We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

West Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
West Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the West Plaza several times for interest group meetings and pleasure. They have great conference rooms with modern equipment and good sized rooms for relaxation. They are close to entertainment, museums [Te Papa], restaurants, bars and shopping in the middle of the city. Their by-line is "Location, Comfort, Style" and the hotel lives up to this....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that you have enjoyed your time at the hotel and will return. You have summed up our hotel perfectly, we are a mid-range value for money property in the heart of Wellington. Your comments help us to continue to deliver great service and we look forward to seeing you again....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here late December with family in a triple room. The initial room we were allocated smelt dreadfully of cigarettes, even though it is a non - smoking hotel. On mentioning this to reception we were promptly shifted to a room on another floor. It appears that the guests in the next door room had been smoking in their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MezzyMay
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel and the Duty Manager. We have a great team of helpful people at the hotel and it’s nice to see feedback like this, we appreciate it. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Great location. Reception staff on arrival not too engaged. Room ok but not the best quality bedding. All of that not too bad but exceptionally noisy throughout the night. Should have asked to be moved but after the first night it didn't seem worth it and hoped the next night would have been better, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well and that reception staff could have been more friendly. As you can see from the many positive reviews regarding the staff this is not our usual standard. I will pass your comments onto the front office team to make improvements. We are a mid-range value...

Malaga
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Right opposite the i-Site office this hotel was convenient for us to stay for 2 nights before getting the ferry. The rooms are typical of average hotels anywhere in the world. The room and bathroom are in needs of redecorating. However it was averagely priced with an ok breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousMalaga
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it’s good to hear that the hotel was convenient for your needs. We are a mid-range value for money accommodation option located in the heart of Wellington city. We agree that its handy to have the i-Site located directly opposite the hotel. Thanks again for your comments. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I stayed with a friend in a twin room. On initial viewing the room looked fine but there was only one plate and it was dirty, only one set of cutlery and only one chair. We really needed a full length mirror too. The beds themselves were fine, big enough and comfortable. The bathroom let it down the most, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammynicholls
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your detailed review about the facilities at the hotel. On check in we did provide you with 800mb of complimentary Wi-Fi, most of our guests find the complimentary 800MB satisfactory for a 24 hour stay. After this amount is fully used we do offer an option for unlimited Wi-Fi at a reasonable price. We...

Auckland
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Got a great rate at the West Plaza and the staff are great - helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms are fine - well sized, come with standard amenities, not noisy, comfortable bed. The bathrooms could do with a renovation but that's a minor point. And the location is just fantastic. What really let the place down was the state...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryJM88
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel. We also appreciate your feedback about the Wi-Fi and are sorry that it was not working as it should have, we agree it must have been very frustrating. We have contacted our supplier to investigate what could have happened and will...

Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is close to restaurants, shops, wharf and the museum, all walking distance and great to visit. Comfortable rooms, super friendly staff who'll make sure you have a great stay. Great breakfast too. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliani_Australia
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel and that the friendly staff made it a great stay. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Nice big clean well thought out room, good sized bathroom, good location, would definitely consider staying again, would have given 5 stars but parking was very very tight, difficult to manoeuvre into and out of, and I have a small car

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel. We do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Just returned from visiting Wellington with my family, three adult daughters and our elderly parents. We had two rooms which were clean, spacious and very comfortable. We were very happy with the service and the location couldn't be better. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ribs300
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments, it’s so good to hear about your experience at West Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your feedback about the hotel location and the rooms. Thanks again. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

After staying a very good hotel last year in Wellington we thought we would try another closer Cuba St and Courtney Place as well as the waterfront. West Plaza Hotel was suitable for all. Reception and staff were very friendly and professional and did everything they could to help. Our friends staying with us in a room next door said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback, it’s so nice to hear that your enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel and that the friendly reception team could help. We also appreciate your feedback about the amenities and the eager housekeeping staff and will pass these comments onto the Housekeeping team to make improvements. Thanks, again Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
0.6 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
765 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,388 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $126 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would contact West Plaza direct to book”
 of 5 bubbles Rachelann08, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“North facing rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No, all seemed bog standard”
 of 5 bubbles AnonymousMalaga, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor and heard no sounds at all.”
 of 5 bubbles coling6, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 301 is at the front of the building and has a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles nigela133, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5