2692JDelisabeths, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find a better place if you can afford it!”
brkrishnan2016, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Purple - quieter floors, Blue/orange - best for socialising, red - cheapest”
Fell4NZ, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I liked the top floor but it's female only”
22merelh, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Close to lots of transport.”
HUZISADVENTURES, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5