We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Wellington
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of my North Island tour with Haka Tours. Staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. In a 4 bed dorm with bathroom. Spacious room with plenty of space for luggage. Beds were actually quite comfortable, as were the pillows. However, the usual hostel problem of experiencing a mini-earthquake when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EG27
Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a double room. The facilities are amazing for a hostel. The kitchen was large and well equipped, but most importantly it was spotless. The bathrooms were also very clean and modern. Location wise it was again great, with Te Papa a short stroll away and Cuba street a similar distance. I would bot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hostel close to the water and right across the street from New world. There are two kitchens, they could use some more and new equipment but they have space for everyone and are pretty clean. Rooms were nice. But it was annoying that you held a bottom bunk for a person that didn't even show up so one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wawawa7
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed 4 one night but staff was so helpful with my travel arrangements and even excellent restaurant recommendations. Great location as usual with yha hostels as far as proximity 2 what folks in transit require. Even the itinerary adverse like me get it sorted out quickly thanks 2 yha.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldtrailbeast
Torrance, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location close to activities and within walking distance of restaurants and bars. Some rooms have private bathrooms. You must clean up after yourself - like removing the sheets after your stay is finished.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This YHA hostel was comfortable and clean, with plenty of room in the shared spaces, and a warm and welcoming staff. The location not far from the harbor and the CBD made it ideal for wandering around and taking in a few downtown sights. We were only there for one night and a bit of the next day...wishing we'd been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YS H
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was excited to finally be in New Zealand and YHA was a great start. I chose this place due to location and because of the reviews. This was my first time using a hostel and being in my 40's I was concerned about being a fish out of water. As soon as I walked in and saw the varying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouieAZ
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the cleanest hostels I've been to. The dorms were immaculate and had a great feature - lockers with USB and electric sockets in them. Never been to a hostel with that before. So convenient. Kitchens were spacious and well stocked with lots of dining space. Bathrooms were very clean with straighteners in the girls bathrooms! An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzy H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Izzy Have you ever considered reviewing for a living? It makes me very proud reading your comments and seeing how impressed you were with our facilities! I’m really pleased you enjoyed all the extra amenities on offer here of which are routinely maintained so yes they do work! We’d be blessed to have you back again in the future...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A large city youth hostel with good facilities. The rooms are a decent size with each dorm bed having a locker and plenty of plug socket. As in most YHA hostels you are provided with a locker but no lock, so if you are worried about security, bring a padlock. The room we stayed if also had a desk, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familyoffiveonhols
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for your review and having your family come stay here with us! It’s certainly wise to travel with your own padlock but if you do turn up without one, New World sell them for $5 just over the road. I’m delighted there was no disappointment and wish you all the best for your onwards travel. Kind Regards Rik,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay in the hHa in Wellington. The staff super friendly and hostel amenities clean and tidy. I stayed in a dorm room , and the beds had a extra power socket which was great lockers and storage available but at a cost when u check out !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roz H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this review

Hey Roz Thanks for your review. It’s nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loved meeting you and I’ll let our housekeepers know you appreciated their service also. With being such a large property it’s difficult to provide free storage for everybody but the lockers are an inexpensive alternative ranging from $1 for 2 hours up to $6...

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
640 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
699 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.2 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share en-suite rooms to our deluxe private en-suite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $31 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor is noisy if windy.”
 of 5 bubbles Jancrow4, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the harbor!”
  • Harbor view from the fifth floor, and the New World market across the street.
 of 5 bubbles UXfun, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are more desirable except for wind noise.”
 of 5 bubbles elsner2016, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid the rooms near the elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles 875reubenc, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location abd good views from the top floors on the waterfront”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5