We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2014

A wonderful place to stay in Wellington. Friendly staff, good prices, and an experience like no other. I live here for 4 months and loved every day of it. The rooms are a bit small yes, but what can you expect if your are living in a hostel dorm room. Andy and Wendy are lovely. Wendy would always offer to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AllenKellogg
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2014

I stayed at Worldwide for about 4,5 months. I have been travelling for nearly 2 years and I love small, comfy hostels that feel a little bit like home! Worldwide is one of those hostels and I can highly recommend it to people who want to stay for a while, enjoy life in Wellington and meet a lot of people....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katharina B
On the Road
Reviewed 4 September 2014

small cozy and clean, you will be welcoming by Wendy always taking care of the guests and Andrew always happy to partying with you ! definitely the best place I stayed during my one year in New Zealand.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romu51
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am coming close to my leave after 4 months of staying in room 3 with my travel buddy (which btw is a great room if you aren't afraid of heights!). I only planned on staying a few weeks but the house and the community of people were more than welcoming that I ended up staying here the whole entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinn T
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hostel is excellent, the owners Andy and Wendy are great and very welcoming. With only a dozen rooms its easy to meet people and a cool place to be. There is a good gym area downstairs to work out, the owner Andy is more than happy to teach you the art of burpees a great exercise that works the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebackpacker77
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A great hostel. Fact! I was only meant to stay here for a few weeks whilst searching for work and a flat in Wellington, but loved it so much I stayed here for many months. The owners are some of the most genuine, caring people you could meet and it's easy to see why many of the guests feel part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobReese
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed. If you're looking for a frat house, you've found it. But if you're looking for a nice clean place to stay, keep looking. The kitchen was a filthy mess both nights I stayed. Food on the benches and floor. Piles of dirty dishes everywhere. The bathrooms were equally dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ranumrd
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your stay was disappointing. I think the main problem here is having hotel expectations while paying a cheap backpacker price. I guarantee you will not find a better more comfortable room in Wellington for the price. The wifi works fine. If you had have approached us at any time during your stay we could have addressed...

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at Worldwide for several months while working in Wellington. It was one of my best decisions. Great staff and value. As the owner says "It's all about the guests!" Free wifi and breakfast and close to downtown and CBD. Really enjoyed my time there. Best hostel in NZ

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth_tatum
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The room we had was quite nice, the facilities are pretty good, and the location was really nice. BUT it was SO loud in there every single night with music playing, obnoxious people drinking and singing and laughing so loudly my husband and I could not get a decent night's sleep. It was like that Every. Single. Night. The sheer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AA M
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. This is a hostel and not a hotel so there will be some noise.It is also an historic building. This is reflected in paying a far cheaper price than you would for a hotel. The double rooms are very comfortable and you will not get a better room for...

Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

For me this was the worst hostel experience in NZ and if you have a car I will advice you to avoid it. The person at the reception advised my friend and I to park in front of the hostel. He reassured us that is fine. We arrived on a Saturday evening in Wellington and on Sunday the parking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
xavier77, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your parking problem. We had a new person working at reception who gave you incorrect information. If you have a New Zealand bank account number email it to me and I will put $40 in your account. He must have misread the email and thought the fine was going to be cancelled as on most occasions...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#13 of 46 in Wellington
226 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1.4 km away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#9 of 46 in Wellington
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.6 km away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#11 of 46 in Wellington
455 reviews
2.1 km away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are the smallest backpacker in Wellington. W specialise in looking after our backpackers and ensuring that a friendly environment is had by all. If you are looking to meet people - then look no further!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Address: 291 The Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $30 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wellington - World Wide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wellington - World Wide Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs rooms are more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwisc0t, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask to stay away from the TV room and the outside patio if possible ie downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles jamesonw964, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Downstairs is more quite then upstairs :)”
 of 5 bubbles 668katharinab, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Room 1 can be noisy at the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles RobReese, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Keep looking.”
 of 5 bubbles ranumrd, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5