We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is adequate in terms of its facilities but it could be done so much better. Everything is just a little rough, the most disgusting is the stains on the bed sheets. Last time we were in Wellington we stayed at The Cambridge which is pretty much next door and would definitely recommend staying there instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funnyfarmer1991
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. We will look into the stained sheets but all our laundry is washed daily , perhaps next time let us know and we just replace the stained sheet for you. If...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was super friendly and helpful, rooms were big, beds were comfortable and clean, bathroom was clean, and area was great. Just wish their were more than 2 showers per a floor! I would definitely recommend this hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heyhey12
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. Surprised to hear about the shower situation, we have on top of the large male & female bathrooms each floor also 2 single bathrooms with a shower on each floor. Enjoy...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The thing that annoys me most about the whole Base chain is that they advertise as cheap hostels but $32 for one night it a six bed dorm is actually really expensive. The duvets had stains on them and the bottoms bunks were so low you can't even sit up properly on them. Not the worst base I've been it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 08Kates
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. We will look at your feedback and improve our offering even further. Thanks and enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

It's a base hostel... it was quite clean to be honest, but it's noisy and beds are terrible. Good to have fun in and around Wellington, but wouldn't stay there longer then one night. The bar downstairs is good, but not really busy during the week, though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback, we have still a few of the older style bunk beds to replace but always aim to improve our standards. Timo Hummel

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Great hostel, I normally fear the worse with Base but the rooms were clean, the hostel was spacious and unique and the check in was quick and easy. We even got free Nachos! Best Base I've stayed in! Wish the others were the same!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Tom,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, love your unique .... Timo Hummel

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Stayed there for two nights. Service staff were Friendly and helped me with my questions. My Swipe card didn't work and was annoyed that I had to keep going down to reception to get it re programmed. Later I found out that was my fault as I had it stored with my other cards so the magnetic strips was cancelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny L
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great to hear you had a good stay, sorry about those room key cards , they are sometimes a bit of a pain. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Having seen some bad reviews here, my friend and I had doubts about our experience at Base Wellington. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the decent quality of the room and beds we were given. The staff were friendly. We did not experience any trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biplav P
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the kind feedback. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Overnight trip from Palmy to Welly to enjoy nightlife. Booked a single room with 3 bunk beds with 4 of my friends. So ended up sharing the room with 2 strangers. We had a lovely experience nonetheless. Their prices seem reasonable, customer service is good. Most bars are within walking distance too. Would definitely come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas S
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, if you come through again ask for the Family room, it has 1 Bunk bed and 1 x double bed & bathroom, sleeps up to 4 people. Thanks again, Timo Hummel

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I stayed a week in a female dorm, with four beds (bunks). The bunks are the old steel tubing type, so very shaky and squeaky. The room was too small for the bunks, and when all bunks are occupied this leaves no room for bags, packs etc, and stuff ends up everywhere. I wasn't in Wellington for leisure, so this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Megan, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our sanctuary rooms. The room have been recently refurbished but some bunk beds are due for replacement although all beds already received innerspring mattresses. Did...

Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

The room wasnt excactly the cleanest i have been to. The people at the reception were very nice however. Its alright for a couple of days. You couldnt open the windows which was a shame. A bit noisy too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart92
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Shame , next time let us know and we give the room another clean, sometimes it is hard to keep the room to everyone expectations if you share with 6 or less people. ( especially if...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
607 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
665 reviews
0.3 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,987 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 45 in Wellington
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $29 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“views from the balcony double room are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles totaldarkness, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“7th floor less noise from after hours pubs, clubs nearby”
 of 5 bubbles teariid, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay