We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Agoda.comUS$91*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$91*
Great Deal
US$98*
US$98*
US$91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wellesley Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We had booked into the Wellesley for 2 nights while staying in Wellington. This hotel is old and shabby and the staff were unhelpful and on the verge of being rude. We had a misunderstanding about the lack of parking facilities as soon as we arrived because one member of staff seemed unable to explain things clearly. On asking about...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank SJHDSH
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Yes the Hotel is old (almost 100 years in fact). We work very hard to keep it up to a good standard. We are gradually upgrading the building within the constraints of Heritage NZ. We have completed the entrance way, two function rooms and the Grand Dining Room. We...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome by very nice young lady who took us to our room with the scenic old Otis lift. We had two different rooms during our 3 nights stay due to a supplementary night we took. Both rooms were nice old British style with wooden furniture and beautiful old style bathroom well maintained. High quality towels and toiletries. Most comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and trust you enjoyed visiting Wellington. We are proud of our Hotel and our staff and do our best to look after our guests. We are pleased you appreciated the charm of our Heritage building which is nearly 100 years old....

New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Reception hours are frustrating. They close early and open late (especially on weekends) and staff we spoke to were not particularly helpful. We requested a payment to be taken from a credit card presented on arrival and instead it was charged to a different card. When we queried the error, pointing out that we requested payment to be made on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Z374DXjen
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you had a bad experience at our Hotel. This should not have happened. Our staff are well trained and we generally receive excellent comments on all our staff. We are investigating your complaint with the staff member concerned and we do apologise most sincerely. We are also investigating how your room was missed for service. This...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Went down to Wellington for the Military Tattoo and this was the only hotel we could get accommodation 6 months before the event! $430.00 per night was very costly for us and we expected something special. The hotel is old which is nice in a way but the paint is peeling off the walls, the room was close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fieryred33
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed the Tattoo. Wellington was full to brim and overflowing for the whole weekend. We are sorry you felt that you did not receive value for money but be assured we do our best to look after all our guests. Yes the Hotel is nearly 100 years old and we are gradually upgrading it within the constraints...

Christchurch
Reviewed 18 February 2016

My wife and I stayed in this hotel overnight as we had travelled to Wellington to watch the Edinburgh Military Tattoo in that city. When I booked, the manager was most helpful. A few weeks prior to our arrival I had asked that as we were arriving there at about 9am and check-in wasn't until 2pm usually, if our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxChristchurch
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and positive review. It is nice to know that our staff are polite and helpful. Your comments are much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Wellington and that you enjoyed the Tattoo and your visit to Wellington. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Wellesley Boutique Hotel in the...

Wellington
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

A special occasion night away in Wellington. After booking we were advised that the only room available had a small leak which was caused by the shower above so the room was then offered at 1/3 of the advertised rate to us as well as the offer to be accommodated somewhere else. Well the leak was minor, the staff looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellors
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments. We are proud of our staff and are pleased you found them helpful in what was a difficult time for them. I am glad you enjoyed your evening and that it wasn't spoilt by our "leak" problem. Regards, Kathleen Guest Relations

new zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We had a confirmed and paid for reservation and 2 weeks before arrival they cancelled our reservation due to what they called maintenance issues. Wellington very busy and we could not find suitable alternative accommodation.they offered us a room discount if we would take a room with a leak in the ceiling.you must be kidding. Complained and they tried rebook...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewZealandWino
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I have been advised by the hotel management that a leak developed in the room you were booked in. It was minor and able to be occupied. The manager did not want to close the room entirely as Wellington accommodation was totally booked out. The management offered the room to those booked in it at a substantial discount which the...

Sun City West, Arizona
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This hotel has a lot going for it with a central location within easy walking of the CBD and wharf area. The building is old and the rooms are quite beautiful. The real shining stars of this place are the people - Kathy, Lucy, Meagan, And Paloma went out of their way to make our visit first rate. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne B
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Anne for taking the time to review our Hotel. Yes, the Hotel is old being built in the 1920's and is a Category one Heritage building so has restrictions on what we can change. Many guests really like the ambiance of the well preserved interior. We are sorry that you found the noise of the Council rubbish collection...

Orpington
Reviewed 15 January 2016

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were just able to find a parking space nearby. Note these have two hour time limits everyday between 0800 and 1800. Parking is free at weekends but the two hour time limit still applies. We were politely greeted by the receptionist and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RossOrpington
Kathleen B, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. Re your comment about parking. Unfortunately when the Hotel was built nearly 100 years ago no provision was made in buildings then for cars. Unfortunately city parking in most countries is difficult. Our hotel does have a space in a nearby car park building for a fee. Re wiFi....we are currently upgrading our...

Waipukurau, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We enjoyed our weekend stay at the Wellesley. The rooms are lovely, in a style of old school grandeur but recently refurbished. It is QUIET (which is a real find in central Wellington) and reasonably priced for the standard. Great bed, nice bathroom, excellent location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LTozz
KathleenWBH, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. It is nice to know that our efforts to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and that our Hotel meets their expectations on all aspects. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Kathleen Guest Relations

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,375 reviews
0.4 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
817 reviews
1.1 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,820 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#21 of 46 in Wellington
119 reviews
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity Street | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $134 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the rear tend to be quieter, but it is in a relatively quiet street for the CBD.”
, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms are very small”
754patriciamr, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Would try somewhere else”
Holidays1217, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front of the hotel for light but not the top floor.”
309christopherb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“can be a wee bit noisy so back rooms are good”
bustedblonde, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$98
TripAdvisorUS$91
PricelineUS$92
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates