We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Wellesley Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights as part of our 5 week trip across both North and South islands. First of all the travel maps do not have Maginnity Street on so finding the place is a challenge especially after 5pm when the information places are shut. We asked about dinner for the first night only to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PaulBmusicman
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. That is unusual that your map did not have our street on it. Maginnity street is a very old Wellington street so I am surprised it was not on there. I am sorry about the fire alarm going off at 3am. We had a very nervous bride staying with us...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Saturday night stay - quiet old world charm. Clean and well-appointed rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were given a swipe card to get back in should we get back after hours. Well located for the railway station and cafes and bars a two minute walk away. We highly recommend Dillingers on Lambton Quay. As it is located in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernlei
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our unique ambiance. We hope you had a lovely birthday!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed couple of nights here. Staff helpful and lovely spacious comfortable room. Bathroom beautiful with clawfoot bath, shower and his and her sinks. Location excellent, near everywhere. No complaints

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olddht
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again if you are ever back in Wellington

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived around 4.30pm with all our kit as we had to return the hire car. We were helped in by a young girl on reception by no other assistance. She booked us in a then showed us to an antiquated lift to travel to the fourth floor. The room 403 was airy with a high ceiling, shades of past glories....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Unfortunately we have tried to have the cafe open in the weekend but we found it was not cost effective due to the weekends being the quietest time of the week. The reception team have many great suggestions for quality cafes in the immediate area. We are a category 1...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Still tne grandest of Wellingtons Hotels - slightly faded but enough quality fittings to lift it above the rest. Service is great . coffee superb and bed comfy. The restaurant serves up a great meal as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bustedblonde
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you were as taken by the grand old building as we are. We are very proud of her. Yes she does need some more love and attention, especially in the common areas and we are working with Heritage NZ to get to work on that. We have renovated...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel at 7 PM on a Saturday and the doors were locked and the restaurant closed. I waited for 45 minutes for someone to exit the hotel in order to be able to enter. As it turns out, the hotel left my room key in an envelope at the front desk. They had sent an email...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sean p
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry this happened. It is our procedure to send out the after hours notice when the booking is made, I will follow this up. There is a button on the side of the door labelled for emergencies only, this takes you to our night manager. We also have the night managers mobile number on the door. Once...

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

While this is a beautiful looking hotel with great room sizes, its quite tried. The rooms are dated, and the windows are nit double glazed which means that street noise can become an issue. The bed was very comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently working with Heritage NZ to look at changing the windows, as it is a category 1 heritage building we are not allowed to make changes to the outside of the building but hopefully we can come to a compromise with them. I'm glad you found the bed...

Maidstone
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Had 2 nights here just after the earthquake at a weekend. Given a lovely big room with high ceilings and a bath with claw feet. Very comfortable and in a good location in CBD. No breakfasts as it was the weekend so we ate out. Staff very helpful but no one around after 7pm. Be careful to take your key...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As we are a boutique hotel we cannot afford to have the reception desk manned after 7pm but I'm glad you got hold of our night manager who lives onsite to let you back in.

NZ and London
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We arrived at 9pm, when reception was closed and it was dark outside. Armed with instructions on how to enter the building, we desperately fumbled around, using our mobile phones to provide light to try and see what on earth we were doing. After what seemed like a lifetime of trial and error, we finally got in. Surely there must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetenCarole
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that you found the instructions confusing for the lock box on the front door. i will revisit the procedure to see if we can make it simpler. I'm not sure why the lights were not working by the front door, they are programmed to come on at 7pm....

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Stayed here over the weekend. The in-room information describes how the hotel is being progressively modernised. We stayed here 1 year ago and were impressed by the quality of the fit-out but this time we were given a smaller room and the fittings are already starting to look a bit tired ( e.g. the flush handle on the toilet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Stephen E, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm sorry that the flush handle on the toilet was loose I have made sure our maintenance man has checked all the handles. As we are a 13 room hotel we have never had a night receptionist, our reception hours are 7am - 7pm. We do have an onsite night...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#29 of 46 in Wellington
58 reviews
0.2 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,716 reviews
0.3 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
764 reviews
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,025 reviews
0.4 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $169 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“can be a wee bit noisy so back rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles bustedblonde, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 401 has a massive bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles AlanW221, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face street so all the same but just different sizes and facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles adrienneo147, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a change of room at the first instance when you see it's not what you have expected.”
 of 5 bubbles 200imeldad, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I beileve all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles M2130HHbrians, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5