We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

This hostel is smaller than any other in Wellington and has a general home free, which is nice. I had no issues with the kitchen and the lounge area as it well maintained and mostly clean. The rooms themselves are comfy but a bit cosy. Being a male I booked the wrong dates and we arrived a day early however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Overall we didn't like it here. The young guy who worked here was lazy, unhelpful and generally absent. The place is very 'backpacker-y', loud at night and lots of people who don't know how to clean up after themselves. The kitchen was grubby and quite unpleasant to use, lots of dirty plates and not very good cooking equipment. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lukehodson123
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Luke Hodson, thanks for staying with us. We have improved the wifi and it is fast and unlimited. There is always a free computer you can use. There is free parking close by in the coupon zone. It is free every day from 4pm to 10am the following morning. It is also free in the weekends from 4pm on...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2015

I was a bit unfortunate because I had to stay under the washing room and people didnt stick to the washing hours, so it was difficult to fall asleep at night due to the operating dryer and I woke up with the same noise cause the hostel is doing their washing in the morning hours. In general, the staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123Kola_k
London
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I only stayed for a few nights here but the real difference that set this hostel apart was the friendly staff, free wifi and homely feel. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice addition. Bathrooms were adequate and clean, kitchen was bustling with people. There is a lounge but the dining room table is a bit big for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10_Downing_St
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed here 1 night on our way through Wellington. The room itself was clean and nice, although on the smaller side. The kitchen was quite messy and the bathrooms as well (wet towels lying on the floor, etc).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahh_scotty
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Backpacker well situated, clean and appointed. Big double room with a sink and several furniture for our styfs. However kitchen and dining room too little for so many people. Wifi is free but really too slow : for us is like it was inexistent (access to our blog impossible so nor to send photos). It’s not correct to say “free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pépite D
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your review. I am certain you will not find a better double room in Wellington for the price. In regards to dishes we are installing a camera in the kitchen to address this issue. It is unfortunate we can not lock off the kitchen after 10pm. The internet will be faster as...

Reviewed 25 November 2014

I was living in this hostel almost two months. It was my first experience with long-term stay in a backpacker and honestly this time outmatched my expectation! worldwide was really my second home! Friendly and heplfull owners who support you with looking for job. Cozy and tidy rooms, homy lounge with big TV, lots of clean bathrooms, huge kitchen encloses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jitka H
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I was so lucky to have stayed here for 6 months it's was defiantly a home away from home and so lovely to have an instant family on arrival. As with any backpackers I you have to be pretty outgoing to navigate though language and cultural barriers but if you make the time I find most people are pretty accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkallday
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

To be honest, I really didn't enjoy my stay at this hostel. I was originally booked in for 3 nights but decided within 2 hours of being at the hostel that I wanted to leave earlier. Starting with the good points: Firstly, Wendy was fantastic, she's a lovely lady and really goes out of her way to help you out....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meghan B
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Meghan Thanks for staying with us. We have recently had some long termer's but most are now leaving. We no longer have a weekly rate so over summer there are not many long term guests. We try to keep the kitchen clean and have enforced this a lot more. It does get busy over summer and there is a...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Really cool place, honestly. It's apparent the owners go above and beyond for the guests. (Many thanks Andy and Wendy!) Free breakfast every morning, large TV room, free computer/internet use, WiFi, place gets cleaned daily. PRIME location with easy access to some of the best areas of Wellington. Cuba St, Sunday Vegetable market, Waterfront, CBD...whatever you're looking for is only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jas165

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#14 of 46 in Wellington
606 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1.1 km away
Base Wellington Backpackers
Base Wellington Backpackers
#16 of 45 in Wellington
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 45 in Wellington
525 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#9 of 45 in Wellington
392 reviews
0.3 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#13 of 45 in Wellington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the smallest backpacker in Wellington. W specialise in looking after our backpackers and ensuring that a friendly environment is had by all. If you are looking to meet people - then look no further!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Address: 291 The Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $30 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Wellington - World Wide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wellington - World Wide Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs rooms are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwisc0t, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask to stay away from the TV room and the outside patio if possible ie downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles jamesonw964, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Downstairs is more quite then upstairs :)”
 of 5 bubbles 668katharinab, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room 1 can be noisy at the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles RobReese, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Keep looking.”
 of 5 bubbles ranumrd, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay