We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last minute because we couldn't find a campground for our camper van. We booked a private room with ensuite bath room. They gave us some discount but still pretty expensive in my opinion. Room on the 6th floor was basic, clean and spacious. Shower is good! Wifi not included. The room was really noisey. Lot off noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoare
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your feedback, we did experience some pretty windy weather recently and apologize if this caused some inconvenience. Timo Hummel

Mount Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 December 2015

A few of the staff were very unfriendly and not welcoming at all. My friend was sexually harassed in one of the rooms and the hostel manager was extremely flippant about it offering no sympathy at all. Additionally the facilities are very poor and people staying long term are treated really badly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2346
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, very surprised to hear that this has been taken to the internet even though the victim decided not to take this further and reported to Police to avoid any more harm. This feedback has been reported to trip advisor, if they require a report, the harassment incident will be reported to police, we apologize to your "friend "but...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2015

in the city to meet people but not to sleep. very near the city centre and workplace. was not able to sleep with all the distraction though. location and price is unbeatable but if you need to look good for that job interview, think again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. I am glad you had a good time here although a good night sleep does help sometimes, right ? Unfortunately due to our location it seem hard to go to rest with Courtney place &...

Thailand
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in 4 beds dorm. Check-in process was fast. The kitchen is large ( like a college canteen) Location is unbeatable. However, the room is super tight and there was only 2 sockets for electricity, I was staying on the upper bunk bed so kinda uncomfortable for this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AomAmm
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Surprised to hear about the basic comment as we have the largest communal space & best priced for location in Wellington. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2015

I stayed there for a weekend, the room was super good, great view ( overlooking part of the city and the bay, loved it ) and really clean ( which is super good for this type of busy hostels ). They also have a pretty cool reception where you can chill and meet people while being on the wifi (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franck_pitart
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your good feedback. Timo Hummel

Ealing
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Booked in here online without any hassle & the welcome and service was excellent. Nice sunny clean and secure room with a view. Handy for nightlife, being round the corner from Courtenay Place. Laundry and kitchen well located on 1st floor - the speed of the lifts encouraged using the stairs (a good thing). In the basement I'd avoid the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenandtim
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback, we are always trying to improve our facilities and just working through refurbishments. Timo Hummel

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Base is a nationwide hostel chain, and it shows. Though adequate (and far better than the Auckland Base), it is not somewhere to stay for longer than a week. Pros. Lockers in rooms- as with all Base hostels there are lockers for each bed, which is a nice touch in larger hostels. Friendly staff- even the late shift guys seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJRowlands
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback, some fair points but some are very surprising especially due to the location. Also interesting to hear about the small communal space as we have 1 whole floor and a...

Plympton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

It's clean, big kitchen and has a budget breakfast on offer if you book through certain websites, but it's only Orange Juice/Tea/Coffee/Toast/Cereal. The hostel itself is very tame from my previous experiences in Base hostel's. It's people working in Wellington and then people passing through on tour buses for 1/2 days at a time. The bar downstairs is okay, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EFEE1
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks again for the good feedback, we will try to work on our atmosphere. Timo Hummel

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Base backpackers in Wellington is a great place to stay, we were greeted by helpful staff. The room was clean and warm (visited in a very cold part of NZ winter). The accommodation was well priced and we were able to do everything we hoped to do in wellington from its central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bevanandiona_lloyd
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey Great to hear you had such a good stay with us, Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in September 2015 in a double ensuite. Room was spacious and bed was comfy, although the decor was a little sad (patchy paint and broken curtains) and the floor we were on was fairly noisy. The best part of this hostel was definitely the location, literally 5mins from city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the great feedback, we are at the moment in progress to refurbish our building and it is under work and progress. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
640 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
698 reviews
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,515 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $28 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5